We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Had a Better Stay in a Hotel”
Review of Tahoe House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tahoe House Hotel
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Simply excellent. We stayed right before July 4th and had the hotel to ourselves!! Even if there were other guests, this is a great place to stay. Clean, even sold beer/wine in large gathering room. Hostess was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlewis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 171 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

My Wife and I spent just one night at the Tahoe House Hotel and dearly wish it had been a week at least. The hotel was excellent, the rooms were so beautiful and so well restored with period furnishings and lovely bedding. The hotel is right in the centre of town and very well run by all the people we met, with special thanks to Teresa who was by far the best sort of person you could wish to meet while travelling, she was very friendly and helpful and even shared a bottle of wine with us. Can't praise the place up to much just loved it, and look forward to going back if ever we are in the area again (but for a longer period).

Room Tip: Balcony rooms were best with a great view down the Main Street and to see the sun rise in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianSWestBromwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Way overpriced!! No one on duty. Took 2 hours to find an adjoining business to open the doors for me. No one could find the one person who works there. She showed up next morning just long enough to take my money, then gone again. No air conditioning, no room service, no maid service, no parking. Whoever owns this place should hire a staff.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can't say enough wonderful things about this gem! Theresa was so kind and helpful with everything we could imagine. It was clean, charming,quiet,conveniently located,good value,......in all ways a delight!! I can't wait to return again sometime!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

What a treasure! So conveniently located right on the main street but above the hubbub and quiet inside. Beautifully restored with fabulous antique furnishings. Theresa, the caretaker, couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. As a family of 4, we stayed in the Carriage House behind the main hotel. Cute as can be! Beautiful Q bed with a daybed and trunnel which worked well for our two boys. A little kitchen, pot belly stove and microwave makes it complete.

We loved hanging out in the Great room, playing cards, reading the books of old VC lore, and having a drink. So many cool antiques to look at.

A memorable experience all the way around. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mgasperini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

In the heart of Virginia City sits this gem of a nostalgic hotel with a casual vibe and friendly staff. Standing on the hotel balcony to watch the 4th of July parade or sitting down for an evening of fireworks, this place is the only place to be in this historic town. Theresa and Ginger make you feel welcomed and you are within walking distance of all the sights this town has to offer. If you are looking for fun the Tahoe House is for you.

Room Tip: The carriage house is quiet and spacious. The presidential suite has a great bed and the sunrise get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolores B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Tahoe House Hotel was an awesome experience! It is literally a museum of cool stuff from the1800s. It was clean and remodeled a few years ago and a job well done saving its original architecture. The manager was great and treated us like royalty. We will be staying again on our next trip to V.C.

Thanks
Brian and Wendy
Wenatchee WA.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMagillicuty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia City hotels
0.5 mi away
Virginia City Inn
Virginia City Inn
#1 of 5 in Virginia City
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edith Palmer's Country Inn
Edith Palmer's Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Virginia City
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Motel & Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gold Hill Hotel
Gold Hill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Virginia City
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silverland Inn & Suites
Silverland Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Virginia City
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahoe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahoe House Hotel

Address: 162 South C Street, P.O. Box 652, Virginia City, NV 89440
Location: United States > Nevada > Virginia City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Virginia City
Price Range: $70 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing