We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sets the stage”

Virginia City Trolley
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
East Bay, California
Level Contributor
408 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Sets the stage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This trolley sets the stage for the rest of your visit to Virginia City. It is a great overview of the town history and things to see. A must to begin your day. The first trolley was to leave at 10am but they wait until they have at least 6 people to go. Sit near a mike so you will hear everything clearly. It was a little hard to understand with all the background city noise. It's about a half hour ride. $5 at the trolley or $4.50 at the visitors center. Virginia City is great fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank theheatonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    29
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun, informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

A great way to get an introduction of the area and plan the rest of your visit. We were fortunate to be there the day of the Camel and Ostrich races! There were Camel rides available before the races began. What a fun surprise. We also had a delicious meal at the Red Dog Saloon. My daughter enjoyed all the shops in Virginia City and I enjoyed all the benches outside the shops! A great time was had by all!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank egails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Start Your Visit Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the best way to start your tour of Virginia City, NV. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgable and gave us a wonderful overview of the history and local attractions. Make sure to visit the Visitor's Center on the main street of Virginia City to purchase your discount attraction tickets from "Diamond Jim".

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim0244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ride Trolley First!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We purchased our tickets at the Visitor's Center ( who has discount tickets to just about all attractions). The trolley ride was a great attraction to do first to set the plan for what you would like to do in Virginia City. If you are only there for the day, I especially suggest it as there are many attractions in the town and the trolley tour helps you decide what piques your interest and will be your priority to visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fun and educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

the trip from Reno to virginia city is only about 20 minutes away. Great old town atmosphere with great shops. the trolley trip is informative and educational

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia City Trolley also viewed

 

Been to Virginia City Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing