We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for All Ages” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginia & Truckee Railroad

Virginia & Truckee Railroad
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Wild West Tour from Lake Tahoe with Train Ride
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Virginia City
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The V&T offers two options:From Virginia City: Seven (7) daily 35-minute narrated steam train tours taking visitors through the heart of the historic Comstock mining region to historic Gold Hill and return.From the Carson City area: A 6 hour adventure to and in Virginia City, including a round trip on the V&T behind diesel on Friday and steam on Saturday and Sunday. Approximately 90 minutes on the train and the remainder of the time in historic Virginia City.See our website for full details.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
296 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fun for All Ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

There were 50 of us on a bus tour through the area and this was a fun stop. The railroad opened early to give us a private ride. The ride is 35 minutes -- 15 minutes one way, a 5 minutes stop, and 15 minutes back the same way. Since most of us are into photography, we were all snapping away at the fun sights along the way. The conductor was very informative with history and what we encountered along the way. It was very enjoyable and I would recommend it for kids of all ages.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    56
    13
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Husband Liked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had tickets for the trip from Carson City to Virginia City & return that we had bought on the website. We were arriving by Amtrak the morning of the trip, renting a car, and arriving in Carson City in time for the train ride. We had it all figured out, what could possibly go wrong! Well, Amtrak was 2 hours late, renting the car took far longer that we thought, and it was hours too late to get to the train. My husband decided to go to Carson City anyway, hoping to get some pics of the train. When we got there, we found out that it wasn't advertised, but the train was going to go back to Virginia City after the roundtrip. We were able to go to Virginia City to pick it up, ride it to Carson City & back to Virginia City. My husband was thrilled! The nice thing was there were only about 8 of us on the return train, so staff was available to answer all questions and provide more background on the line, plus we didn't lose our ticket money. It is a nice run for those who are railroad/train lovers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sisnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, NY
Level Contributor
260 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Fun and Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We took the shorter ride on a sweltering day and found it a very enjoyable way to keep cool and still see the area and learn a bit about the mining industry. The conductor gave an excellent commentary and had even mastered the "All aboard" call. You have a few minutes to get out and walk around before the train heads back to Virginia City.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jj435Rye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow! Highlight of Trip!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great for kids. We travelled with 2 young children (3 & 6) and were throughly entertained. We did the roundtrip from Carson City to Virginia City and back. Expertly narrated throughout the trip to highlight the sights and history along the way. Staff was fantastic! Stop at Virginia City was just long enough. We were oringinally concerned that might be too long a stopover (3 hrs), but we had fun walking around and having lunch and before we knew it, it was time to return to the train.

Highly recommend this to anyone visiting area with kids!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank redlight114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fun Trip, Back to Historic 1800s”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Part of visiting Virginia City, is the train and visiting the gold mines. Don't miss a drive through Gold Hill, just a mile or so South of Virginia City. Plan a full day in Virginia City to see it all. Better yet, stay at one of the historic 1800s hotels in Virginia City. I stayed at the haunted Silver Queen Hotel, (1875).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia & Truckee Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Virginia & Truckee Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing