We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Accomodations, not much else”
Review of The Ridge Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ridge Tahoe
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Our 2 BD is very spacious. We just came from our timeshare in Las Vegas and can see how age is starting to show. One of the fans is making a ticking sound and the windows are difficult to open. I'm sure this place is packed during the winter skiing season so it can be difficult to keep everything in tip top shape. Still, it is more than enough for a family to vacation comfortably.

Wireless is available, but at a price (unlike our Vegas timeshare). I paid $40 for the week. Varying prices like $10/day. My wife tried to attend a 9am boot camp class on our 1st day and it was canceled for no reason. No sign was displayed. Then our signup for our daughter to join a kids event was denied due to a sick employee. The gym is well equipped.

As the last guy wrote, the front desk is just average. They don't come across as really caring that much. Reminds me of young college kids who are just doing a summer job to make a few bucks. The concierge is most definitely useless. I overhead a lady complaining that her call wasn't returned and the concierge said "It wasn't me so I can't do anything about that". IOW, they aren't willing to take responsibility for their mistakes.

The maid service does seem good...almost too good and giving us a bad feeling. On our first day, a maid rang our door bell and asked if everything was OK. At first I thought that was a nice touch. Then an hour later, another maid rang the bell and then said "Opps, wrong room". The next day 2 guys rang the bell asking if our TV was OK. Then 1 hr later, security rang the bell saying the previous guest reported leaving some jewelry. I'm just getting a 'bad' feeling about all these interruptions in just 2 days.

Anyway, I don't think I will return here again. We recently went to Snowbird (Utah) and expected similar things to do, but there really isn't that much for a summer resort. Snowbird (OTOH) was great for a summer retreat. At least The Ridge is close to Tahoe so there are things to do (like gamble).

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank karlw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 732 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2007

This is the second week of our 2-week vacation. I looked forward to coming here after spending a hot week in Las Vegas. We traded our week at another timeshare to come to The Ridge Tahoe. We have 2-bedroom suite that is spacious but a little dated but nothing that we can't live with.

We are active people and the first morning we were here I looked forward to going to a boot camp. I went to the facility where it was held and told that not enough people signed up (it wasn't posted anywhere that it was necessary) but the other reason was the instructor was in Sacramento. So which was it, not enough people or no instructor? Later on a woman in the Marketplace asked me if I had planned to go to the boot camp. When I told her I did, she said she had as well and was really upset that it was cancelled as that happens all the time. Hmmmm.

That night, my husband gets a call from the front desk that they don't have our credit card info which I saw him hand to the woman at registration when we checked in. My husband pointed out we couldn't have checked in unless we'd provided a CC and the guy agreed and said he'd check into it further. This morning I got a call from management that they didn't have our CC info and we had an outstanding balance in the Marketplace and I was told that "you people need to bring a CC to the front desk." I was really insulted by that remark. This was an older woman who made the call too -- someone who I think should be able to speak to a guest in a better tone especially since the problem was theirs not ours.

There is a Kids Club here which we looked forward to putting our daughter into. We made a reservation but got a call back that one of the teachers was sick and only 10 kids could be accommodated and our daughter wouldn't be one of them. Another disappointment.

The highlight was being able to get her into a beginner tennis class instead. The tennis pro was very good with the children and remembered all of their names which I thought remarkable since there were 9 children and he does this all day long. My daughter does want to go back on Thursday for another class.

Overall, I'd think twice before coming here again. Granted there are a lot of activities for free (a nice movie theatre is on-sight) but the management leaves something to be desired.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kayleighsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

3  Thank TravelingBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Relaxer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gdn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank tracker400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beachlover888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
3.1 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,942 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
3 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
918 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
831 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Tahoe

Address: 400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range: $127 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ridge Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge Tahoe sits high atop the Sierra's at 7,300 feet above sea level. Views are of the Carson Valley some 3,000 feet below and of the mountains. The property is spread out over 11 acres and connects with Heavenly Valley's Nevada, Stagecoach Lodge. Our on-site skier express lift provides free transportation directly to the stagecoach lift. Shuttle service is provided at no charge to and from the casino's in Stateline. Our property offers two bedroom suites, sleeping 6-8, one bedroom suites, sleeping four and deluxe hotel units, sleeping 2-4 guests. All two and one bedroom suites have full kitchens and fireplaces. Our 45,000 sq. feet clubhouse is the center piece of the resort where guests can enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Spa, Recreation, dining, deli, market place, concierge services, business center, full fitness center, 4 tennis courts (one in-door), two swimming pools (one in-door), BBQ's, Ping pong, full kids club program, guided hikes, rock climbing, snow shoeing and much more! The best part of the Ridge Tahoe is our people, we care very much about our guests and their vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ridge Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Ridge Tahoe Hotel Lake
The Ridge Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing