We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay.”
Review of Jim Butler Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jim Butler Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Caerphilly
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

stayed here on an overnight stop from yosemitte national park to glenwood springs colorado.Due to the long drive we were going to arrive late so phoned the hotel.They were really helpful.On arrival at the room were pleasantly surprised.Room was really clean,our friends room had recently been updated,flat screen television etc.Would definately stay here again and most probably for a longer period.Tonopah is a very interesting place with lots of history with regards to the Usa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bustercaerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    41
    24
    14
    6
See reviews for
25
38
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Ok so I stopped here with a friend on a motorcycle trip. The staff was nice, the room was ok. The lights above the beds are a hazard to the head as I bashed mine 3 times before I moved the bed out of the way. I probably will stay somewhere else less hazardous.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hikerdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My first impression was 'oh no' not another dump (like Winners in Winnwmucca) but once I opened the door and looked in, I was delightfully suprised how nice my room was. Although it was a little crowed with the 2 queen beds, the bathroom/sink area was a bit small and aside of the slight creak in the floor, it was very clean. The beds, pillows and linens were dreamy. I slept soundly. I've been in 5 star hotels that didn't have such comfortable bedding. Our room also was equiped with a quiet refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave and large flat screen TV; big bonus. Don't let the outside fool you, it may appear old and decrepit, but the Jim Butler is a comfortable choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JewelsLHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is an OK little motel, not bad for the money. the room was clean and the bed was OK. Could have used better chairs. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copperfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed one night during a road trip in March. The Jim Butler is a small, 2 level motel in the heart of Tonopah. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The room was large, very clean and the bed very comfortable. Quiet. Reasonably priced. Wi-fi included. Old TV, but who really cares. Not a fancy place, but recommend it if you don't need/want frills. There's a notebook in the room full of interesting history and suggestions of things to do in the area. The lobby has books to look through if you want more detailed information. The 'continental breakfast' isn't much.
We had dinner next door at the Mitzah Hotel - very convienent and OK.

Room Tip: Upstairs room were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

do not walk barefoot on the carpet it is disgusting . the shower has no water pressure and is luke warm. Not much to do out there, only good benefit was that in the room is a refrigerater and microwave. Not worth the cost of the room

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nv
Level 6 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Jim Butler on our way to Las Vegas to meet with family. The hotel is very reasonably priced, and the staff were very friendly, and accommodating. Our room, #29 was very clean with a comfortable bed and quaint decor. The only minor negative was the chairs were not very comfortable as the cushions sagged. The Mizpah Restaurant has good food and is across the street so no need to drive after settling in for meals.

Would most definitely stay at Jim Butler again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: As the hotel is on the main street we were concerned about traffic noise. Our room was in back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E&CinReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tonopah hotels
0.9 mi away
Tonopah Station Hotel, Casino, RV Park
0.1 mi away
Mizpah Hotel
Mizpah Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tonopah
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hi-Desert Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jim Butler Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jim Butler Motel

Property: Jim Butler Motel
Address: 100 South Main Street, Tonopah, NV 89049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jim Butler Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jim Butler Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jim Butler Hotel Tonopah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing