We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai One On

Thai One On
Ranked #31 of 55 Restaurants in Stateline
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
550 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“What a wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

The day was hot and we just didn't want to drive all the way down the mountain for lunch, so we decided to "go locally" to this Thai restaurant that we had regularly passed on earlier trips up and down the mountain. Boy were we glad we did. We had wonderful "lunch specials" ($6.95) which gave us more than plenty enough food, and then we decided that we would try their "special of the day dessert". The spotlighted dessert was "Mango with sticky rice". Sounds crazy, doesn't it? Well, it turned out to be the highlight of the lunch. I could taste the coconut, mango, sesame seeds and sugar in each bite, but with different strengths. Each bite was different and wonderful. Were we to be here longer on this vacation, we would have been returning. If you have the chance, GO.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    27
    5
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
298 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food Great People!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We are new to Tahoe/Stateline and found Thai One On on Yelp...so glad we did! Great food with ample portions at a affordable prices - check this place out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RLAMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Try their pumpkin curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Thai On One is in Nevada on Kingsbury Grade near the California border near Lake Tahoe. The restaurant has excellent food. I was really impressed with their Pad See Ew. At the suggestion of our waiter we tried the pumpkin curry also. It was really tasty. I think the pumpkin curry is a very popular dish at the restaurant. When I am in the Lake Tahoe area again I would want to come to this place again. It seems to have good business with the local clientele. The staff are very friendly also.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Happyvacationer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not worth full price but maybe the lunch special is ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The lunch special of $6.95 ends at 3pm and i got there at 3.30 so i paid $11 for pad see ew. Compared to the great thai we get in Australia, this was missing that gas wok fired taste. The noodles did not even look wok fried. The flavor resembled pad see ew but it did not leave me wanting to guzzle it all down. 4 large pieces of broccoli were on the side. I agree with some of the other reviews that this is just average. I would not go there expecting great thai but if you can only afford 6.95 for lunch than i guess it may be ok. Definitely not worth the normal prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We weren't sure what kind of Thai food Tahoe would offer, but this place actually delivered. I had red curry chicken and it was delicious. Decently priced and generous portions. Everyone in my group seemed to enjoy theirs as well (pumpkin curry with tofu and chicken and green curry with chicken). Service was very good and attentive too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpug2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai One On also viewed

Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Zephyr Cove, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Thai One On? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing