We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort!”
Review of The Ridge Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ridge Tahoe
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort!”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Nothing but Amazing. If You plan to ski in Heavenly this is definitelly a place to stay! Lift is just steps from the resort. Beautiful Views on Mountains and Valley. Room was specious and very clean. Just Beautiful. This is so far my best mountain Ski Resort I have ever stayed. Not sure how are other 3 buildings but Plaza Tahoe that I stayed is definitelly a place for Your next vacations!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nash076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    263
    88
    69
    41
See reviews for
289
221
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband and I spend a great vacation week here last year. We were lucky enough to return this year and have enjoyed ourselves again. The location is perfect if you want to ski Heavenly. They've put in a little Gondola for guests only and it shoots you right down the Stagecoach lift. The rooms are beautiful and there is at least one hot tub in every building. Great fun!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLJKDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Ridge Tahoe is a nice resort. It sits right off the slopes of Heavenly, in Stateline, NV. The rooms are HUGE (Naegle Buildings) and the service is great. It's a nice place to stay. I do recommend it...with that being said, I'm not a fan of Vail Properties at all...wherever they go, the prices go up a lot and the service drops off...ski resorts lose their personal/family touch.

Unfortunately, Vail now owns Heavenly, North Star, and now Kirkwood in the Tahoe region...Kirkwood USED to be my favorite place in Tahoe, but I won't be going back now that Vail owns it...just bouight it for 18 million dollars cash....honestly, it's like the giant gobbling up all the smaller places and making them incredibly expensive. Vail (CO) is now $105.00 a day to ski...are you kidding me...for Colorado ice, eh, uh, I mean snow...look for prices to go up in Tahoe...Vail Properties is also NOT military friendly and they do not discount much for seniors...I'll stop here, but, it's safe to say I'll be avoiding any Vail Properties ski resort...

If you decide to ski at Alpine Meadows, Squaw, Sierra at Tahoe, Kirkwood (my favorite in Tahoe...too bad it just got sold), you'll have about a 10 minute ride just to get down from Ridge Tahoe to the bottom...then about an hour drive to these resorts...this makes it incredibly inconvenient to stay at The Ridge unless you are going to ski Heavenly, and only Heavenly.

If you do stay at The Ridge, go to the Hungry Bear...it is a really good restaurant that is very reasonable and has great food!

Room Tip: Get the newly upgraded rooms...much, much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connoisseurus_Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Nice view and rooms.Travelling to ridge hotel is a great experiance and we can come through snow while travelling to hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kranthikumari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Clean nice room....furniture getting to be dated looking....beautiful view and very quiet 6th floor room. TV dated also, altho many channels available and excellent reception

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayway11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_400, General Manager at The Ridge Tahoe, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Just wanted to take a minute to say thank you for your and others reviews. We truly appreciate your feedback. I've noticed a number of posts advising people to request a unit in either the Tower or the Naegle buildings which is good advise as they have received major renovation over the past couple of years. We are excited about our up coming renovations as well. Our Plaza building which is the largest building on property and the building with the most valley view units will undergo a multi-million dollar renovation beginning in the Spring of next year. The kitchens and bathrooms will be completely renovated and all furniture will be replaced as well. A few other tips - The Cascade building on property was also renovated in 2010. The cascade contains our largest units 1,200 sq. ft - 1,500 sq. ft. For those looking for extreme value and for quick trips staying for short stays, try out the Ridge Crest which is a sister property. All one bedroom units, newly renovated in 2011. While it is not on the Ridge Property it is less than a 1/2 mile away, free shuttles running all day to and from the Ridge and Stagecoach Ski Lodge. Ridge Crest will provide you a very, very good rate! Try it out.

Thanks again to all of you for taking the time to post your vacation expereinces, again these are appreciated and helpful to us. We hope to see you back at The Ridge or Ridge Crest soon! We have some fresh powder on it's way this week so we look forward to a beautiful weekend here in Lake Tahoe.

Sincerely,
Dan Garrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We arrived at The Ridge not really knowing what to expect! But found the property a treat for a family of 7..... We came to ski and enjoy Lake Tahoe and did just that the week from 27feb12 thru 03Mar12 just happen to be the best snow this season. Starting off with the ski rental on site are top notch and excellent customer service would not recomend traveling off site for better deal. Very good rental rates and right at your door step. The check in was smooth and all very helpful on all activities as well how to get around. We had a 4x4 so this helps during heavy snow. Other wise the Ridge has plenty of transport apportion.
The flat/appartment a little out dated on the comfort features but all in all just ok. We will be back.

Room Tip: I would say on the Stagcoach side of the mountain!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose6Ranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redwood city
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We arrived on a Saturday night around 10pm, check in was smooth and easy. (Note - I had friends arrive later on in the week and they were caught in the middle of a storm so didn't arrive until after midnight, the front desk was closed, so they had to check in with security, this can be a little disconcerting after being exhausted from a drive.) It snowed the following day, so we just played in the snow, went to the gym, and had a massage (if you like a stronger massage ask for Anna). Blissful, the next day we headed to Heavenly. The Ridge has a new gondola type of people mover so it takes you to the entrance of Stagecoach! Perfect! The next few days we spent around the resort taking Snowshoeing excursions (if you have never went snowshoeing it is a MUST!) it was beautiful and the guide was very nice just encouraging us to have fun and explore. My husband and some of our friends took a tennis clinic in the Ridge's indoor tennis/basketball "bubble". They really enjoyed it and went away with new techniques. I also utilized the kids club, my children really really really enjoyed going there. They have a morning session for children 3-12, and my children 3,5 and 8 were thoroughly entertained. There are many offerings for kids club that run from Tuesday to Friday, just make sure to reserve spots. Me and my sister-in-law also utilized the morning workouts when we were not on the mountain. We took the boxpilates, stretching classes and normal pilates classes, it was fun and not very crowded.

Our unit was dated. Older utensils and cooking supplies, but seriously those are things that you can work around. We were warm, could cook food, make margaritas and whenever we asked for something from housekeeping they were at our front doors within 30 minutes. So I really cannot complain. We stayed in the Plaza building and had two bedrooms with king beds and a pullout full. Everybody was comfortable. If you like newer facilities ask for buildings 10-12 the Naegel buildings. My friends stayed in these rooms and everything was definitely newer, fridge, washer and dryer, furnishings, and cooking supplies. All in all, despite where you stay it is enjoyable. There are plenty of things to do at the Ridge. Oh and they have a shuttle service that takes you down to the casinos every hour, we didn't utilize it this time, but have on previous trips. The Ridge also has a bar with happy hour specials and I think they have a taco night as well.

Room Tip: Buildings 10-12 "Naegel" buildings are newer. Terrace has large units and Plaza is standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardsr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
3.2 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
3.1 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
3.0 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Tahoe

Property: The Ridge Tahoe
Address: 400 Ridge Club Dr., P.O. Box 5790, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ridge Tahoe 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridge Tahoe sits high atop the Sierra's at 7,300 feet above sea level. Views are of the Carson Valley some 3,000 feet below and of the mountains. The property is spread out over 11 acres and connects with Heavenly Valley's Nevada, Stagecoach Lodge. Our on-site skier express lift provides free transportation directly to the stagecoach lift. Shuttle service is provided at no charge to and from the casino's in Stateline. Our property offers two bedroom suites, sleeping 6-8, one bedroom suites, sleeping four and deluxe hotel units, sleeping 2-4 guests. All two and one bedroom suites have full kitchens and fireplaces. Our 45,000 sq. feet clubhouse is the center piece of the resort where guests can enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Spa, Recreation, dining, deli, market place, concierge services, business center, full fitness center, 4 tennis courts (one in-door), two swimming pools (one in-door), BBQ's, Ping pong, full kids club program, guided hikes, rock climbing, snow shoeing and much more! The best part of the Ridge Tahoe is our people, we care very much about our guests and their vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vacatia, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Ridge Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Ridge Tahoe Hotel Lake
The Ridge Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing