We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Casino Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Wendover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Casino Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Madison
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in the beginning of June. We got a deal for 3 nights plus airfare for $209! Excellent little getaway. Price was great, flight and staff on charter flight was good. The hotel was clean and everyone was helpful. No need to rent a car because you can take the shuttle from hotel to hotel. Please make sure to tip the driver! It amazes me how many people take advantage of this great free service and do not tip. Casinos were overall good. Everyone in my group came home with some money so that is definitely a win! We have stayed in Vegas, Mesquite and now Wendover and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try to request a room close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scorpiowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    173
    70
    23
    35
See reviews for
44
185
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Utah
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay at the Rainbow after having stayed at three of the other bigger hotel/casinos in the past. Read several reviews here that guided us to the west section of the place. After our arrival, we went to the front desk to check in. Leon was the staff member who quickly found our reservation, explained the amenities of both the room, and the rest of the hotel. He was able to answer the few questions that I had all with a big smile. Very attentive and patient. We had requested a top floor room away from the elevators, ice machines and stairs. He gave a cards to room 1468. The room face south, away from the freeway and main road noise. The room was plenty large with 2 queen beds that were very comfortable. Better than the beds we had at Marriott Cypress Harbour in Orlando. Big window let a lot of light in. There was also a small table with 2 soft chairs to sit at in case you had room service. Plenty of drawers for clothes with an adjoining table with a chair if you needed a place to do some tale home work. Small closet held 12 hangers. The bathroom was ok. Lighting was kinda subdued but ok. Tub/ shower combo and toilet finished it off. They do supply some nice soaps, shampoo, and lotion. The towels were thick and not scratchy; which is a big plus. The air conditioning/ heater was at the base of one of the windows. Ran pretty quiet. There was a functional big screen TV, a functional radio/clock on the table between the beds. Very little smell of cigarettes down our way which is a huge plus. There is a pool, but we didn't check it out for lack of time. At checkout, the front desk person treated me as well as Leon had the night before. We don't gamble so I couldn't tell you what and how many games they offered. The buffet price for Friday dinner has gone up to $27. It was crowded so we headed up to the Nugget for their buffet. Gotta save room for all the yummy stuff chopped small to dip into the white chocolate fountain. If you need to spend the night in Wendover, try the Rainbow. We have stayed in them all several times, but Rainbow had the most comfortable beds. We do several trip to see concerts and will definitely be back to the Rainbow. Great staff, comfy beds, what more would I need.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rnsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here over night on our way back from a LONG roadtrip. Called in while driving through the salt flats and got two rooms without reservations on a Saturday night. Girls had fun at the indoor pool, mom had fun at the shots & we all enjoyed the buffet, which was awesome! Rooms were clean & spacious even though we got the smaller rooms ( better price). Same quirky decorations that all Nevada casino/hotels are known for but incredibly comfy beds & pillows.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The rooms were humorous. The retro 80's. Beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was very tight and my tall husband ended up hitting his head on the shower door trying to get out of the bathroom. This was not the hotel's fault but had to call security on a bunch of little kids bouncing off the bed onto the floor above our room, they were shaking the mirrors on the walls. We are not smokers and the place still had that hint of smoke from the casino. If I had to stay in West Wendover again, I would more than likely try a different hotel aka Montego Bay (which is owned by the Peppermill too)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quadchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Jose checked us into our guest room. He was the only person at the Front Desk so we waited 15 minutes because of the line. He directed to the East Tower -- after walking through the neon inspired casino that has flat-screen snapshots of random exotic locations, then tunneling through the Star-trek inspired black-lighted neon hallway decorated with gold-gilded faded posters of Tuscan villas... we waited for our polished brass, red velvet-padded/mirrored elevator to our floor, where we opened our formica door to find early 80's glamor alive and well in the little casino town of West Wendover!

From the iridescent dust-ruffle bed-skirt... to the velvet padded headboard... to the darkly tinted mirrored wall that faced the bed... to the black animal print carpet, we laughed in amusement as we were transported back in time. We asked ourselves -- what were people thinking alternating wallpaper in the hallway?? Faux mahogany formica walls?? -- Wow! -- we both had flashbacks to out childhood -- remember those plastic mahogany ice chests accented in brass? (that's what the furniture reminded us of.) Then there was the chrome wall-corner guards and the wallpaper that looked like wood paneling. Awwh, it is touching to see that double wide trailers have inspired a hotel guest room. (I even began to wonder if the Rainbow Casino ever had those coin operated vibrating beds?)

The room was comfortable. Honestly, the hotel really did have higher quality furnishing. The bed was great. Pillows nice. Everything worked. The AC window unit did smell a little like mold and cat pee and our bathroom toilet gave a 5 minute whistle sound after ever flush-- but what should we expect for such a great price. <Complimentary Internet - how nice!>

We had a good night in the fun town of Wendover! Hotel would be a solid "Good" if that was an option on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Sign up for advertisements on their website a few months before you travel. They offer great promot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outpulsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Just an overnight with a fun night on the slot machines. Room was spacious , quiet and clean. Staff were friendly although a little slow at the coffee bar. Would chance another stay, played for 5 hrs, no big wins but didn't lose.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karol60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I love the rainbow, We have been visitors for over 20 years. The PRO's are: great rooms with hot tub options. Staff is great. The promotion hosts are the best in all of Wendover. Thanks, for always seeing to our needs. Just ask, If it can be done, the player host will get it done!
The special invite to the play and drive was a change in tournaments and absolutely was enjoyed. I didn't win the BMW but a very special lady did.

CONS: The player card FREE PLAY are getting less and less, (Platinum card holder). The slots, I have noticed in the past year+ have had the PAY back reduced. Chances of wining a MAJOR or MINOR pay back is slim to none. I play dollar high limit slots only. Slot play in the past was fun with an even chance to win out.
Talking to others who play higher slots, they too feel as I that the Slots are not as they used to be.

Room Tip: Be careful at the slot machines. Do not expect to win anything big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wendover
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wendover Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Stateline
Quality Inn Stateline
#5 of 7 in Wendover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Wendover
Super 8 Wendover
#2 of 7 in Wendover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn Wendover
Knights Inn Wendover
#6 of 7 in Wendover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Wendover
Motel 6 Wendover
#4 of 7 in Wendover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Casino Hotel

Property: Rainbow Casino Hotel
Address: 1045 Wendover Boulevard, West Wendover, NV 89883
Location: United States > Nevada > West Wendover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 450
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel West Wendover
Rainbow Casino Wendover
Rainbow West Wendover
Rainbow Casino Hotel West Wendover, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing