We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was a okay stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mizpah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mizpah Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Was a okay stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

When we made our reservations, the gal on the phone said we can park our big rig out behind the hotel and that a lot of folks do. Well we had one heck of a time, when we checked in and told her about it..she said when exactly is a big rig? Is it just a big truck? So just so other people know..this hotel is NOT big rig friendly. We asked for a upper room with a king bed..it was just a bed, tv and bath room. One window that you can barely see out of because of the dirt. The room was clean, good hot water and water pressure. We went down and had breakfast ...we sat there for 15 minutes before the waitress asked us what we wanted to drink and brought our menus. Took almost a hour to get our food..I got one refill on my coffee and paid full price..it is instant coffee too. For the price and service and lack of...I don't think I would stay again...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Megmelchar,
Thank you for your comments and please accept my apologies for the issues you described. We do have parking in the back that will accommodate big rigs albeit a bit tight. I am sorry to hear of the service concerns you raised in the restaurant, typically we receive great praise with the restaurant staff. I would like to discuss your stay with us further if you have the opportunity you can contact me toll free at (855) 337-3030.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    169
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
89
297
46
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've been through Tonopah several times, but it was always when the Mizpah was still closed. So after I learned it had re-opened when I'd moved back to Nevada I knew I had to stay there. Some family members were going to Round Mountain so I had them drop me in Tonopah for the weekend. I had a queen room with a claw footed tub on the 5th floor. Plenty of room for one. I ate breakfast in the Pittman Cafe and it was nothing special, but good and with fast service. All staff I dealt with were very friendly and helpful. And I even had a "strange" experience.. I noticed I'd called a friend one morning which in fact, I had not. I thought it strange and got downright spooked when I read in the Mizpah Hotel book they sell on property, that it had happened to another person as well! Ghostly prank? You make the call.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tptraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Tptraveller11,
I am so glad that you had the opportunity to stay with us and I'm happy you enjoyed your visit. You can now count yourself amongst many others who have had similar "strange" experiences! Thank you for staying with us and come back and visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Old but renewed. This place is has a pulse. Restaurant has some really good food. Bar is more than adequate for crowds, 3 flat screen tvs and bartenders that really do care about your pleasure. Rooms are large, quiet, updated except for the shower which really needs the faucet and shower curtain replaced with something that works (i hear is is being addressed). This place is definitely one you will want to add to your "I've been there" list.

Room Tip: Excellant windows so little to no road noise on street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Bruce N,
Thank you for your kind words and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our shower fixtures are antique Rolex fixtures and do require a little extra TLC. We are addressing the shower curtains and expect to upgrade the situation. We were happy to serve you and hope to see you again at the Mizpah again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Unfortunately we didn't get to stay in the hotel but they did an excellent job of restoring the whole building. There is a lot of history here and the building reflects that. Although we did get to eat at the Pitman Cafe and the service and food was great. Very friendly staff and our service was expedient. Do yourself a favor and have lunch or dinner here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Dnwellman,
Thank you for your comments on the Pittman café. I was very happy that the service and food was to your liking. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to the staff. I hope you will be able to stay with us on your next trip through Tonopah as the rooms are just as grand as the rest of the property. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Wow!! What a great surprise! Beauty, history, comfort, incredibly friendly staff, really good restaurant, and a terrific low price, too. We would happily have paid twice what we did. So glad the Best Western - which cost more! - was full. You'll love it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gellchom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Gellchom,
Thank you for your kind words. We strive to provide the best in customer service and I agree that the staff is the friendliest I have ever worked with. It was a pleasure to serve you and please come back and see us sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed there 6/22/13. The room was gorgeous. The bed and linens were heavenly. The bathroom with a claw foot bathtub was huge. The entire hotel takes you back in time to Nevada's glorious mining history. The lobby and bar continue the historical atmosphere. The Pittman Cafe was good. We can't wait to go back. In fact, we don't why it took us so long to stay in this gem. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nativelasvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Nativelasvegan,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit with us so much. The property truly is a treasure and we're very proud of it. Thank you for choosing us and please come back and stay with us on your next trip to Tonopah. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

An excellent historic hotel with great service and charm.

We arrived late and Rich the general manager kept the kitchen open so that we could get some dinner/drinks. Food was great, rooms were well appointed and we all wished that we could've stayed a day or two longer at the Mizpah.

Very authentic and a ton of history to the place - definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank old_mosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Old_Misquito,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay here at the Mizpah. I was happy to hear that Rich was able to accommodate you in the restaurant. I'll be sure to pass your comments along to him. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will be able to stay longer on your next visit to the Mizpah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tonopah hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hi-Desert Inn
1.0 mi away
Tonopah Station Hotel, Casino, RV Park
0.1 mi away
Jim Butler Motel
Jim Butler Motel
#4 of 6 in Tonopah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizpah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizpah Hotel

Property: Mizpah Hotel
Address: 100 Main Street, Tonopah, NV 89049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mizpah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the historic Mizpah Hotel, the heart of Tonopah since 1907. With 48 rooms, two restaurants, a future casino, two saloons and a couple of friendly ghosts, the Mizpah is both journey and destination. It’s a place for weary travelers, adventure seekers, and anyone with a hunger for good fun, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mizpah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing