We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mizpah tonopah,nv - really the bar rating”
Review of Mizpah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mizpah Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Certificate of Excellence
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“mizpah tonopah,nv - really the bar rating”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Something is going on in Tonopah! We have been driving twice yearly between AZ and North Lake Tahoe for 9 years. We always stay at the Best Western because they accommodate our dirty filthy certainly flea infested yorkie that sleeps with us daily :)! We heard from our neighbors to definitely stop at recently reopened Mizpah --- what does that mean exactly anyway? It is charmingly historically renovated - at least 20' long bar - 20' ceilings --- really fun to see a turn of the century building in such a "quiet" town. Stained glass and decorated for the Holidays! Well, we walked down from the BW after an 8 hour drive and were delighted. If the blond bartender is not out fishing she makes a killer vodka martini! We felt like we were in San Francisco --- us and the miners who travel through town! Good on you Mizpah! Sometime we'd like to try the hotel rooms!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Good afternoon,

Tonopah is definitely the place to visit these days and we appreciate that you stayed overnight with our neighbors. I'm excited your experience while in town was delightful, especially at the Mizpah Hotel and from our bartender's assistance.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    173
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
91
304
50
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonopah, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is the most warm, inviting and felt like my home away from home. The staff are amazing and very accommodating. Everyone there went above and beyond to make sure that I was comfortable having everything I needed. I recommend this historical and outstanding place of establishment to all I know. I intend to visit in the future and this will be I will stay.

Room Tip: Fitness is in remodeling phases and no swimming pool available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frilo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Good afternoon,

Your experience at the Mizpah Hotel is wonderful reading. The fact you were comfortable and that the staff was so accommodating is satisfying. Your recommendations are appreciated and please know you are welcome anytime to your Mizpah home away from home.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My partner and I stumbled into the hotel at 11pm after several hours of driving and getting lost trying to find a nearby camping ground. The staff was delightful and professional. Our room was extravagant. I remember the silken velvet red sheets, white lacy window curtains, and old-fashioned brass bedside lamps. Despite the Woman in Red ghost, I slept fantastically. Breakfast in the morning was okay, but the bartender's gregariousness made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogitravelerKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Good evening,

I am happy to read that you safely made it to the Mizpah Hotel after getting lost and had such a memorable time, from your room, to the Lady in Red, and from our friendly staff.

Thank you for sharing your experience and for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just an overnite in the neatest old western hotel that has been refurbished with most of all the original furnishings and maintaining the Victorian charm intact.

I felt like I was in an old western movie and could just see myself in my long bustle dress, fancy hat and umbrella!

The service and the food was excellent. Everyone is so friendly and ready to be at your service. The fresh morning coffee set out on each floor in the foyer just like back in the day was also a very nice touch! Oh, and u should try the Lady in Red red wine bottled by the Owners at the Cline winery in Sonoma. Delicious red Zin!

Room Tip: Request the wagon bed room or the Lady in Red room. The bedding and the mattress was so comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Good morning,

I'm so very happy you had a wonderful time at the Historic Mizpah Hotel during your recent holiday stay. I want to thank you for your feed back, kind words, and your recommendations.

On your next visit to the Mizpah Hotel, please consider dressing period of your choice.
I know our guests and team would love it.

Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We are huge fans of the ghost adventures and when we learned they investgated the mizpah we had to stay there. We caught a class A evp while sitting outside our room on the 3rd floor. It said... "I like it that's what I do". right after I commented on ablurry picture I took. My skeptic husband felt the bed shake the next morning and thought it was a earthquake but it wasn't.. I also saw a orb fly out of the sheets before he even told what he felt..it was a beautiful hotel and we plan on staying again next summer...I would reconmend this place to anyone..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieerker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Good afternoon,

Talk about an unforgettable experience. WOW! This is absolutely amazing to have such an experience at the Historic Mizpah Hotel within just two days.
I'm anxious for you and for the summer to arrive to read about your other happenings.

Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Love this hotel. First-rate accommodations, even the little things are taken care of (how many hotel restaurants in Nevada have raw sugar available for coffee!). I could have explored this hotel for hours and not have seen it all. The staff is friendly and will talk about the history of the hotel, they never brushed me off or made me feel I was keeping them from something more important.

Room Tip: Ask for the haunted room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevadatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Good afternoon,

I love reading that you had a nice experience at the Mizpah Hotel and please know, you are the most important guest even before you make your reservation.
On your next trip, please plan on staying an extra day and we will provide you with as much information as possible.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a two-night stay at the historic Mizpah Hotel in Tonopah NV.
The building has been closed and boarded up for decades. After passing it hundreds of times over the years on my travels,I've often wondered what it would be like to stay there. Accompanied by my sweetie wife I finally got my chance. The building had been recently purchased by the Clines who performed a Class-A remodel/refurbish to this wonderful place.
My wife and I noticed the great attention paid to detail in the rebuild. The paint-wallpaper and other treatments are well-matched to the period furniture (all refurbished to new condition). The room decor-color match-curtains...everything was just beautifully done. The great room/open bar area is what you will first notice upon entering and it makes quite an impact with the etched glass windows (all monogrammed with the letter "M" for Mizpah) creating a special room glow and ambience taking you back 100 years....it's the "WOW" factor!
As nice as the detailing and beautiful restoration is the friendliness of all the staff even surpassed that! We were treated like royalty...even given a special tour of the "Lady's" suite.The "Lady in red" is Mizpah's resident ghost who is said to occasionally leave pearls on the pillows of some visitors. We didn't see the "Lady" on this visit but strangely my camera stopped working after taking a few pictures in her room....it works just fine now!
We also had a chance to dine in the beautifully appointed restaurant. Our burgers were big, juicy, delicious and very reasonably priced.
It is readily apparent that the Clines put their heart and soul into this project - this special place deserves it too...it is quite unique and historic....simply put, there's no place like it on earth and this restoration needed to be done. The Clines were just the right folks to accomplish this task...our hats off to them for the incredible job they did!
Our one and only regret on this wonderful stay was that it was only a two-nighter...we really did not want to leave. We will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coindrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Good morning,

I want to thank you very much for your patience for the past twelve years and to finally give us the opportunity to welcome you as our guests. Your kind words to The Clines, The Mizpah Hotel, and of course to The Staff are so appreciated.

Looking forward to your next return and perhaps so is The Lady in Red!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tonopah hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hi-Desert Inn
1.0 mi away
Tonopah Station Hotel, Casino, RV Park
0.1 mi away
Jim Butler Motel
Jim Butler Motel
#4 of 6 in Tonopah
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizpah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizpah Hotel

Property: Mizpah Hotel
Address: 100 Main Street, Tonopah, NV 89049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mizpah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the historic Mizpah Hotel, the heart of Tonopah since 1907. With 48 rooms, two restaurants, a future casino, two saloons and a couple of friendly ghosts, the Mizpah is both journey and destination. It’s a place for weary travelers, adventure seekers, and anyone with a hunger for good fun, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Mizpah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing