We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in historic hotel with modern ameneties”
Review of Mizpah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mizpah Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in historic hotel with modern ameneties”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were traveling from Yosemite, to Zion NP in Utah. We were going to take 2 days to drive across Nevada, and needed to find some places to stay. That's quite difficult, because there is almost nothing in the middle of Nevada. I found the Mizpah hotel online and saw some good reviews. It was in a perfect stopping point for us after leaving Yosemite and making some stops along the way. It's in the town of Tonopah, a town founded a on silver mining. The town obviously isn't huge, but it has some shops, restaurants, and historic points of interest. The Mizpah hotel is a historic building from around 1906 I think. The current owners renovated it and it looks great. It has maintained the historic look, but also has fully modern ameneties. The beds are comfortable, A/C worked great, and a huge flat screen TV in the room. Possibly only thing that wasn't the best was our bathroom, but only because it was a bit small. Nothing wrong with it though, and it was clean. Ours had a claw foot tub and a shower curtain that hung from the ceiling into it. Personally I'd prefer to just have a walk in shower. Staff was very friendly and the restaurant food was good. If we were ever out in the middle of Nevada again, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatorlover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Good morning,

Thank you for relying on Trip Advisor in making your decision to stay at the Mizpah Hotel as our guests. We are honored you chose Tonopah Nevada as a destination along side Yosemite and Zion. Hopefully you're making arrangements to return out west sometime soon for another fun filled journey.

Please consider the Mizpah again as there's so much to experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    172
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
91
300
48
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful historic hotel. Stayed one night and will definitely return! Super clean and comfortable. Have a drink in the bar and dine in the restaurant for a great overall experience. I was hoping to see The Lady in Red but did not. It was a little windy that night and with the hill of the old silver mine close by and possibly the outside walls and windows of the old hotel contributed to what I thought were great "ghostly" sounds. It certainly added to the experience. The bathroom for our room was beautiful as well. Claw foot tub! In the morning excellent coffee is set up on each floor. Highly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMissGizmoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Good morning,

Thank you for sharing your overall great experience at the Mizpah Hotel. I am very happy to read that you're ready to return as our guests for another comfortable visit.

We certainly hope that on your next trip the Lady in Red makes her self known to you which would definitely be remarkable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We came up from Yosemite along Route 6, which is a very long, isolated drive through the desert. Rolling in to Tonopah, we decided to try the Mizpah and were pleasantly surprised.

The hotel was built in 1907 and recently remodeled, retaining the vintage look. It's fun to wander and look at the decor.

The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Parking looked a bit sketchy (dirt lot up the hill) but everything was OK. Hot water was plentiful, with good water pressure. We had breakfast on-site; service and food were fine.

The WiFi allows only one device per room, and this was a significant limitation for us. Breakfast was just continental-style from 5-7a. At this price, we expected a buffet-style breakfast ala Hampton Inn.

All in all, it was a good stay in an interesting building. If they fix the WiFi, and improve the included breakfast, it'd be an excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WagonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Good evening,

Thank you for your decision to stay and be our guests at the Mizpah Hotel. We ceratinly appreciate your feedback as we are constantly improving both the inside and the outside accommodations. Our goal is to have you experience a great and exciting stay each and every visit.

Please consider the Mizpah again on your next trip thru Tonopah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mizpah hotel and loved it from the moment we walked in the door! The lobby is beautiful -- Victorian charm, a FABULOUS bar, antique windows, lights, etc. There is a neat gift shop in what used to be the hotel vault! The registration was smooth. We called from the road and Lyndsey, who was working registration, was busy with a guest at that time and our connection wasn't that great so she said she'd call us back -- and, she did -- almost immediately! ALL of the service staff were extremely attentive and we especially enjoyed Valerie, the bartender. The bar, itself, is beautiful and reminiscent of earlier times, and is very well-stocked. We ate breakfast at the Pitman Cafe and were VERY pleased. Everything we ordered came out perfectly as ordered and it was DELICIOUS! BEST OF ALL was the bed in our room! The hotel says its linens are "premium" and it isn't kidding! We have stayed at the Wynn, the Encore, the Palazzo and the Belaggio in Las Vegas and the bedding here was equal to -- OR BETTER -- than anything we've enjoyed at those lovely resorts! My husband doesn't sleep well and even he felt like he was sleeping in a cloud! A WONDERFUL mattress, GREAT pillows and PLUSH linens!! FABULOUS! The Mizpah was well-worth the price and we will return again just to be pampered! The hotel really IS a gem!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor in a King room -- there is a huge lobby on each floor and the rooms were VE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Good afternoon,

I want to thank you very much for being our guests and I am well pleased that our staff contributed to your fabulous experience at the Mizpah Hotel. Your kind words are so appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We took my wife's parents to the Mizpah for their 60th anniversary and, oh my, the staff outdid themselves! Personal service, lobster with asparagus, champagne and a fabulous cake that the chef made on the premises. The manager and our server tended to our every need and added a fun factor to the whole evening. This is a grand hotel that is getting better every day. The owners are paying attention to historic detail and modern amenities. This hotel out-classes everything else in town. They made my wife's parent's 60th a night to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lady in Red room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Good evening,

What an honor it was to have you all join us for your parent's 60th Anniversary dinner. I can't thank you enough for being our guests and sharing your spectacular experience.
I can only hope that you'll consider the Mizpah Hotel for all of your special occasions.

Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We did not stay a the Mitzpah as we have a home in town. However, we were excited to see that the Mitzpah Hotel was finally rennovated and reopened. And what a job they did. One of the most beautiful places we have been in for a long time. We first ate at the Pitman Cafe when the Mitzpah first opened. It was quite a surprise with the most beautiful salad ever (and delicious). I had the Buffalo Steak which was the best ever. Service was a little random as they were all new employees, but they did their best. Now to the present. Because of our wonderful experience at Pitman Cafe before, we were excited to eat there again after a long hard day of work rennovating a rental we own. The salad came. It was mediocre at best. The dressing came in a plastic container instead of a small crock. The New York steak (at $22.95) was ordered by us both to be medium rare. It came medium well and quite dry. We were customers dining the first half hour of opening and they did not have the baked potato to go with the steak. It was truly like eating at a Denny's or IHop for dinner. Huge disappointment. The service was outstanding. The servers were very busy and attended every request with rapid enthusiasm. The menu had just changed and this was their first night to reopen. I would like to try it again and hope they improve vastly as we love being in the this majestic historic hotel. It is absoutely beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Good evening,

I want to thank you very much for sharing your experiences at the Mizpah Hotel. Your first visit was exciting and your second visit was disappointing for which I sincerely apologize.
I respectfully ask that you try dining with us in the very near future.

I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here on a three-day drive from Prescott, Arizona to the Oregon Coast. We had previously stayed at the Best Western as Tonopah doesn't offer many choices. This was definitely better than BW for about the same cost. It is fun to stay in a historic hotel. The restaurant, however, was having a less than stellar night. It was our waiter's first night and he said he wished he was still a busboy. The kitchen staff was apparently overwhelmed by a party of 40, leading to very slow service. The food wasn't that great either. Still, if our travels take us this way again, we'll stay at the Mizpah.

Room Tip: Choose a 5th floor room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce J, General Manager at Mizpah Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Good morning,

I thank you for being our guests at the Historic Mizpah Hotel and for sharing your experience.
I also want to thank you for your patience that particular evening in the restaurant.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tonopah hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hi-Desert Inn
1.0 mi away
Tonopah Station Hotel, Casino, RV Park
0.1 mi away
Jim Butler Motel
Jim Butler Motel
#4 of 6 in Tonopah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizpah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizpah Hotel

Property: Mizpah Hotel
Address: 100 Main Street, Tonopah, NV 89049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Tonopah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tonopah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mizpah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the historic Mizpah Hotel, the heart of Tonopah since 1907. With 48 rooms, two restaurants, a future casino, two saloons and a couple of friendly ghosts, the Mizpah is both journey and destination. It’s a place for weary travelers, adventure seekers, and anyone with a hunger for good fun, food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mizpah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing