We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Mizpah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mizpah Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Wow!! What a great surprise! Beauty, history, comfort, incredibly friendly staff, really good restaurant, and a terrific low price, too. We would happily have paid twice what we did. So glad the Best Western - which cost more! - was full. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gellchom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Gellchom,
Thank you for your kind words. We strive to provide the best in customer service and I agree that the staff is the friendliest I have ever worked with. It was a pleasure to serve you and please come back and see us sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Mizpah Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 656 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed there 6/22/13. The room was gorgeous. The bed and linens were heavenly. The bathroom with a claw foot bathtub was huge. The entire hotel takes you back in time to Nevada's glorious mining history. The lobby and bar continue the historical atmosphere. The Pittman Cafe was good. We can't wait to go back. In fact, we don't why it took us so long to stay in this gem. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nativelasvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Nativelasvegan,
We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit with us so much. The property truly is a treasure and we're very proud of it. Thank you for choosing us and please come back and stay with us on your next trip to Tonopah. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

An excellent historic hotel with great service and charm.

We arrived late and Rich the general manager kept the kitchen open so that we could get some dinner/drinks. Food was great, rooms were well appointed and we all wished that we could've stayed a day or two longer at the Mizpah.

Very authentic and a ton of history to the place - definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank old_mosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Old_Misquito,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay here at the Mizpah. I was happy to hear that Rich was able to accommodate you in the restaurant. I'll be sure to pass your comments along to him. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will be able to stay longer on your next visit to the Mizpah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Only stayed one night on a 16 day road trip but this was my favourite hotel of the 8 in which we stayed which included the Bellagio in Vegas. The hotel has been restored but it retains its 1920's feel. The bar almost takes you back in time. The restaurant was good and the staff were brilliant. After so many faceless polite staff in corporate hotels it was lovely to meet real people. All the staff were great but the receptionist on check out was incredibly helpful, advising on our route through Death Valley and telling us stories of characters from times gone by. If you are looking for a stop from Yosemite to Vegas then stop here. As well as a great hotel it has a mega interesting mining centre behind the hotel, a great secondhand bookstore and a western shop with some good stuff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Robert,
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. The Mizpah is truly an unexpected treasure here in the high desert. We'll be sure to let the staff know how much you appreciated their efforts. It was our pleasure to serve you and thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Mizpah Hotel is one of the most authentic historical hotels we have stayed in so far in our journeys around the USA, In 2005 we stayed at the Jim Butler motel which is situated right beside the Mizpah, before it was being renovateded we wished we could stay there! this year [2013, 2 yrs after opening] in anticipation of an authentic historical stay at a hotel we were not disappointed! The owners now, of the Mizpah have made every effort to preserve this beautiful old hotel all of her atmosphere, in our opinion they have sucessed with great success!! The atmosphere is very welcoming and "homey" [ non- stuffy] the rooms have been upgraded to code standards ie: proper fixtures in bathrooms etc but they have managed to keep the authenticity & grandeur of the furnishing & architecture in the entire building! It is just stunning! it is a must stay when passing through Tonopha! As the hotel is widely known for being haunted, unfortunately we had no spirit disturbances during our stay but you can't "time/predict" a haunting. this hotel is oozing with history....you can feel & smell it! The Cafe is not fancy but the food was excellent! & so was the service! It was very obvious to us that the staff of the Mizpah love the old hotel, all or most of then have a family connection to it's history it really shows in their service to their patrons! She is a stately must stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Rosemary,
We are so glad that you chose to stay at the Mizpah this trip. The Cline family has certainly paid tremendous attention to detail in restoring the hotel to it's original glory. As you mentioned many of the staff members have their own stories of the Mizpah and how it was a part of their lives growing up in Tonopah. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back at the Mizpah again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is truley awesome. We ran into it while traveling last year and had to come back. Lots of history as the largest silver and gold mine in the day. read the history on the back of the menu in the Pittman cafe. Pretty interesting!
Coffee is instant but hopefully the hotel will " smell the coffee and get good ground coffee".

Room Tip: We asked for the Pittman suite the second time we stayed at the Mizpah. Got a much larger room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty444445667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Patty,
Thank you coming back and visiting with us again. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at this unique hotel. We are looking at our coffee product and hopefully on your next trip to the Mizpah you will find it more enjoyable. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you back at the Mizpah again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Could not say enough about our stay here in the Mizpah Hotel. This was not a destination for us, only a stop on our journey. However, we made the most of our stay there, enjoying dinner and the next morning's breakfast in the hotel's beautiful restaurant. Wonderful staff, beautiful room that was comfortable and ample and fit our needs perfectly. Very reasonably priced, since that was a concern for us.

We would definitely stay there again, even going out of our way to get back to Tonopah for the experience. A beautiful piece of American history!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marji Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Marji-Z,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very proud of the hotel and the service we provide. I am so glad the team members here took care of your needs and helped to make for a wonderful stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come through Tonopah. Thanks again for visiting with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tonopah hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hi-Desert Inn
1.0 mi away
Tonopah Station Hotel, Casino, RV Park
0.1 mi away
Jim Butler Motel
Jim Butler Motel
#4 of 6 in Tonopah
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizpah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizpah Hotel

Address: 100 Main Street, Tonopah, NV 89049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range: $110 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mizpah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the historic Mizpah Hotel, the heart of Tonopah since 1907. With 48 rooms, two restaurants, a future casino, two saloons and a couple of friendly ghosts, the Mizpah is both journey and destination. It’s a place for weary travelers, adventure seekers, and anyone with a hunger for good fun, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mizpah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing