We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend”

Tonopah Historic Mining Park
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Tonopah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Tonopah Historic Mining Park is on the site of Belle and Jim Butler's original mining claim which started the rush to Tonopah making it the "Queen of the Silver Camps." The mining park, encompassing portions of four of the major mining companies and covering 113 acres, preserves this rich history and brings it to life with exhibits of equipment and imaginative self-guided tours. The park also offers a Guided Polaris Tour. The park collects, restores and displays mining artifacts on the site and in the original buildings. Come and visit us at the Tonopah Historic Mining Park, where history comes alive. We are open 7 days a week from 9am-5pm, excluding all Federal Holidays.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Pendleton, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I went to Tonopah to star gaze, but thought this would be fun too and it was! We saw a great little video and then wondered the mining area thinking about how it was back in the day. What an amazing little place and preserved nicely too. Thanks for the memories.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    41
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you happen to be in Tonopah...”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Don't skip the intro-film at the visitors center, it's interesting and provides great background for the visit. Plan on a couple hours easy, even if history is not your thing, it's a great hike and beautiful scenery and vistas. Lots of artifacts, mining buildings and apparatus. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cnr128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Mon, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great insight into a bygone era.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stopped overnigh in Tonopah and having an hour to spare the next morning we went to the mining park. Coming from a mining area we found it very interesting and one hour turned into two.
The introductory film was very informative and the museum was very good. The park was far better than we were expecting and was well worth he visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloride, Arizona
Level Contributor
163 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A visit well worth it.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We love old mining stuff and rocks. This place had a lot of each. The staff person was friendly and helpful. A couple of the points of interest were too far for a retired couple not accustomed to hiking.

As ghost adventurers we regretted not having our gear with us as we visited the Grizzly during our walking tour. After I had asked "What are you doing?" We got a knock followed by a loud slam .

Later we asked the woman at the visitor center if that had ever been reported she stated there was nothing to slam and that no one had never said anything.

Now that I know some more about it, this is the kind of place I'd drive 100 miles to see. Probably not so much a great place to take kids unless you were looking a place to abandon them and have a great head start.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice rural mining town museum”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I visited here when I was passing thru Tonopah. It is a quaint park with lots of rustic, real, tools of the trade. Great for any old mining buff like myself. I liked the big mining hole, gives perspective of going underground to be a miner. a huge rock selection too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank speedntactics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonopah Historic Mining Park also viewed

 

Been to Tonopah Historic Mining Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing