We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Family Tahoe Ski Trip/Outstanding Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ridge Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ridge Tahoe
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Tahoe Ski Trip/Outstanding Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in the Cascade building which overlooks one of many ski lifts to Heavenly Ski Resort.
The price was extremely reasonable and the accomodations outstanding. The one bedroom condo included a full size kitchen furnished with appliances and utensils, dining table which seats eight. Living room with fireplace and large window overlooking mountain views; two sofas which turn into queen size beds and a flat screen t.v. with surround sound. The bedroom had a private balcany and flat screen t.v. and sleep number bed. The bathroom was exremely spacious with two doors. One entry from the bedroom and the other from a hall leading to the front door. Two sinks, a shower and seperate jacuzzi tub! Washer and dryer are free on a seperate floor just bring your own laundry soap. The property has its own shuttle service to take you to town, casinos and ski lift. It even has a new gondola from the registration desk down to Stagecoach ski lift at Heavenly. The property includes a ski shop where I purchased new googles and helmet in addition to having my skis tuned. There are resturants, family activities and outdoor pool and jacuzzis. It was home away from home perched atop a hill with fantastic views. This was my first ski trip to Tahoe and I will return again. The property is a time share and owners make sure their units are up to par.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank double070girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    241
    82
    61
    39
See reviews for
259
199
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We are owners at the Ridge in the Cascades 2 bedroom. We really enjoy the large bedrooms and love the Sleep Number Beds. The bathrooms in these units are larger than most timeshares I have stayed at and I love the separate shower and bathtub as well as the Jacuzzi tub in the Master bathroom.

The second bedroom has a couch which is a Sofa Sleeper and its so comfortable to sit on to watch the Flat Screen TV. I love the audio system with radio, cd as well as the DVD player. There is a mini fridge and microwave as well as a table to sit on whether to work on the laptop or just have a midnight snack.

The full kitchen and comfortable living room with sofa bed, flatscreen tv and fireplace makes for a perfect week.

Did I mention its easy to get to the Knoll pool and lobby by taking the elevator up to the bridge. Its about a 3 minute walk to the Knoll Pool with Spa and about a 5 minute walk up a steep hill to the main lodge. If your tired they will call the shuttle which comes quickly and will drive you inside the garage.

I love the fitness center, main pool and spa as well as the spas located on the top of the Cascades building with their Sauna. The Sauna and Steam Room in the Fitness Center makes it so luxurious.

With the free Blue Go Shuttle down to the Casinos and the private gondola to Heavenly makes for a perfect location.

We love the Great Bear Restaurant and the prices and service are great. We came back from a vacation to a 4 star Timeshare Resort and paid double for a dinner where the entrees were small. This timeshare resort had smaller units and their sofa beds and King Beds were no where near as comfortable than those at the Ridge. The deli has awesome burritos and other breakfast items at reasonable costs.

I love how the Gift Shop has complimentary coffee from a local retailer and the gifts and other items you may need are reasonably priced.

You would be pressed to find King Beds with the Sleep Number Feature.

We love the staff at the front desk and the concierge. Everyone here is so friendly especially Tommy. Everyone makes you feel welcomed. I had the opportunity to give feedback to Mr. Garrison who was so responsive and really takes pride in the way his guests are treated.

The views are amazing and you can't imagine how good you've got it until you stayed here. You would be pressed to find another property that is well-maintained and is in a pristine location.

Please disregard the negative reviews because I feel they are the "one night" people who would most likely not return or who are not familiar with how to request a good unit.

We look forward to returning in June for our week. The bonus time is an added bonus where owners can rent additional leftover time at rates much lower than the rack rates. The Day Use feature is also great. Each owner gets a photo id card which allows you to arrive early stay late or come just for the day if you for some reason cannot book at the resort due to a sell-out.

Room Tip: Be sure to request your room far in advance along with your smoking preferences. The Cascades is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Ridge Resort as a base for weekend skiing after snagging an internet special. We had stayed before in the "plaza" building. The Ridge has several different buildings. The Peak is a much older building. Although renovated the building is not nearly as nice as the other buildings and a good 0.25 mile (far to walk in 10 F) to the other amenities such as the hot tub. Check in was a problem. The guard house sent us to the main registration building instead of the auxiliary building for the peak. When we checked in, the vouchers for lift tickets and breakfast were not in our packet. The manager was stressed but patient. She wanted us to wait and return around 8 or 9 am to get the vouchers which would put us late on the slopes. Eventually she refunded the cost of the lift ticket vouchers. The room was nicely remodeled but be careful which building you are in. The full kitchen in the one bedroom suite was mini-sized but adequate for cooking for 2. The furnace was not working well and did not raise the heat above 62 but the bed was warm. There is a lift within walking distance if you are skiing at Heavenly. Overall the Ridge resorts is good but make sure you know exactly where you are staying and what is included. There may be better values available.

Room Tip: Make sure you id which building you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiker-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our first visit to Tahoe was a delight for many reasons. Heavenly ski resort is an exciting 2 state ski experience with great snow and photo perfect views. Our lodging at the Ridge was comfortable and conveinent. We stayed in the one bedroom condo "The Plaza" building with two parking garages and walking distance from a small flight of stairs to your free ski shuttle bus and blue bus into the village. They have one lift access(Stagecoach) close by this property that connects to all others. Our accomodations were very clean and appointed with every need for our ski vacation. Yes, there is a hair dryer. The kitchen was a bit dated but well equipped and in great condition. The living room was large (flat screen too) and gas fireplace very easy to use. Four stars for the sleep number bed however the pillow were horrible. NOTE TO MANAGEMENT: get new pillows! We were situated on the ground floor; very conveinent but we would not open our drapes because of the less than private views of parking and walkways. I would ask for upper level units so you can have some privacy and nice scenery.The staff was always helpful and attentive. I would give this place another go. Heavenly Resort is really heavenly and the entire Tahoe area is too.

Room Tip: At The Plaza:Avoid rooms on the lower floors unless your room has views into Carson Valley. Upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAPx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights as regular hotel guests (not timeshare owners) in a package that included "3rd night free/2-day lift tickets for two". Here are my impressions:

PROS:
-Private resort gondola to the Stagecoach lift. If you are there to ski, this is awesome.
-Jacuzzi-jet bathtub in our room. If you are there to ski, this also is awesome.
-Free BlueGo bus from the resort into town and to the Heavenly Village gondola
-On-site ski rental ($$$ than in-town, but you're paying for convenience - just make sure you ask for regular performance skis, not pricier demos)
-The pizza from the Deli was big enough for dinner and 2 breakfasts for two people
-Mini-fridge and microwave in the room
-Romantic gas fireplace
-Beautiful views of the Nevada-side canyon

CONS:
-No coffeemaker in our room, not even packets of instant to heat up in the microwave. Which means if you prefer coffee in your room before facing the day, you have to trek down to the deli and buy it at resort prices.
-No travel-sized shampoos/conditioners provided, only soap - even though this (and the coffee maker) is an amenity provided by every motel from La Jolla to Bar Harbor....
-No personal climate control in the room - the automatic heat setting makes the air very dry, so run your shower to get moisture in the air or you will wake up in the middle of the night overheated.
-The Hungry Bear restaurant advertised on their website is only open Thursday through Sunday nights, and nowhere does it say that until you are physically there looking at the menu placard; we arrived on a Monday and left on a Thursday morning, and so only had either their Deli or to go into town. We were looking forward to a nice restaurant experience we didn't have to travel to, and were disappointed.
-My husband left a message for the concierge trying to confirm shuttle service to the gondola; the call was never returned by any staffer, and when he went down to the lobby at 10am, the concierge desk was empty, even though the ski lifts open at 9am.
-The resort upgraded their computer system between the time we booked and when we arrived several weeks later; our reservation number was completely changed, and they almost couldn't find us or our lift tickets in the system.

BE AWARE:
The door locks that use those magnetized cards are powered by batteries; our door's batteries failed, and my husband got locked out of the room when his keycard didn't work, and the front desk's replacement keycard also didn't work. The front desk had to call technicians, who needed two trips to fix the door and our keycards.
Noise travels easily between rooms, and there doesn't seem to be a "Quiet Time" policy posted. Our room adjoined a suite next door via a locked door, and the piercing voices of the small children of the couple next door came through loud and clear at both 10:15pm and 8am. My husband is a light sleeper, and even the smack of the complimentary paper against our door at 6am woke him up.
If you take the shuttle from the resort down into Stateline but elect to take a taxi back (or have to), it'll run you about $23 (as of time of this writing).

On the whole, we had a terrific time skiing, but were not completely satisfied with the hotel's amenities; the next time we go to Tahoe, we will explore other places to stay, since there are so many offering discount packages with lift tickets included.

Room Tip: Tower Building: the 3rd floor is the garage and 4th is the lobby floor, so pick 5th floor and higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NapaWifelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family of four (kids 7, 10) enjoyed The Ridge property during our last stay over winter vacation. The rooms were spacious, clean, well kept and had all we needed for a comfortable stay. The location was great if you want to ski at Heavenly, especially the Stagecoach/Nevada side. The only complaint we had was the ski in/ski out feature which was a big bust. It was faster to drive to the convenient Stagecoach parking lot, than walk or wait for shuttle. The steep stairs down were enough to wear all of us out before we started. The shuttle ran frequently and the parking garages were open and convenient. During the snow the plow trucks were working full time. We usually stay at Timberlodge and this was a very nice alternative. I would stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of ski lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our stay at the Ridge Tahoe was part of a large group trip. As I did none of the planning, I had no expectations, but was very pleasantly surprised when I opened the door to our suite in the Cascade building. The living space which includes an open (and fully stocked) kitchen and dining room is large, the bedroom is on the smaller side (not that it matters), and the bathroom is huge and includes a large jacuzzi tub.
If you plan to ski at Heavenly, the hotel is perfectly located. We cross country skiied, so unfortunately we needed to get down to the lake and felt stuck without a car. Each trip entailed about a $25/one way cab ride.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venustar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
3.1 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 2,365 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
4.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Tahoe

Property: The Ridge Tahoe
Address: 400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ridge Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge Tahoe sits high atop the Sierra's at 7,300 feet above sea level. Views are of the Carson Valley some 3,000 feet below and of the mountains. The property is spread out over 11 acres and connects with Heavenly Valley's Nevada, Stagecoach Lodge. Our on-site skier express lift provides free transportation directly to the stagecoach lift. Shuttle service is provided at no charge to and from the casino's in Stateline. Our property offers two bedroom suites, sleeping 6-8, one bedroom suites, sleeping four and deluxe hotel units, sleeping 2-4 guests. All two and one bedroom suites have full kitchens and fireplaces. Our 45,000 sq. feet clubhouse is the center piece of the resort where guests can enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Spa, Recreation, dining, deli, market place, concierge services, business center, full fitness center, 4 tennis courts (one in-door), two swimming pools (one in-door), BBQ's, Ping pong, full kids club program, guided hikes, rock climbing, snow shoeing and much more! The best part of the Ridge Tahoe is our people, we care very much about our guests and their vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Ridge Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Ridge Tahoe Hotel Lake
The Ridge Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing