We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to try my luck..”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Wendover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montego Bay Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Was passing by and I saw casinos.. Come on its tempting, first I passed and almost got to end of the town. Was going should I, should I don't, maybe. Couldn't resist, made a U-turn and went straight to Montego Bay Casino.. Stay there about 2 hours, played for fun. was nice experience, sometime in life we should due something for our own sake.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
There are newer reviews for Montego Bay Casino Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went out for a concert and fun. Found the room was large, quiet and clean. Great room, friendly people behind the counter. Had fun in the casino and good food. Best room in West Wendover for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journey1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I love Montego Bay! Their rooms are the nicest out of all the resorts in Wendover. I go there quite often and I prefer to eat there, stay there and gamble there. We love the swimming pool and the waitresses are very nice like Celsa, Lisa and the promotion guys Chad and Rich are wonderful and help you to be comfortable and will answer any questions. They remember your name and that is important to me and makes me feel special. I have gone out there without a room and they have given me a room even a suite! I love this casino! I was in Vegas for a wedding and I stayed at a casino on the strip and it was a bad experience. We never could get a drink and the rooms were awful! They were expensive and so was the food. My whole family hated it and we all talked about how we wouldn't go back to Vegas and that we would all just go to Montego Bay in Wendover. We all love Montego Bay!

Room Tip: I have never had a bad room here. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, clean and they com...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We here for friend birthday party and going toward california. Spend most of the time playing and parting.. Love the buffet and few drinks as well.. The rooms were large and comfy. We are still here in town for 2 more days.. Had enough fun and want a quit place to rest now..

Room Tip: Take it on top floor as you can get.. Away from the noiseses..
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I am not a gambler. Can't stand the noise and the smoke. I stayed here because it was a convenient stop over on my trip. The room was large and the bed comfortable. The only down side was having to go through the casino to get to front desk, restaurants, and room.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Toje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I go to Wendover quite often and have never had a bad experiance at Montego bay. The promotion staff there is the best you will ever experiance. From Chad to Richie,Rachel and Beckey you will NEVER find a groupe of people that are more willing to make you happy and make you feel at home. On my last trip there I was especally pleased with the service I received from Chad Duvall. He took care of all my needs and made it a verrrry pleasent trip. Thanks Chad I look forward to my next visit to Montego bay.

Room Tip: call ahead to one of the staff I mentioned and get the finest service
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

So, I live in Salt Lake City, a 90-minute drive from West Wendover, Nevada. My husband and I are both avid gamblers. We enjoy it a great deal and go to Vegas whenever possible. However, because of the close vicinity of West Wendover, we go there quite often, like twice a month or so. The three main hotel/casino resorts in town, The Peppermill; The Rainbow; and The Montego Bay, are all owned by The Peppermill Group out of Reno. The decor, service, food quality, and gambling are all very similar in those three casino resorts. By similar, I mean average. Our destination of choice has become The Peppermill, because we seem to have the best luck gambling there, and because they have renovated some of their rooms from the dark dingy 80s porn look most of the older rooms still have. We always make sure to request a renovated room. The other thing that has kept us coming back to The Peppermill, and their sister resorts, are the comps. We are invited to tournaments with free stays, and offered free nights and free play approximately four times per month. The Montego Bay is often thought to be the "nicest" of the three properties do it's larger rooms and newer decor. I still find the rooms at Montego Bay dark and a little dreary. Upon check in, we have generally found a hotel staff that is either in dire need of a raise, a vacation, or customer service training. Perhaps all three would be the perfect solution. This attitude seems to pervade all three properties. Just don't expect a very friendly check in process, and you won't be disappointed. Do, however, check your bill very closely upon check out, and then check the status of the credit card used regularly once you're home, as I have had more than one experience with strange charges showing up after visiting these properties. Last time, after staying at the Peppermill, it was an unaccounted for $89 charge, which showed up on my credit statement quite a while after my visit. The credit card company was contacted, the casino/hotel was contacted, and the situation was resolved. Honestly though, I'm quite concerned it occurred in the first place. Another issue we regularly experience is the less-than-clean room conditions. Most recently, I stayed in a spacious, dimly lit, corner room at Montego Bay. The surfaces in the room needed a good wipe down (as has been the case with all three properties on recent stays). As far as the bathroom, there have always been cleanliness issues at all three of the Peppermill-run hotels in town as far as I'm concerned. I started bringing my own disinfecting wipes a long time ago. I can't remember a visit (and there have been hundreds) where I did not find a long dark hair (not my own) in the shower upon my arrival. Once I arrived at the Rainbow to a half empty soda and cookie wrapper on the t.v. console. The jacuzzi tubs in the suites have lost a lot of their appeal due to the "sludge" that rises up from the jets when they are turned on. I'm afraid they are little germ machines. One very redeeming quality of most of the suites is the sauna steam showers, which are great, when airtight. I've encountered a few that have less than airtight doors. The result is a very steamy bathroom. So, on to the casino. The Montego Bay has a good-sized gaming floor with a wide variety of slot machines and table games. The number of quarter and dollar machines seem to be dwindling to make way for the more popular nickle and penny machines, which I don't mind, as a max bet on one of these is equal to the couple dollars per bet on a dollar machine anyway. It has been my experience that the slots pay pretty consistently in Wendover. We usually almost break even. Obviously, we wouldn't be going once or twice a month otherwise. The gaming table prices are very reasonable compared to Vegas tables. Most of he bar and floor cocktail staff are all very friendly and appreciative of a tip. The floor cocktail staff has gotten smaller and smaller as the economy has gotten worse, so unfortunately, they are overworked and sometimes there can be quite a long wait between drinks. There is not nightly entertainment at Montego Bay. The only nightly entertainment on a show stage is at The Rainbow, and is dark on Mondays. Not to worry though, the three Peppermill-owned casinos run buses and shuttles between all the properties 24 hours a day. I have enjoyed listening to the drunken hi-jinks of other passengers on these shuttles regularly. It makes for a very interesting ride. The Montego Bay is known for their Friday night seafood buffet. I have not tried it, but it does get rave reviews from family and friends. It's the most expensive buffet in Wendover at about $28 if memory serves. The other restaurants in The Montego Bay are a new Italian restaurant called Romanza Grill and the Paradise Grill 24-hour coffee shop. I've enjoyed meals at the Paradise Grill, where the salads are fresh and the french fries are hot. The coffee isn't great at any of the Peppermill properties. It's weak, but I just use that as an excuse to drink a lot of it. The best spot for people watching at Montego Bay is at the large casino bar. Find a nickle or quarter machine and enjoy comped drinks while taking in the special Wendover "scenery". The Sports Book at The Montego Bay is really just a bunch of chairs set up in front of some big and small t.v.s. It does not have it's own separate area and is just off the casino floor. So, that's what I have to say about The Montego Bay for now. NOT impressed with my last trip, but still tempted enough by those comps to be returning for a couple of nights here and there. Anyway, please wish us luck, and if you happen to find yourself in Wendover, I wish you luck too!!

Room Tip: The other two Peppermill properties are undergoing room renovations, not sure if this is the case at...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WenSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wendover
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Wendover Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Stateline
Quality Inn Stateline
#5 of 7 in Wendover
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Wendover
Super 8 Wendover
#2 of 7 in Wendover
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 Wendover
Motel 6 Wendover
#4 of 7 in Wendover
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Wendover
Knights Inn Wendover
#6 of 7 in Wendover
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montego Bay Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montego Bay Casino Resort

Address: 100 Wendover Boulevard, West Wendover, NV 89883
Location: United States > Nevada > West Wendover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Price Range: $59 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 552
Also Known As:
Montego Bay Hotel West Wendover
Wendover Casino
Montego Bay West Wendover
Wendover Nevada Montego Bay
Montego Bay Casino Resort West Wendover, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing