We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms 2 bathrooms in each rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Beach, FL
2 reviews
“Great rooms 2 bathrooms in each rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

I love staying at this casino, it is very spacious, within walking distance to the heavenly Gondola and "de pais de resitance"(probably spelling it wrong) 2 BATHROOMS! One with a bath and the other with a shower - the closet is spacious, and a beautiful view. The room was clean and continuously well maintained, the ski rental shop is in the hotel and the bellhop will hold your skis and poles. Excellent stay, had a wonderful time. Kudos to Harrah's Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RainloverPalmBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    723
    259
    88
    63
See reviews for
521
956
98
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

What a dirty old disgusting hotel/casino. Paid for an above tree line room then was put on the 3rd floor had to go back to the front desk for 15 minutes and complain to get moved to the lucky 13th floor. Lucky us it was even a suite from the 60's. Have they not heard of the word "renovation." Remember if you are from out of country and not over 30 to bring your passport as a goverent issued ID is not exceptable. If you have problems and need to talk to the GM of the hotel casino dont wait by the phone 3 days later we are still waiting!! Atleast we know why the employees are so brutal they take after there bosses. What a waste of money never again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

Great rooms. Gambling downstairs. Walking distance from the gondola that takes you to Heavenly Resort. Beautiful scenery. Great food in town.

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
Thank ShaeD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Harrah’s is in a good location, about 2 blocks from the gondola to Heavenly.

There is plenty to do in the hotel itself. The spa is very good. Nightlife on the weekends is great. There is a lounge act in the casino on Fridays and Saturdays that is not to be missed. Vex, Harrah’s nightclub opens at 10:30pm on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. This club rivals the best Vegas night spots. VIP patrons are put in the spotlight in stage like booths.

Even on a Saturday night there were $15 blackjack tables to be found. Harrah’s had many unusual games such as 3 card poker and other nontraditional tables. There is a good variety of machines and plenty of video poker.

Other than an arcade and an indoor swimming pool, there is not much to keep the kids occupied. There is a movie theater at Horizon, just a short walk from Harvey’s/Harrah’s.
Harvey’s is connected to Harrah’s via an underground tunnel. In-between the two hotels is Cabo Wabo. Sunday nights there are packed. They bring in international DJs and the crowed looked to be a mix of locals and tourists.

Inside Harvey’s you will find a scaled down Hard Rock Café and a couple other eateries. Harvey’s did not seem to be nearly as lively as Harrah’s.

Friday Station on the 18th floor of Harrah’s has good steaks. Portions here are large. The buffet, also on the 18th floor was ok for breakfast and dinner.

The gym is two treadmills and some dumbbells in a 300sf room.

Internet access is $10.95 per day per device.

There is a very limited selection of beers in the hotel bars. Light beer drinkers have two choices. The wine throughout the hotel was pretty bad. We found a grocery store down the street and kept wine in the room.

There is a Starbucks and a well stocked gift shop in the lobby. The gift shop has a better variety of beer than the bars in the hotel, clifbars and just about every other necessity.

Skiing Heavenly – Heavenly is just a walk and a gondola ride away. This is not (in my opinion) a place for beginners. If you are going to ski Heavenly it is best to rent your equipment at the gondola. There are at least two rental establishments. Not knowing better, we rented our skis online from a shop in Harrah’s and ended up carrying all the equipment to the gondola. Additionally, the lockers fill up early on busy weekends.

Skiing Sierra – Sierra Tahoe is (again, in my opinion) a much better family skiing option. It is a 30 minute drive from Harrah’s. There are plenty of green, blue and black slopes. You can rent your skis at the bottom of the slope. These people have their act together. Four of us had equipment on and were headed to the lift in about 18 minutes with no previous reservation. Returning the equipment took less than 5 minutes. You can leave your boots in their shop. There is only one ski rental shop at the mountain. 360 BBQ at the top of the mountain is a good place to eat.

Getting around – Many may disagree with me but I would not recommend driving. Snow comes quickly and in large quantities. You could get lucky, but be prepared to put chains on your tires on the side of the road. If you are going to rent a car, ask if there is something available with studs on the tires.

The drive from the Reno airport to South Lake Tahoe is 80 minutes. Limos charge by the hour and charge for round trip when you are traveling one way. You are paying for the car to return to its starting point.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rcullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

The gambling area looks old, like 1970's Vegas. When I first arrived my sheets had tons of random black hairs in them and I'm a blond. The towels were very old and smelled badly, not mention they had strings hanging off of them. The TV's seem old and out of date. I got ready and geared up to go to the indoor pool which was very gloomy, dirty and carpet all around the pool. Strange. Who still has carpet around the pool? The spa looks gloomy and old as well. Not to mention the spa is really over priced. Save your money there are pleanty of beautiful cabins and smaller resorts around here that would offer you equally as beautiful of views.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurac1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Harrah's gets an A+ for customer service. Cheaptickets overbooked at another hotel I made a reservation at. It was 2 a.m. after a very snowy drive going 15 miles an hour we show up at Highland Inn and the owner yelled at us because it was late, and was not sorry at all that they didn't have a room for us. He continued to yell in gibberish and refused to help us. I had already booked a night at Harrah's the following evening, so with nowhere else to go we just went there and I asked Leanette at the front desk if she could look up the number for cheaptickets so I could call and get it situated. She allowed us to check in at 3 a.m. for the room I had booked for the following evening and did not charge any extra fee.

There are his and her bathrooms which really made things easy and convenient. The only bad thing I would say is the TVs are VERY out of date and if you are paying upwards of $300 for a room I would think plasma TVs would be in the room. But it really didn't affect my trip I didn't come to South Lake to watch TV.

Thank you Harrah's! Leanette deserves a bonus and if everyone in the service industry had her customer service etiquette, traveling would be so hassle free.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nature Coast - FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

We had a great time in November! My third time there and can't wait till the next trip. Staff was wonderful. Though there are alot of events for young adults, we seniors have a ball too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catavante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Property: Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Address: 15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stateline
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
#1 Green Hotel in Stateline
#1 Casino Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Harrah's Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Hotel Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing