We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of the High Desert”
Review of Mizpah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mizpah Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Tonopah is now more than just a stopover on the highway between Las Vegas and Reno. The interesting history of this "wild west" mining town in the high desert has been lovingly created in rich detail in this restored historical hotel. When the hotel was first built many years ago it was the gem of Tonopah; it now is again. Although the rooms are generally small, everything seems historically accurate and yet the hotel is completely modern in terms of its amenities. Friendly staff. The restaurant food is good, not gourmet. What a treat!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SierraWanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Sierra Wanderer,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very proud of our renovation and I am so glad they you enjoyed the hotel. Come back and visit with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Mizpah Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 659 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

That wondrful old feeling of luxury and olden days extravagance was the immediate feeling we got. the owners have done an excellent job of keeping what is the best of the old glamour of the hotel while updating it subtly to our modern conveniences. Our bed was cozily covered in a down comforter with enough pillows for an army. There is no coffee in the room, but just down the ornately decorated hall is a well appointed table with a coffee service and REAL cups. We appreciated also the owners' mindfulness of the environment in their approach. The restaurant was a little pricey, but the food was tasty and we had one grumpy waitress, but the staff at the front desk were
cheery and made us feel welcome. Would stay tgere again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Melody_L938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Mizpah hotel on Valentine's Day. We luckily had made a reservation ahead of time so we were able to get our two rooms. The rooms are definitely older which is to be expected as this is more of a period hotel. My room had a queen size bed and a claw foot tub. I used the shower in the tub, and it was fine but care should be taken getting in and out as it is taller than a normal tub. The bed was great, and I slept really well. Who would have thought that a hotel in Tonopah would be so packed...it was crazy. We went to the bar and shared a bottle of wine which was quite good. I was also surprised to find that the bar stocked both high-end single malt scotch and tequila. There was a special dinner going on in a second restaurant, but we could not get in. We ate in the regular restaurant. The food was very good but they were understaffed so it took a little longer than expected. Not a big deal as the hotel is probably experiencing some growing pains. As I said, who would have expected so many folks at a hotel in Tonopah. I plan on visiting again with my husband so he can see it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelli41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night February 19. The front desk people were friendly and efficient and we had a very nice room, but the dining room experience turned out to be horrible. Despite there being few people in the restaurant for dinner at 6 PM we waited nearly an hour and a half for our dinner to be served and finally gave up. The server apologized--apparently they lost our order and then they found it and put a "rush" on it, but after another half hour we told them we wanted to just pay for our drinks and appetizer. We purposely wanted an early dinner to be able to go to our room and watch the Olympics and this was very disappointing to say the least. My sister told us if we eat here to order something simple (and we did--chicken fried steak). I would go a step further and recommend skipping the food here--there is good Chinese and Mexican fare to be had down the road from here!! We also had a Burger King breakfast in the morning as we were anxious to get on the road.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Richard F,
Please allow me to apologize for the poor service you described on your recent visit. What you've described is completely out of character for the service that we normally provide. I've sent you a private note and hope to hear from you. On the other hand I am glad that you enjoyed the room and service provided at the front desk.
Again, our apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

There are actually a lot of places to choose to stay in Tonopah, which if you look on a map is actually in the middle of nowhere Nevada.
And most days all the places are booked up, so if your going that way, book ahead. This historic hotel was rescued a few times from total closure. But this time I think the new owners who have invested an unknown fortune to update and refresh this hotel to its one time status and former glory have hit it on the head. Don't expect a palatial hotel, but it restored to an era when this was luxury.
very comfortable small rooms with ensuites, nice toiletries and a feeling that you are some where a little bit special.
How the leaded windows on the lower floor were saved for 100 years in the desert is beyond me.
The Pitman Cafe, is OK for breakfast, good service, friendly, but nothing really special. Still better than "dennys".
The main entrance area holds what at one time would have been the reception room. It has a bar the full length of the room, looks a little like a time warp complete with well done velvet sofas.
All in all a decent place. i'd rather stay here than the Best Western.
Rooms are limited so book ahead, and I doubt you'd be disappointed.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MiguelitoyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

After driving several hours from Reno in the direction of Las Vegas, you reach Tonopah. Take a break and stay at the Mizpah. The room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The room decor and bathroom fittings aim to honor the early 20th century prime of the hotel. The restaurant served a good range of food for supper and breakfast. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

You are in the Middle of Nowhere. The trip to Las Vegas is to long to do it in one day. The area for hundreds of miles is schlock motels that are more scary than a haunted hotel.
This is an excellently refurbished Ghost town hotel, in a Ghost town that is starting to have a rebirth in mining and solar power.

It is clean and appointed with period furnishings. Bedding was the best of the trip. Since the cafe was not getting top notch TripAdvisor reviews we had the 1/2 pound Angus burgers which were very tasty with garlic fires that had real garlic in them. Looking at what others had got- looked like well prepared meals and they were eating happily.

Now is it 5 star, no but for the area and what has been done I will rate it very high. To nit-pick they had what appeared to be storm windows on the outside to prevent the cold coming in but you could not open them for fresh air. I do not like getting into a claw foot bath for a shower that has a nozzle that meets me at the chest. Despite the ghost, the most scary thing was the slow elevator.

But you will not find a nicer spot for hundreds of miles and the town is really worth a walk through. Close enough to Death Valley entrances. The Sonoma County California couple who spent thier money to update this hotel need to be congratulated.

Room Tip: Book the 5th floor for the ghost and a chance of one of her pearls she leaves now and then.I was on...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManOfC0nstantS0rr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tonopah hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hi-Desert Inn
1.0 mi away
Tonopah Station Hotel, Casino, RV Park
0.1 mi away
Jim Butler Motel
Jim Butler Motel
#4 of 6 in Tonopah
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizpah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizpah Hotel

Address: 100 Main Street, Tonopah, NV 89049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range: $110 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mizpah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the historic Mizpah Hotel, the heart of Tonopah since 1907. With 48 rooms, two restaurants, a future casino, two saloons and a couple of friendly ghosts, the Mizpah is both journey and destination. It’s a place for weary travelers, adventure seekers, and anyone with a hunger for good fun, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mizpah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing