We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ridge Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ridge Tahoe
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Cordova
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for the second time and was just as pleased as the first time. The property has so many things to offer (tennis, gym, BBQs, free casino shuttles, movies, restaurant, bar, gift shop, kids' crafts, etc, etc) and the rooms are very nice. This time, we were on the 8th floor of the Plaza building and even though we didn't have a patio, which was a bummer, we were right down the hall from the outdoor Jacuzzi, which was great. We also had a beautiful view of the lake from our room.
Again, the rooms were clean and comfortable (sleep number beds!) and the kitchen was well stocked with everything you need! I'm very impressed with The Ridge and I look forward to staying here again!!

Room Tip: There are many buildings on the property, so you should have a view of either the lake or the Carson...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoFro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    259
    88
    68
    41
See reviews for
282
216
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

A family vacation suddenly turned into a solo vacation the first week of September and at first I wondered what I would do for a full week by myself in an unfamiliar resort. I was pleasantly surprised at the accomodations in the Terrace building. The 2 bd unit was spacious and had everything I needed. The facilities offered plenty of things to do, multiple swimming pools, a gym, wine tasting and cooking classes in the restaurant, movies twice a day in the recreation center and a spa while at the same time offering a beautiful and peaceful setting. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzVel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Been to the Ridge several times and this time with guests. This place is roomy and up to date on amenities. We went in August and it was very comfortable and the weather was perfect until the the winds blew in the smoke and ash from a fire over 100 miles away. I recommend this place and I will continue to go back. Lake is cold, golf is real good, the gaming is enjoyable, hiking and biking are all there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diverdave1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the Ridge, this time in The Ridge Pointe complex. I must say, as Marriott's Vacation Club members, we were very, very impressed. Our 2-bedroom unit was nicely appointed, great views, clean and mostly quiet (until the weekend teenagers arrived). Staff was prompt to address extra towels, a spa that wasn't heated, etc. We appreciated the upgraded Sleep Number beds (thank you!!), jetted tub in the master bedroom unit, comfortable furnishings and the view over the ridge valley was spectacular. Lots of fantastic hiking is just outside your condo door, as the Tahoe Rim Trail is just down the road toward the Boulder ski lift. We've used the amenities at the resort and find them clean, well attended, as well as staff helpful and polite. Thanks for getting a Starbucks in the resort, as we appreciate great coffee when we're on vacation. I am looking forward to another Intervals invitation, so we can return to the Ridge soon.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper-most floors (4,5) to avoid idiots with big feet walking around on top of your bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonocleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The good: Nice views, hot tub, pool, tennis, deli has good food, club is nice, bathtub big

The bad: The bed was awful, might as well have slept on a lumpy pile of laundry, room layout awkward but the worst was when our room keys stopped working and we could not get through to the registration desk with the "courtesy" phones in the hallway, it kept saying all were with other customers....forever, finally gave up and had to hike all the way back up to the club and WOW there were no guests at all, girl just sitting there doing nothing, so we told her we have been trying to call. She didn't seem at all concerned. I will NEVER stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katdbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in a time share unit at The Ridge Pointe. You needed to take a shuttle to the main lodge. The shuttle was provided free of charge and was very prompt. The unit was nice but did not have much outdoor space which we have become accustomed to at other units. The lodge is located in the ski area of Lake Tahoe. I'm sure it is best used for skiing trips. Only a few miles from the lake but windy hill. Not much else in the resort area. Also, no AC. We have stayed in areas with no AC before, but really needed it here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Boobalasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I recently returned from a 5-day trip to the South Lake Tahoe area. I had a long day, leaving the New York area early in the morning; changing planes in San Francisco & arriving in Reno in early afternoon. Picked up my rental car and in 1 1/4 hours I was at the Ridge Tahoe. The last 10 minutes was a scary drive up and up and up the Sierra Nevada mountains. It was beautiful but I vowed not to do that drive at night (I used the free city shuttle bus).
This 11-acre hotel resort has 302 units featuring hotel rooms, junior suites (my room), one and two bedroom condominiums with spectacular views of Lake Tahoe. Complimentary health club, indoor sports complex, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and Jacuzzi. There is a full service spa, tennis courts, rock climbing wall and hiking trails. In the winter the Skier Express provides access to Heavenly Ski Resort's Stagecoach Chairlift. Perfect for family vacations and outdoor activities.
Chef Stephen Moise presents an elegant dining experience in a casual atmosphere in the Hungry Bear Restaurant. There is a separate bar area that serves food. Try the Tuesday night chef cooking series. The friendliest staff (including Chef Stephen) I have encountered in years delivered simple food prepared perfectly with locally-fresh ingredients.
Why the "drink lots of water" in the title. When I arrived I was dehydrated and had not had lots to eat. I felt dizzy and almost fainted. Chef Stephen reminded me of the altitude and to drink 8-10 glasses of water every day. I complied and felt much better.

Room Tip: If you are there in the summer the rooms tend to be very warm. There is no air conditioning. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
3.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
2.9 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Tahoe

Property: The Ridge Tahoe
Address: 400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ridge Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge Tahoe sits high atop the Sierra's at 7,300 feet above sea level. Views are of the Carson Valley some 3,000 feet below and of the mountains. The property is spread out over 11 acres and connects with Heavenly Valley's Nevada, Stagecoach Lodge. Our on-site skier express lift provides free transportation directly to the stagecoach lift. Shuttle service is provided at no charge to and from the casino's in Stateline. Our property offers two bedroom suites, sleeping 6-8, one bedroom suites, sleeping four and deluxe hotel units, sleeping 2-4 guests. All two and one bedroom suites have full kitchens and fireplaces. Our 45,000 sq. feet clubhouse is the center piece of the resort where guests can enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Spa, Recreation, dining, deli, market place, concierge services, business center, full fitness center, 4 tennis courts (one in-door), two swimming pools (one in-door), BBQ's, Ping pong, full kids club program, guided hikes, rock climbing, snow shoeing and much more! The best part of the Ridge Tahoe is our people, we care very much about our guests and their vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ridge Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Ridge Tahoe Hotel Lake
The Ridge Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing