We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Comfortable hotel in Tonopah"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hi-Desert Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed here one night while passing through on our return from Utah. The rooms appeared to have been recently updated, and were clean and comfortable. This hotel is pet friendly and has a small grassy area to walk dogs. The front desk staff was friendly and offered fresh cookies upon check-in. Even though this hotel is right on the main street, it was very quiet. We would definitely stay here again if passing through Tonopah.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
Thank CAtraveler-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hi-Desert Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 822 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

Arrived in the late afternoon after driving from southern Utah. We had driven for hundreds of miles through desert to get to Tonopah, Nevada. It was a one night stopover as we headed to California. The hotel is located on the main street not far from a large casino where we ate dinner. The casino was within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. The hotel swimming pool was situated out front near the main street. It was small and appeared clean and well cared for. We did not swim. Our room was a nice size and clean. A small refrigerator was inside. A newer model television was on the wall. Parking was convenient and located adjacent to the building. The morning breakfast consisted of cold cererals, muffins, toast, boiled eggs, milk, coffee juices. The meal was fine. Seating was very limited requiring you to sit at tables with others. Tonopah has many closed businesses and buildings in the general area. An old mine sits on a hill behind the hotel that apparently has a museum. During the mining era this town was obviously a busy city. Today, it appears in general disrepair and in need of a cash infusion to regain its former vitality. As a stopping point I would once again stay at this Best Western hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the entrance.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeniorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Hi-Desert is a very reliable, clean and comfortable motel in an isolated Nevada town. The breakfast offerings are adequate to very good. The large parking lot gives it an edge over several less expensive places in Tonopah.

Room Tip: Tonopah is so quiet that street noise is rarely a problem.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This was a great hotel stay. Even though it is off the main highway in town (actually the "Extraterrestrial Highway" does enter from the east, but only aliens come from that direction!), the hotel was quiet and quite comfortable and spacious. They have energy saving features which folks who have not walked upright very long have may have a hard time figuring out. Sadly, the great home-town diner, just down the street, is now closed. Tonopah is a GREAT place to stay for a day or two or more to visit. The town and area reeks with old-west history. Just a few miles down the road is Goldfield, another great place to visit, but lodging, etc. is not too amenable. It is sad to see historic things going, well, the way of history.

Room Tip: Large rooms, quite, nice continental breakfast.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed in Tonopah on our summer motorcycle trip to Yosemite. The motel has motorcycle parking right up front, in view of the front desk. Not that there is too much to worry about in Tonopah. Nice clean rooms and a good breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights, along with 2 other couples. Rooms were clean, hotel was quiet, breakfast was quite good, staff are helpful. Considering the other choices in Tonopah, we thought this was the best option, and we weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We found Tonapah kind of a sad little town and would not have stayed there except we couldn't drive another mile. This hotel was clean and just fine for one night. We did have an exceptional and unexpected great Mexican dinner at El Marques Restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingtwo-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tonopah hotels
0.3 mi away
Mizpah Hotel
Mizpah Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tonopah
656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tonopah Station Hotel, Casino, RV Park
0.2 mi away
Jim Butler Motel
Jim Butler Motel
#4 of 6 in Tonopah
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hi-Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hi-Desert Inn

Address: 320 Main Street, Highways 6 & 95, POBox 351, Tonopah, NV 89049 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range: $110 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hi-Desert Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hi-Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hi Desert Hotel Tonopah
Best Western Tonopah
Tonopah Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing