We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The new museum is worth the trip”

Culloden Battlefield
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.24*
and up
Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This battlefield marks the site of the historic 1746 battle between the Duke of Cumberland and Prince Charles.
Elmira, NY
Level Contributor
362 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The new museum is worth the trip”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The battlefield where the Jacobites met the Hanoverians so long ago has been restored to what it was thought to look like. It's just a field wth flags makring the fronts of both battlelines and a monument in the middle between them. It is hard to stir up any feelings the, but off to one side is a nwe museum that does a wonderful job describing the pivotal battle for the British crown.

Two features of the museum stick out - first is the film presenetation that litterally puts you in the middle of the battle with screens on all four sides of the room, and the other is a presentation by an enactor dressed as a Hanoverian officer.

This attraction will give you a better idea of about the battle that marked the end of the major Jacobean efforts to acquire the throne.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RayMargeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,820
    590
    148
    24
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great bit of history.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I went to this place a when I was a child and come back to see if I could remember anything. The answer to that was no. The place has changed a whole lot however its added to the place not hurt it at all. The visitors center is amazing with the governments stand points down one wall as you walk around and the Jacobite on the other wall. Also before the display area near the end there is a Battle room. Please visit this room you get a feeling you are in the battle. On our way around the moor we were guided by the handheld GPS and was great learned a whole lot more as we walked around. When we were at the Jacobite line I remembered something from when was a child the fact that you cannot hear the road. Its a strange atmosphere however it add's to the whole experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpeedyB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The end of the Clans”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Culloden Moor is one of the few places I have ever been where an overwhelming sense of sadness has overcome me. On 16 April 1746 the course of British as well as European history was changed. It was here that the Jacobite army of the Stuart's (Bonnie Prince Charley) fought to regain the throne from the Hanoverian Monarchs. The Clan's, fighting valiantly for the House of Stuart's, were brutally destroyed.
A truly moving visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bresinsky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great new visitor's center, eerie battlefield”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife visited the battle field 40+ years ago and all there was then was the cairn. The "new" visitor center is very nice and informative. We caught the "history" presentation by one of the staff in period wear. Very good. We took one of the tours of the battlefield. Our tour guide was great (and sounded a bit like Sean Connery). The day we visited was grey and drizzly, much like what it would have been during the battle, though a bit warmer. That added to the experience.

We had lunch in the cafeteria. They have fantastic Scotch pies. Be sure to have a few.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Superb visitor experience.The audio tour of the battlefield was well done and our kids (Older) enjoyed it. The highlight was the immersive film along with the actor dressed in period costume. imaginatively presented its full of interesting artefacts and dispells the myth that it was somehow a battle between Scotland and England.

Well worth a vist, allow 2 hours minimum

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culloden Battlefield also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Ardersier, Inverness
 
Scottish Highlands, Scotland
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Culloden Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing