We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Tonopah”
Review of Jim Butler Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jim Butler Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Tonopah”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

While on our way to Tahoe from L.V. we split the seven hour trip with an evening stay in Tonopah. The Jim Butler Hotel sits on main street right next to the now shuttered Mizpah. This places it right in the middle of walking distance to everything that you would want to see in this little town except for the mine park tour which is up on the hill behind the hotel a distance. This hotel is older style, but well built. Once we were in the room we could not hear traffic or noises from adjoining rooms or even the upstairs room as we were booked downstairs. Being a quiet hotel where you can get a good nights rest was perfect for the next days drive. We drove around town and looked at the other available hotels from the outside and they all looked like they were cheaply constucted and had paper thin walls. That evening we ate at the new Mexican restaurant a few blocks down upon referral from the night clerk and it was allright..so-so. We slept well that night. The next day before we left we did the mine park tour which is very large in size and you could spend several hours hiking around if you are so inclined.
My only concern with our stay was that as we walked the mainstreet at night we noticed a couple of trucks and cars continually cruising the street and our hotel full of what appeared to be high school kids. I guess there is not much to do in a town that size at night for teenagers. After they circled our hotel for the third time looking at the vehicles parked around it I went out to our car and took the rest our luggage inside to our room. Although our car wasn't messed with you might do the same once there.
If you do stay there be sure to engage night clerk Wanda in some good stories about the next door Mizpah where she worked for several years before it was shuttered. All the folks in this town know the town histories and lifes of its characters well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank winggapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    41
    24
    13
    6
See reviews for
24
38
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
471 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed at this hotel last week based on reviews on tripadvisor. The motel is very small and clean - goes for a homey feel - i.e. flowers on the walls, notes all around, interesting book of attractions around.

We stayed in Tonopah to enter the north end of Death Valley near Scotty's Castle.

This town is pretty isolated - no grocery stores or drug stores. We were there on a Monday and the few restaurants in town were closed. We had a choice of a McDonalds or the casino. The casino was fine but smokey.

The motel was an ok value - noisy in the morning - very thin towels and very small bathroom. Two beds - ok mattresses. The free continental breakfast was toast (two tupperware type containers - one with wheat bread and one with white), two containers of squeeze jelly, instant oatmeal, coffee, and a bowl of fruit - all in all not bad since nothing seemed open around there in the morning - so if you didn't have food with you, it would have been a blessing.

There were a couple of other places there - but I would recommend being prepared for pretty basic here and bring a cooler with your own food. I am not sure anyting else would be better. A few more years, and this place may not be around.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

older motel in tonopah very well maintained and large clean rooms smoking allowed price great staff well informed of area attractions room has a notebook binder with very useful information re area

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at the Jim Butler on a brief few days in Tonopah for a modeling assignment with my boyfriend as the photographer.

We checked in after a 3hr drive from Las Vegas. The clerk at the desk was very friendly and checked us in quickly.

The rooms were small, but what do you expect for a small motel in a small town? It was small, but comfortable and worth the price we paid.

There are restaurants around the town, plus a supermarket and many gas stations.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We booked one night in the Jim Butler on a trip from Reno to Las Vegas. Although our online reservation didn't seem to arrive at the motel before us, the friendly clerk had us checked in at a rate a few dollars less than quoted online. The standard room was large and clean. No problem with odors in our non-smoking room. We've stayed at the Best Western Tonopah (which is also nice) in the past, and for the price, the J.B. is a bit better priced. If you don't need the pool, the J.B. is just about right.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohzonejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

I stayed one night at the Jim Butler and found it highly satisfactory. The price is higher than the low end motels in Tonopah, but the quality is worth it. The room was clean, with good quality carpet. There were no noise issues. The staff is very pleasant and informative. The central location allows strolling around the center of town; its only a few blocks to El Marques, which is said to be the best restaurant in town, something I won't contest. My only complaint is that ice is sold rather than provided free, but that won't stop me from staying here again.

  • Liked — the unique character--it had most of the qualities and services one expects in a national chain, but wasn't just another cookie-cutter property
  • Disliked — no free ice
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zundapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

This motel is good for a night or two. We stayed one night and had no problems. The staff was great , rooms are average, beds ok, on the small side for comfort for the three of us. It sure was a nice change after spending 5 nights in Las Vegas. There is plenty to do for the outdoors person. The motel is in the center of town within walking distance to food and shops. Had a nice time. Thanks for reading.

  • Liked — LOcation
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Tips/Secrets — This is a coll town and worth the trip.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Salinaspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tonopah hotels
0.1 mi away
Mizpah Hotel
Mizpah Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tonopah
618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tonopah Station Hotel, Casino, RV Park
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hi-Desert Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jim Butler Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jim Butler Motel

Property: Jim Butler Motel
Address: 100 South Main Street, Tonopah, NV 89049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jim Butler Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jim Butler Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jim Butler Hotel Tonopah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing