We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

Culloden Battlefield
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.34*
and up
Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This battlefield marks the site of the historic 1746 battle between the Duke of Cumberland and Prince Charles.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I didn't really know much about the Battle of Culloden but when I left I felt like a historian. Packed full of Knowledge. There is a lot to read so if you haven't got your reading glasses on better borrow a pair from the Mrs. The exhibition took me about 2.5 hours so a good day out and loads to learn.

Helpful?
Thank Ted I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,775
    578
    146
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
392 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very Informative and Moving”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The site has an excellent visitor center that provides lots of detailed information on the battle and what led up to it as well as many artifacts and weapons. The audio guides are easy to use and are recommended when walking around the site. They have guides for kids as well. There is a video presentation that is not recommended for younger children. The restaurant has great food (haggis pasties recommended) but is a little on the expensive side. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
730 reviews
427 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“An enjoyable visit”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The National Trust for Scotland have built an excellent visitor centre which tells the story and brings to life this important battle in our history. As it was raining we didn't walk too far in the battlefield. Excellent gift shop and cafe.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“A different experience from the ordinary”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Went here today having been there previously prior to the major redevelopment . Attractive exterior approach led to a spacious lobby area with entrance to exhibition, tea room and shop leading from it. Started with a rather expensive cup of tea and a scone for two people - £7.60. It was OK but no more than that. We toured the exhibition area, and very good it was too. Costumed guides were on hand to share the story of the battle. The only criticism was that the audio from various exhibits tended to clash, despite directional speakers. Outside was not so good. Last time we were there we found our way around the battlefield with maps and following markers. This time we were provided with hi-tech audio guides. One packed up quite soon and the other kept insisting we were somewhere other than where we really were. We noticed a lot of others who were heads down trying to make sense of their guides or who had removed their earpieces. Everyone was cordial and welcoming but the outside tour could have been better. Leave plenty of time for a comprehensive visit but be prepared to pay a lot besides for food and souvenirs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bjh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent presentation!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a must if you are in the Inverness area. The new visitors center is done so well, and really helps you understand something about this complicated and history changing battle. Of course it is very sad, but also informative. I found it very moving.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craicshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culloden Battlefield also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Ardersier, Inverness
 
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Scottish Highlands, Scotland
 

Been to Culloden Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing