We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School Girls Reunion”

Culloden Battlefield
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$14.23*
and up
Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This battlefield marks the site of the historic 1746 battle between the Duke of Cumberland and Prince Charles.
Larkhall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“School Girls Reunion”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Set on flat ground Culloden is a piece of Historical wonder.The plaques explaining who died where and what happened filled me with awe.We did not have time to go into the Visitor Centre which would have been worthwhile nevertheless a poignant place on earth.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,817
    590
    148
    24
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Moving experience, excellent visitor centre”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We called at Culloden on our return home from Inverness. The modern visitor centre is excellent. It's not the prettiest building, but it works very well, for telling the story of the battle. Visitors are channelled down a series of corridors (with wheelchairs and scooters available for those that need them) with the Government story on one side of the wall, and the Jacobite story on the other. It was effective for communicating the complicated history. There are also lots of artefacts from the time on display, such as items of clothing, jewellery, books, and, of course, weapons. After viewing the visitor centre there are regular walking tours of the battlefield. We didn't go on one of these, but instead climbed up onto the top of the visitor centre, from where you can get a 360 degree view of the battlefield, including assessing the overall terrain and how it would have been in 1746.

There's also a good cafe in the visitor centre, with free wifi. And a well stocked shop. We bought a guidebook that will let me read more about the battle's history at home. I was left with a huge sense of anger afterwards, but also deep despair. And I'm very glad that I went. Culloden is an important site, and if you are in the area I strongly recommend visiting. Even if you think you know the story already you will learn new things. And if you don't it will be eye opening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outlander Novel Brought Me To This Quality Visitor's Centre”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We visited in June 2013 from California USA. We don't know much about Scottish history, as we would not study it in school here. My interest was sparked after reading books in the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. The main character is a Fraser so we trod out on the muddy field in the rain to see the Fraser clan stone, which was a highlight. Avid fans of the series had placed fresh flowers at that stone, which I am sure is a regular occurrence. The entire center is very well done. The points of view and historic movements of both the Highlanders and the English seem evenly balanced. Standing in the middle of a film reenactment of the battle, in the round with surround sound, was very effective. (Possibly too intense for young children.) The artifacts display was substantial. The flags on the field marking the location of where the Highlanders and English each stood to face off helps one visualize hand to hand combat proximity. Seeing the stones that mark where the clans fought and died is very moving. The field, itself, is impressive in size and visitors should behave in an almost reverent way while walking around. For history buffs and fans of the Outlander series, this is a great stop. Of course, the shop at the exit is well stocked.
Bonus: saw long haired Highland cattle out in front

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best battlefield sites we've seen”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Culloden visitor's center does an outstanding job of explaining the battle, what preceded it, and the aftermath. Lots of interesting personal "reenactment" stories. Impressive video-in-the-round that really makes you feel like you were in the middle of the battle.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
277 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Informative depiction of battle site”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This battlefield has immense significance to Scotland. The modern visitor center has excellent interpretive displays in chronological order that somewhat uniquely tell the Jacobite story on one side and then you can cross the room to view the British position on the other side. In interesting detail, you learn about the history of the previous battles between the Jacobites and the British, the state of their food and supplies, the tactics of the battle and the awful treatment of the prisoners and the onlookers. While the battlefield is the actual site of the conflict, there isn't much to see there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culloden Battlefield also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Ardersier, Inverness
 
Scottish Highlands, Scotland
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Culloden Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing