We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The facelift is only skin deep.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Wendover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Garter Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The owners have spent loads of money refurbishing the casino and putting a new facade on the Red Garter. But that is the extent of the renovation. The rooms are still poorly managed, with flat mattresses and smell of smoke (even the non-smoking rooms). It's too bad they didn't go the extra step to create a better environment here.

As stated, the casino has been upgraded and is much larger and better than it ever was in the past. Though it has lost that "our little secret" feel that it used to have in the past.

Room Tip: Any other hotel in Wendover is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 116 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

Thought that the Red Garter would be revamped inside and out considering the time they took to renovate! The inside is still the same, nothing to write home about. Not worth the money to stay. The casino is very smokey and drinks are hard to come by. I asked for a drink and never saw the waitress again!! played video poker at the bar and ordered a drink - bartender didn't want to give me the drink until I've inserted and started to play!! Stay away!!!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had chosen the Red Garter as the Motel/Casino that we wanted to stay in on our trip to Wendover and the Bonnevile Salt Flats. The motel was not able to confirm that we had a room until just a couple of weeks before our trip began due supposed renovations. We had a view of a wall several feet away outside our window. Our room was not one of the rooms that was renovated but the rooms on both sides and above us were apparently being worked on all night long. The casino was nice and there was some space around the machines so it was not too crowded.

Room Tip: Get a room at another casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeniSandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Went with couple of friends..we paid 160 Dollars a room/night. Took 2 rooms ( non smoking) and both were very very dirty, holes in the sheets ( too old to be used and cigarette holes) and bed cover.. carpet and seat with huge old stain. They didn't change/ clean the sheet after the last clients, hairs from previous clients in the bed and more... Windows were broken didn't close so no security when you are in the ground floor ...etc.
I Travel a lot all around the world but never got a such dirty place ever....
If we had a problem with one room , I will say it's just bad luck , but we had 2 rooms
Only nice thing about: Ladies at the front desk were very nice.... The manager told us, they will give us back 15 % off....our credit card show us : Full price...!!!! Thank you.
we 'lI download pictures to prove it ..

Room Tip: Do not stop....plenty of motel (s) in town much better, cheaper and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I didn't expect much after reading other reviews but found the Red Garter is not a bad place. It is on the level of a Super 8 or above Motel 6, My complaints are the hard bed and the loud air conditioner that basically blew the drapes around. Also the catrpet is old looking but clean and the bathroom could use more space as well as some molding repairs. Also the TV was very small and older. But it's safe feeling and attached to old fashioned casino. Was fine for a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wanted to get a jump start for the Fourth of July-Called asking about the suites that I could not register on line (did not allow) asked the price and if they had walk in shower "NO" then asked if they had "shower chairs" after repeating it about FOUR times she asked what do you mean. HMMM! So I hung up (got tired of repeating everything) and decided to just to register on line for a regular room. (spouse is a Rt leg amputee)
Upon our arrival they have only one person checking customers in and running the little store they have there also! And then warned us that the water was going to shut off for a couple of hours and gave us the room then after later asking for a TV remote that worked they decided to change our room!!!Due to water shut off being longer!! First room was rather clean second one was not so much! Check out the next day was bad, Cheryl was having a bad day cuz NO Good Morning no nothing! Just a mean grumpy look!!! Yikes!!! Restaurant needs some help as well! Not a busy place and I truly can see why!!! CUSTOMER SERVICE IS NEEDING SOME HELP AND TRAINING!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gomezrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We needed an inexpensive place to crash for the night while driving across the country. Though it was a little funky, it served its purpose. People were friendly, price was great, clean enough. Not suited for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjbouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Wendover
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Wendover Inn
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Stateline
Quality Inn Stateline
#5 of 7 in Wendover
130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Wendover
Super 8 Wendover
#2 of 7 in Wendover
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Knights Inn Wendover
Knights Inn Wendover
#6 of 7 in Wendover
158 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Wendover
Motel 6 Wendover
#4 of 7 in Wendover
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Garter Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Garter Hotel & Casino

Address: 1225 Wendover Blvd, West Wendover, NV 89883 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Wendover)
Location: United States > Nevada > West Wendover
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in West Wendover
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Garter Hotel and Casino offers the newest accommodations at an affordable price. Enjoy Wendover's most renowned dining. Experience a new casino that offers a wide variety of games, and delivers the ultimate experience in fun and excitement. Other amenities include: Loosest Slots and Video Poker Live Table Games Sports Book & Lounge One Club Player's Card Free Shuttle Service- 24/7 Gift Shop Banquet Facilities Exclusively at the Red Garter: Beans and Brews Prospector Cafe The Italia Satellite Keno Stage Bar Sports Bar ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Wendover Hotel West Wendover
Red Garter Hotel & Casino West Wendover, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing