We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow such a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Bogoria Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigat
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wow such a great hotel”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a four day safari organised by Sid travel and we just wished we could have stayed longer we found the staff very helpful and our room was very clean. the bathroom was clean and our shower worked well too The food in the restaurant and the service was very good indeed. our room was at the top of a hill but the walk up was worth it for the view from our bedroom as the sun set .This hotel was recommended by our tour company and I must say it was everything he said it would be and we will stay here again but for much longer next time

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
19
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

when mentioned what rings is the the hot springs and geysers as well as flamingos in the lake .
well this is a resort found in the Kenya rift-valley region and a 6 hours drive from Nairobi.
i have been in the hotel twice and waooo i will and always visit the lodge when we have the time and resources.
we had two nights on each visit and we enjoyed the culture from kalemjin community come to the spa a well natural heated spa and we would swim the whole night if allowed a bar is just right next to the pool in the map of Kenya shape
the ostrich the welcoming icon at the resort are the best birds to have a capture at .
cant forget the experience with the local guide to the lake we had time boiling eggs and a stroll of some major plants around
what else would we ask for after a cool bird and nature walk for our guide
come visit lake Bogoria and have a time for your best time to chill and relax

Room Tip: honeymooners room away from the hotel giving the best of honeymoones rooms in block 1 best with ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rithoones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Been to this hotel twice and would rate it as the best in the area, the drive takes about 4 hours and the last stretch is a bit gruelling due to the state of the road. The main attraction is the flamingo and hot springs but floods seem to be interfering with the hot springs and flamingoes. Some flamingo carcass can be seen hanging on submerged trees in the lake. Wake up early and drive out to the park to view the sunrise. (There are park charges).The spa pool isn't as hot but it's still okay for a dip and there is another swimming pool. The food is ok, it's mainly local delicacies served and the local bone soup mixed with the marobaini plant is quite nice. We attempted to drive to the beautiful Baringo lake but be warned the road is in bad shape and you need to get there before 4pm to do any activities as the lake current is too strong there after. Charges also apply to get into Baringo but they are not as high as for Bogoria reserve.

Room Tip: Choose the newer rooms which are on the north side, a bit noisy due to construction of new rooms goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yri254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

we stayed one night at this hotel because it is close to lake bogoria. After checkin and a long drive on dusty roads we wanted to take a shower. Unfortunately there was no hot water even after a long try. So we had to change room - this time with hot water. Both rooms have been a little muggy / moldy - but after opening the windows for some times it was gone.. It looks there are not so many guest in April.

The buffet dinner was simple but good. The bar was ok but not great. We die not use the spa and the pool. The garden is quite big and it is fun to watch the monkeys.

For one night it is ok but the hotel has no charme and spirit.

FYI - the lake bogoria is (permanentely) flooded - so a lot of roads are under water and you can't see the flamingos. Not the hotels fault but this was the main reason we went there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Lake Bogoria is a beautiful environment and thus the perfect venue for a hotel. The Hotel itself has been there quite a while and is in need of a sprucing. The rooms are currently undergoing renovation and are very nice. The spa is worth a visit and the hotel is quite famous for its "Mwarobaini" soup. (too much for my palette though) :)

In-spite of all the renovation going on, I admit we had a pleasant time and the staff were very helpful. I'd love to return to the hotel once everything is complete.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdhiamboC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This place is great for visiting Lake Bogoria, but I wish I knew the lake is flooded with fresh water and the flamingos are gone. This might explain why there were not many guests besides Chinese tour groups. The rooms are decent, but very basic and no charm. There is a warm pool which is fed by natural hot spring water, but the pool area is in need of a renovation (think crooked tiles and ugly grout). Friendly staff and a decent food, but nothing spectacular. After the long bumpy road up here it was a good place to relax for half a day and an evening, but there is no real reason to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonScotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Lake Bogoria SPa Resort in the early days of November, 2013. The staff is very professional and friendly. Wifi is free and fast. Food is good.

The hotel is far way from distractions - bustle and huddles typical with hotels located in urban centres...

Crown on the jewel was the natural spa...just as the name suggests - the pool is naturally heated from the geothermal activities happening below the Rift Valley.

There's entertainment by Kalenjin traditional dancers in the evenings. The traditional Kalenjin milk, "mursik" is served.

Lake Bogoria, with its geysers and flamingoes is a stone throw away from the hotel.

This place is ideal for family get-away ...or group excursion.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travellguru2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigat
0.0 mi away
Island Camp Baringo
Island Camp Baringo
#1 of 11 in Baringo District
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poa Place Resort
Poa Place Resort
#2 of 8 in Eldoret
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chui Lodge
Chui Lodge
#2 of 41 in Naivasha
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Panari Resort Nyahururu
Show Prices

Been to Lake Bogoria Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Bogoria Spa Resort

Property: Lake Bogoria Spa Resort
Address: Marigat 30403, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Baringo District > Marigat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marigat
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Bogoria Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Great Rift Valley, Lake Bogoria Spa Resort is the only Resort in Kenya with a natural heated Spa Pool- known as 'the healing place' because of its therapeutic values. Guests can unwind with a soothing massage, a swim at our half Olympic size cold water pool. The key facilities include: - accommodation, conference facilities, swimming pool, natural heated spa pool, 4 bars, 2 restaurants, Massage Parlor, Salon & a curio shop. In addition to showcasing the rich cultural heritage of the region, the resort organizes guided bird watching tours within the Kesubo natural trail,day trips to Tugen hills & the Kipsaraman historic site. A five minutes' drive takes you to Lake Bogoria National Reserve, a home to the shy greater kudu & to over 450 bird species including the pink flamingoes, crested crane, black-headed weaver among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Lake Bogoria Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing