We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comstock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comstock Lodge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Our only complaint was the thinness of the walls. Not a place for honeymooners. :-)

Make sure you eat at the Cafe del Rio!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IdahoGal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acampo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

Bob and Randi are the sweetest people. Very hospitable. The Lodge was so quaint, Very clean. Will diffentely come again. Thankx

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherrys_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

The Comstock Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. The owners, Bob & Randi will definately put a smile on your face and give you that warm feeling long lost in todays society of gogogogogo. They will bend over backwards to help you out. We have stayed at the lodge several times throught the years and the rooms have always been neat and clean and well stocked with towels. The rooms are cute and the beds are comfortable! If you're looking for a 5 star resort complete with room service and a sterile environment, this is not the place for you. If yo are looking for a place that truly makes you feel at home inside and outside of the room then your best bet is to stay the The Comstock Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank threehook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2008

Much different than I had expected.
I visited this establishement with my girlfriend for Valentines day and we were joyful from the moment we saw it.
As is seen in our provided photo (which hopefully will post), each room is separated by a step-patio and decorated very nicely.
The snow had been well cleared for parking and the management was nice enough to have started warming our room prior to arrival...although it still required about an hour of waiting after we arrived and turned up the heater.
As mentioned by a privious writer, the management left our key taped to the window due to stepping out for a Valentines dinner.
In contrast, though, she was prompt to call me about 4 hours prior and explain the situation.
I hardly found this to be an inconvenience.
For the price of 55 dollars, I thoroughly enjoyed this lodge and look forward to returning another day.

  • Liked — The classic atmosphere.
  • Disliked — The poor insulation from the windows. ((old-school style))
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank csunnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendocino
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

We have always loved Virginia City but we had only been there in the summer and never spent the night. We found the Comstock Lodge on trip advisor and it sounded like just what we were looking for. We checked in on a nice winter day; sunny but chilly. The morning we were to leave, we woke up to at least a foot of snow! The owner was so helpful to us! She called restaurants to see if any of them were open to feed us. She found us the number to Amtrak to see if our train was on time and she even shoveled snow from in front of our wheels! It was an incredible experience! One that we thought was surely from a long-time ago period of people really caring about the welfare of their guests! We highly recommend the Comstock Lodge not only for the owners but for the cozy, warm, and unique rooms.

  • Liked — Unique rooms, Great owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank salamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2007

Hi. This is the most recent visit. I have stayed here at the Comstock lodge each time I make my annual road trip (and sometimes 2ce a year) to Virginia City. I have stayed in several different rooms at this lodge, depending on whether I am just by myself or with friends or family. I feel like home here and Randi and Bob allow me to call them mom and dad when I first arrive through the office door, despite my age. I have always been comfortable and warm, and felt like home and family, as they are just as warm and friendly as that. I have stayed in summer, winter and spring and fall. The rooms are always clean, the coffee pot is always stocked, also with cocoa, which is what I prefer. The rooms all have some sort of antique furniture and give that old-timey feeling of living in such an historical town. Getting a reservation is just a phone call away, most of the time I am only half way there. I have them on speed dial. I live in northwestern WA. And if I get there too late, my key is taped to the office door waiting for me. Randi and Bob, and sometimes their family members, are always going out of their way to make my stay comfortable. The water pressure and temperature in the bathrooms are excellent. and invigorating. I would recommend these accommodations to anyone out there who wants a reasonably priced room to stay while you roam the "hills of home".

  • Liked — It's away from the maddening crowd and yet close enough to it all.
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mom-im-home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2007

As others have already mentioned, this motel is rough on the outside, but the rooms are cute and very basic. This I expected. The problem I had with this motel was the fact that the owners apparently took a vacation during our stay. When we arrived, the office was closed. It took us a few moments to notice our key in an envelope on the door. A bit unusual, but not too bad. But then as time went on, we realised there was no one to replace the owners most of the time we were there. We had several problems and no one was there to help us, so my husband had to figure out how to get the heater working after spending our first night there (it was snowing!) freezing with only 1 blanket and no one to fix the heater (the thermostat was broken somehow and he had to open it up and manually set it from inside) or get us more blankets. We also had a problem with the toilet and the only one there to help was a boy of about 10 who didn't really know anything so once again we had to find the plunger (it was in another visitor's room) and fix it ourselves. Also, I asked for extra hot chocolate for my room later one night and was assured by the housekeeper that it would be put in there. When we came back late that evening it was not there, and the office was (as it mostly was) closed and no hot chocolate to warm up with. When we were ready to check out, once again the office was closed........... All in all, though the little we saw of the owner's family were nice, we felt they were totally lacking in customer care during our stay.

  • Liked — room was cute and clean
  • Disliked — poor customer service-owners out of town and left very little in the way of replacements
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KimR_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia City
0.1 mi away
Virginia City Inn
Virginia City Inn
#3 of 5 in Virginia City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hardman House Hotel
Hardman House Hotel
#7 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.4 mi away
Edith Palmer's Country Inn
Edith Palmer's Country Inn
#3 of 3 in Virginia City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Motel & Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comstock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comstock Lodge

Property: Comstock Lodge
Address: 875 South "C" St, Virginia City, NV 89440
Location: United States > Nevada > Virginia City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Virginia City
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Comstock Hotel Virginia City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing