We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great time in Tonopah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We had a great time in Tonopah”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

OMG! Old Western mining town, got to have seen some original miners still walking their pack laden burros up the main street. Bartender race (but our favorite bartender from the Mizpah Hotel didn't run), barbecue, dancing in the street, bikers, cowboys, miners and some hard bitten looking townfolk were some of what we experienced on May 24th. Oh, about the Best Western Hi-Desert Inn...Cookies! They baked cookies for everyone and lots of them! The room was great but again no jacuzzi - dang! Now, about those traffic signs that say 25 mph. They mean it and on the east end of town I saw three cars across from the traffic sign and another chasing down a Vespa of all things for exceeding the speed limit. They must be making a lot of money from this but hey, it's a safety corridor through town and there is a lot going on. Tonopah is high up on a ridge at a mile high and dry as a bone. Makes one wonder how strong the lure of silver and gold had to be. We walked around town and shopped, watched some events and had a memorable time...in Tonopah??? Yep! We will be back.

Room Tip: Use a reservation system because the hotel was filled up by dinner time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillandKate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hidesertinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn and we appreciate your review. You evidently were here for Jim Butler Days which is celebrated every Memorial Day Weekend. I am sorry the spa was not open when you stayed with us. We hope you will stay with us the next time you come to Tonopah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    279
    74
    6
    7
See reviews for
208
268
59
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I really can't say enough about this nice little motel. It was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed, without the bells and whistles and reputation of a spa. I walked in to the smell of fresh baked cookies (three kinds!) and an awesomely nice staff. My room was spotlessly clean. The air conditioning worked perfectly.

The bathroom had two sinks, two kleenex receptacles and nice little touches like Pantene shampoo and conditioner, a little package of q-tips and Vaseline Intensive care lotion. The towels were thick and soft and plentiful.

I especially loved the bed. The pillow top mattress was as comfortable as the bed I slept in at the Green Valley spa in Utah and I slept like a baby. Aside from the spa, it was the only motel I've ever stayed at that had enough blankets. A thick duvet and another blanket were on the bed, as well as a throw. Plenty of soft pillows. The place was full, but it was very quiet!

The room had a microwave and a small refrigerater and a wall mounted TV.

A full breakfast was offered, waffles, scrambled eggs with ham and potatoes, along with pastries and fruit. The staff was friendly and upbeat.

All in all, a very good experience and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hidesertinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We appreciate your review and are humbled by your gracious comments. While we strive to give our guests the best service and amenities, it is always nice to hear from guests, like yourself, confirming that we are achieving our goals. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to having another opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

clean and comfortable with staff that is always there to help. I stay here often and they never fail to make my stay a great experience. the staff is
GREAT. top place to stay in Tonapah in my book. you can't beat it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwinger395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hidesertinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
The Best Western Hi-Desert Inn is very fortunate to have guests as wonderful as you to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your kind words and for being a loyal guest. We look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Tonopah was our place to stop on a business trip through Nevada and we chose the BW without too much research.

Very happy with our choice. Large room on the ground floor, everything in working order and comfortable bed. Didn't need much more in the circumstances.

Breakfast being good was an added bonus.

Happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hidesertinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are very happy you stayed with us and feel you made the "right choice". We strive to give our guests what they want and based on your comments, I feel we succeeded. Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. Booked a lower level room a week in advance, to arrive to an upper level room with no other option (Arrived around 4pm to a half full parking lot). For being in the middle of nowhere you can't be too picky. We will return, only because the few other places in town look run down. We have other best westerns on our trip. They are BW+ and are lower cost that this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimg3169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hidesertinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Hi-Desert Inn. We appreciate your comments and concerns. I am very sorry about the inability to accommodate you in a first floor room. Unfortunately, we cannot always guarantee specific rooms. The next time you are coming to Tonopah, please give me a call and I will attempt to find a room specific to your needs. Thank you again and we appreciate you. Please feel free to contact me at 775-482-3511 ext. 118.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Large, clean room and a comfortable bed, fresh delicious cookies in the evening, the by American standards fantastic breakfast was just icing on the cake! Highly recommended for the relatively low price

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hyperenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hidesertinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to improve our service and accommodations. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

As geocachers we needed a hotel as our refuge between heavy dusty caching days. We could not have picked a better hotel. The hotel ran an early included breakfast service which was very nice with eggs, waffle maker etc. The hotel was very welcoming, with a washing/drier service (takes 25c coins) available, Reception can provide detergent/drier sheets ($2). The staff that we met were all lovely and helpful. The beds were divine with lovely sheets. The only thing that let it down a little was the shower which had an erractic spray but it was not enough to detract from the rest of the facilities. The Wifi, flat screen tv, coffee machine and small fridge and microwave etc all helped to ensure our three night stay was an enjoyable one. Special thanks go to a young man on reception who allowed us to use their hose to quickly wash down the car! We explored this town and can recommend the mine museum (on the back road of the hotel) and lunch at the Mitzpah hotel (take photos of the haunted mirrors!).

Room Tip: Avoid the smoking room area which also seemed to be available to pets. The small block we were in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeanduEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hidesertinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
It sounds like you had a great time Geocaching in our area. We are grateful for you staying with us and sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor. Would you please contact me with the room number you were in. We need to replace the shower head in that room. My email address is bwhidesertinn@msn.com or you can call me at 775-482-3511 ext. 118. Thank you again for staying with us and happy geocaching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tonopah hotels
0.3 mi away
Mizpah Hotel
Mizpah Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tonopah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tonopah Station Hotel, Casino, RV Park
0.2 mi away
Jim Butler Motel
Jim Butler Motel
#4 of 6 in Tonopah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn
Address: 320 Main Street, Highways 6 & 95, POBox 351, Tonopah, NV 89049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hi Desert Hotel Tonopah
Best Western Tonopah
Tonopah Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing