We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jim Butler Inn, Tonopah, Nevada, Nice Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jim Butler Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jim Butler Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jim Butler Inn, Tonopah, Nevada, Nice Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nice Stop! The building is old but quaintly and pleasantly decorated. The registration folks are pleasant, helpful, and efficient. The room was large and even though it was close to the highway, we slept soundly without interruption. The room and bathroom were clean and was adequately appointed. An obvious rearrangement had left the microwave with a cord too short to reach a plug-in. Holding it while heating water for a cup of late coffee seemed unwieldy so we opted out. In Tonopah, there is not a lot of choices and a long drive elsewhere when you're tired. Next trip through I will certainly give the Old Jim Butler Inn a serious consideration.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rexsinlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    41
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
23
37
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I had made a room reservation on the website and received a confirmation email. I got to the hotel late in the afternoon on my arrival date only to find out I don't in fact have a place to stay. All other hotels where booked. Staff was confused and unapologetic. Had to drive an additional 4 hours to get to a descent hotel. I will never attempt another stay at the Jim Butler!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennyhahas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taber, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The room was dated and the floor squeezed horribly when walked on. The free continental breakfast was horrible, consisted of some breakfast cereal with no milk, but they did have powdered creamer. Not very sanitary breakfast area as it was served in the front office lobby. The hot coca mix was just cocoa powder, not a nice mouthful of hot chocolate. I was expecting a better quality hotel room for $94 a night. I would not go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Staff is not there after hours but were very accommodating when needed. Rooms were kind of small and dingy but they were clean. Great central location. Stayed for three days and would stay again if needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBecca101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivins, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

On a recent trip we stayed at the Jim Butler Motel instead of our usual Best Western in Tonopah. The rooms were large, clean and quiet. The ice machine is an old coin operated one, but they freely give you quarters for it at the front desk, just ask, (no charge).

The continental breakfast in the morning is pretty light, so don't expect much. Two types of cold cereal, some pre-packaged pastries, coffee and some fresh fruit are offered. No space to eat it there, get what you want and retreat to your room to eat. I did not feel this was an issue for my wife and I, but it might be for a family.

Pleasant staff, quick and easy check in, parking close to the doors, but away from the building.

This was a pleasant option for lodging in Tonopah, and far less scary than the Clown Motel, while cheaper than the BW or Mitzpah by a significant margin.

Walking distance to most of what Tonopah has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

On a trip back from Idaho to southern NV, we called ahead for reservations. When we got there, the nice lady at the desk was very friendly and helpful. The motel is located right on the main street, but she gave us Room 24 at the back and it was very quiet. The place could use some upgrading, but the bed was wonderfully firm and it is right across the side street from the newly reopened Mizpah Hotel, which is a "must see". It's also just downhill from the great Tonopah Mining Museum.

Room Tip: There is additional parking farther back, but they have recently opened it so one may drive through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selway M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed at this little place on our way through town. The exterior gives one pause, but we were only looking for a place to sleep for the night. The front desk woman is very nice, the room was as advertised...clean and homey. The bed was surprisingly comfortable...out of a month long trip, this was the most comfortable bed of the entire trip. Right next door to the Mizpah for a very nice "sit at the bar", great wine and relaxing time. We would stay here again when we travel through. It's not the Ritz, but it's just fine, and very reasonably priced, for an overnighter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MelliB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tonopah hotels
0.9 mi away
Tonopah Station Hotel, Casino, RV Park
0.1 mi away
Mizpah Hotel
Mizpah Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tonopah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jim Butler Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jim Butler Motel

Property: Jim Butler Motel
Address: 100 South Main Street, Tonopah, NV 89049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jim Butler Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jim Butler Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jim Butler Hotel Tonopah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing