We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well managed property”
Review of The Ridge Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ridge Tahoe
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Decatur, IL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“well managed property”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Room was updated and amazing. gas fireplace. large flatscreen with ext. speakers.
Suite was very large. The lock-off had the jacuzzi tub. many coffee filters provided.
Limited garage parking. Lots of ppl park along the road, outside lots.

Only negatives: tub marble is very high, hard to get into and out of tub for elderly or shorter ppl. Be careful.

Only one wastebasket in kitchen.
Didn't find any dish rack.
Bathroom fan is loud.
Hungry Bear restaurant only open certain days.

Summary: for the few resorts we've been to, this one seems well-maintained and managed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rodman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    272
    90
    70
    43
See reviews for
298
230
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinterbruhl, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a large hotel/condo and we had a beautiful suite overlooking the Carson Valley. We had a huge dining/sitting/kitchen area so could really spread out and the bed in the room was something I had not experienced before. You were able to regulate the hard/softness of it, which was really great for those of us who like a hard bed! There was the added bonus of a washing machine and tumble dryer and as we were on a two week tour, it gave us the opportunity to do a quick wash. The restaurant is only open when the occupancy level is high enough but is definitely worth a visit. We had a great dinner and the Executive chef even came out with a recipe I asked for - the basil spaetzle - what attention to detail! For the lazy, there is a small deli which serves breakfasts from 0700 - 1100 and there are daily specials. They also prepare food to take and bake (pizzas) and have evening specials too. Just phone for the bus to the ski slopes and it will be there in 5 minutes or take the hourly service down to the lake for evening entertainment and other restaurants. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Valley view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sissy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester England
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Ridge Tahoe is ideally situated for Stagecoach lift at Heavenly. Whilst the roads to the resort can be tricky in a 2 wheel drive car during a bad winter, they are usually OK and it is an easy drive from the Casino area by the Lake to the Heavenly Village along Highway 207. That said a 4wd is recommended just in case of heavy snow etc.

The parking lot for Stagecoach lift at Heavenly is just outside the gate to The Ridge Tahoe and there are shuttles to take you there. However for the past two seasons the Ridge has operated a new skiier express which is an 8 seater mini tram running on rails from outside the Tower block to the Stagecoach lift. There are 60 steps to descend to the Stagecoach lift area (and to climb on the return) but most feel it is a welcome facility. It is worth noting that the resort is at 7,600 feet. Beware that there is no access for beginners at Stagecoach but a ski school is available at Boulder Lodge which is a short drive or shuttle ride away.

The staff at The Ridge are extremely helpful and the front desk crew are very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in Naegle 12 for the first week moving to Naegle 11 for the second. The move went very well with housekeeping having the new unit ready by 11.30 for a seamless transition. Housekeeping staff Robert & Anna were very helpful.

Naegle units have been updated and have granite work tops full laundry facilities and two king size 'sleep number' beds which are very comfortable. A welcome addition is the European style duvet which is far more comfortable than the old heavy bedspreads. Please note if you are particular about pillows bring your own as the only pillows available are bulky & uncomfortable. Robert at Housekeeping searched the resort for a different one but was unable to locate any. (We went to a local store & bought one each)! The blocks being some 30 years old and mainly wooden, have an old fashioned feel about them and the two bedroom units do not have a 'lock out' facility so they can feel cozy when full. That said they are delightful and very homely. There are 3 large flat screen TVs. Wi-fi is $20 for the week.

A nice touch is the gift of banana bread on arrival in the unit. Housekeeping check every day to see if anything is needed and a mid-week clean is scheduled.

There was a serious power cut for the whole village area during our second week but the deli continued to provide breakfast and hot coffee.

The ski shop are always helpful and a mid week tune up or wax is a reasonable price (hot wax $15).

Grocery stores are situated at Stateline about 6 miles from the Ridge. There is a choice of several with Safeway and Raley's being the easiest to get to. (Get a Safeway loyalty card as it will save quite a bit on the shopping).

Overall, The Ridge is highly recommended and although it is well away from the Casinos it is ideal for skiing and the shuttles ensure that you do not have to drive back up the hill after an evening out.

Room Tip: Email ahead & request a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greylady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Ridge Tahoe was great. We were in the Tower building and had a beautiful two bedroom, full kitchen, living room, balcony. Lots of room! The property is quite aways up the hill...seemed like a half hour to go down or get back up but the continuous shuttles made it very convenient. We rented a car from Reno airport which was pretty expensive. Looking back we wouldn't do that next time. We would just hire a cab one time to drive us from the grocery store. We used the shuttle all week. The gondola was easy to walk to, easy to operate, very convenient. Skiing was awesome. Not sure if I would return to this property, would rather stay closer to town, but that's the only reason. Gambling was fun in the evenings!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 924sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a timeshare facility - we own space in two separate buildings - The Plaza overlooking Carson Valley with spectacular views; and, Naegle. The Plaza has 2 bedroom units with a lock-out so you can have a one bedroom suite, or a one bedroom with microwave/refrigerator. The Naegle is a 2 bedroom with no lockout - so it is always 2 bedrooms. This venue is located at 7,800 feet elevation and offers access to Heavenly Ski Resort via a funincular to the Stagecoach Lift. They also offer free shuttle service to other Heavenly lift sites. The City offers an houly free shuttle to the Casinos in South Lake - good to use when roads are icy and 4-wheel/chains required. The units are comfortable with sleep number beds in the Plaza, nice fireplaces, well equipped kitchens, and housekeeping service once during your week stay. Additional housekeeping service is available for a charge. There is a small store on site for grocery items - but not fully stocked. The deli is open daily. The on site restaurant is seldom open. There is a bar on site also. This is not a "hotel" - really more timeshare style. Bring chains or 4-wheel in winter months.

Room Tip: Valley View from Plaza Building, if possible. Lake View from other buildings may be possible also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bagpipemarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

In this day and age what hotel doesn't offer A/ C in your room! Our room was over 80 degrees and we were told to use a fan in the closet! Really! Rude service and terrible accommodations. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kschick19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked two nights in a deluxe room this past February and theses are the problems we faced:

- Yes the hotel is located with easy access to the back side of heavenly mountain but getting to the shopping area is 15/20 min car ride or shuttle ride. If you want to be in the midst of the excitement then this place is not for you. They have one dining option which is far from satisfactory. you'd think with being so far from the village, you'd have a few more options available for the guests.

- Our Deluxe room didn't have a thermostat, it was freezing when we first arrived. When we called the front desk, we were told that temperature adjustment was in the guest room next door! are you kidding me! what if the next door thought the temp was just fine - this is extremely inconvenient. Luckily there was no body in the room next us for the first night. But of course they turned up the temperature then it got to hot - do i really have to call the front desk and wait for someone to adjust the temperature?

- In addition to the two items above, the second day the room next door got occupied with a family who had very loud children. The walls didn't block any of the noise.

By the middle of the second day, we were over it and decided to leave a day early. When i went to check out at 8 PM the front desk didn't care to ask why I was leaving a day early even though they commented that it was wired that i was checking out so late.

As you can see i was already frustrated and i was going to keep all the above to myself instead of writing a negative review. But then a few weeks later I notice a substantial charge on my credit card that was not accounted for. I have called the accounting dept several times and left Ben several messages concerning this charge. I have not heard back yet.

This hotel obviously does not care about customer satisfaction - i will not stay here again nor will I ever recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
764 reviews
3.1 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,498 reviews
3.0 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
3.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Tahoe

Property: The Ridge Tahoe
Address: 400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ridge Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge Tahoe sits high atop the Sierra's at 7,300 feet above sea level. Views are of the Carson Valley some 3,000 feet below and of the mountains. The property is spread out over 11 acres and connects with Heavenly Valley's Nevada, Stagecoach Lodge. Our on-site skier express lift provides free transportation directly to the stagecoach lift. Shuttle service is provided at no charge to and from the casino's in Stateline. Our property offers two bedroom suites, sleeping 6-8, one bedroom suites, sleeping four and deluxe hotel units, sleeping 2-4 guests. All two and one bedroom suites have full kitchens and fireplaces. Our 45,000 sq. feet clubhouse is the center piece of the resort where guests can enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Spa, Recreation, dining, deli, market place, concierge services, business center, full fitness center, 4 tennis courts (one in-door), two swimming pools (one in-door), BBQ's, Ping pong, full kids club program, guided hikes, rock climbing, snow shoeing and much more! The best part of the Ridge Tahoe is our people, we care very much about our guests and their vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Ridge Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Ridge Tahoe Hotel Lake
The Ridge Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing