We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfy Hotel right on imaginary stateline”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice and comfy Hotel right on imaginary stateline”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My friend and Myself stayed for two nights from 3rd to 5th April, 2014. Our trip to South Lake Tahoe was quick getaway before an educational conference in Anaheim. Having travelled 17 hrs non stop flight to LAX and after 8 hrs drive to South Lake Tahoe, we were looking for comfortable stay at Harrah's which was pre-booked. It did not disappoint us. Before I made the booking, I had read reviews in trip advisor of this hotel as well as other nearby hotels. The reviews of this hotel were mixed and among the four star hotels in south lake Tahoe the price of this hotel was very reasonable. The check in was smooth and quick and we were given neat and clean and quite spacious room on the 8th floor with a partial view of the lake, city and the mountains. One of the unique feature of the room which I have not seen in any hotel I had stayed in different countries is that it has two full size bathrooms. Apart from this, there are so many mirrors some of them full size both inside the room as well as in the bathroom that it can give complex to people who need to shed some extra fat. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable and illumination inside the room was quite right. The furniture and carpet were little bit dated but quite ok. The Hotel has a casino along with restaurants in the ground and mezzanine floors. Also, it has Starbucks near the reception. The Gandola to Heavenly ski resort is about 5 min walk from the hotel and hence it is better to park the car in the hotel itself while visiting Heavenly Ski Resort or Shopping Area. Fastfood Majors such as Burger King, Subway, etc are also in this area. As the Hotel is located in the state of Nevada and when we step out of one of extreme left hotel entrances, we immediately step into the state of California. Overall I would certainly stay in this hotel as apart from being an excellent hotel in a very good location, after dark one can spend some time in the hotel casino, restaurant, window shopping, etc compared to most of the other nearby hotels which do not offer any activity after dark.

Room Tip: Hotel on the higher floor with lake view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sekerdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,579
    1,016
    359
    121
    108
See reviews for
832
1,376
168
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at Harrah's from 3/26/14 to 3/30/14. Hotel is dated but clean enough. The problem I had was after my 2nd night I had bug bites in between my fingers and on my neck and back. I went skiing so thought it could be related to my gloves or clothes I was wearing so did not give it another thought. Some one told me the bites on my hand looked like bed bug bites so I looked a little further into it and sure enough my bites matched all most every picture of bed bug bites on the internet. I called the hotel told the front desk about it. Said they should not rent out that room until having it checked and made a complaint with security. Some one from risk management was suppose to call me back the next day but did not. I called and left a few messages but could not get a call back from the company. A third party company did call be back a couple days after that and tell me they where looking into it. After a couple weeks I called the corporate # and made another complaint. Then got a call back 20 minutes later. They said they checked the room and everything was ok. Trust me these where BED BUG BITES! I was in room 1104 so don't stay in that room. Bed bugs are one thing anyone can bring them to a hotel but BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ANOTHER! This was a serious issue (at least to me) and they could care less. I would not stay here again and recommend you do not. If something does happen while you are there COULD CARE LESS. Chances are you will be fine but why risk it, STAY SOME WHERE ELSE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Josh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed a few weeks back, 2 nights. The room was spacious and clean. We really enjoyed the 2 bathrooms and I wish more hotels did that. The furniture was dated, however, it was just fine. We found the bed to be way too firm for us and uncomfortable. Not the best water pressure either, but that is normal for most hotels.
The staff was friendly and courteous. The casino was not too busy and we felt the cocktail service was slow to nothing at times. The machines were pretty tight overall.
Overall, I would stay there again without hesitation. I would only try the bed first.
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTimesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukalani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel was OK, but I felt like they were constantly after my money--not a pleasant feeling! Having 2 bathrooms was nice, but the furnishing were not 4 star--the carpet was worn. It was OK, (other than having 2 bathrooms) not luxurious. The refrigerator was stocked with their mini-bar stuff, so we couldn't even put a bottle of our own water in there, and if we took the stuff out, there was a $20 restocking fee, even if we didn't use anything. (See picture attached)

However, the view from our room of the snow capped mountains was beautiful. The casino was smoke filled, and rather small. We walked under the road to Harveys, and their casino seemed larger. No one was rude, but no one was really friendly, either.

One nice feature was that each set of 2 entrance doors to the room was behind a double door you could close off, so it was sort of private, and there was a doorbell on each room! The bath towels were large & fluffy. But the hand lotion they stocked in the bathrooms was TERRIBLE-left my hands dry & white! The climate was very dry-I'm used to humidity, so I went to a nearby store and bought some good lotion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We've just stayed here - March 2014 - and for ninety dollars got a great room, with a nice lounge area and two bathrooms, plus a wonderful view. We were on the fourteenth floor. It was snowing outside, but the air con was effective and quiet. The casino was OK, ditto the hair salon in the basement. Pain in butt only having one device allowed on the wi fi without extra charging though. Buffet on the 18th floor if you want to eat yourself into a coma. Didn't try the other restaurants. Tahoe is nice, especially if you want to get out and ski. I didn't, I needed to work, and this place worked well for me. Would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolville, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Harrah's at Lake Tahoe is in a great location - close to the gondola for skiing / snowboarding and close to shops, restaurants, and ski rental areas. The Casino was a rocking place (esp on Friday night!) but the room itself was quiet. The view was amazing. The double bathrooms were perfect for the two of us! That is a great idea that I wish more hotels would incorporate. What sets this hotel apart is the constant 'we are going to charge you' mentality!!They charge for wifi in your room - there is free in the lobby but having to go to the lobby and jump on the Starbucks non-secured wifi was a real pain in the backside! Also the TV - it automatically went to the 'pay for view' section, not the free TV, and it was much too easy to accidentally click on a pay for view selection when you were trying to change to free TV.. Really? Do you guys not think you are making enough at the slot machines and crap tables? Another hint - tell them you need a refridgerator for medications and you will get a little one free (otherwise there is a charge). And do NOT even lift something out of the room service 'fridge or you will pay a HUGE price. Also, ask for a room humidifier (free) to help with the lack of humidity.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diveydivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I'm torn here to give 3 or 4 stars but leaned back based solely on their wi-fi internet policy alone which was the straw that broke my four star ratings' back.

What I liked:
Location is great, walking distance to the gondola, gambling is fine and could always find a table to play craps or bj. Love the fact that the casino's cashier is centrally located, easily accessible AND they even cash your sports betting tickets...who knew?
I stayed in a 2 queen (SMoking-they still have these?) room that included two bathrooms, great plus when staying with a roommate or spouse who likes to hog the bathroom amenities. The room was well decorated and quite updated compared to the rest of the hotel. The smoke didn't bother me after the first night as the hotel in general was worse air quality than the smoking room we had. Loved using the couch to hang out in. Nightclub Peek was good.
What I didn't like:
The food court is an abomination, skip at all costs unless you're hammered and need something for sustenance (even then I would avoid). Go down to the Lucky Beaver for a burger, great great spot and good people. The hotel itself is outdated and the ceilings are seemingly lower in the casino than the other hotels which gives it a cramped feel and the smoke seems to linger in the main area. The sportsbook is over at Harveys, Harrah's doesnt have one. The resort charge of $20 per day gets you wi-fi on ONE device, if you connect more than one device you get dinged with a $10.95 fee per day (who has only one device anymore?).
Tips quickly:
-Make sure you get the double bathroom room, its worth a little extra if necessary.
-Eat outside of the hotel, venture to the Beaver or one of the other spots off the little mini strip.
-Complain about the wifi policy (if enough of us do it then maybe they'll change it)
-Don't argue with the pit bosses here during graveyard shifts, they seem to dislike their jobs (or their hours) and are too quick to bite back;
-free parking
-enjoy the dancing right off the main casino floor, always lively in evening, good people watching

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ESQTimesTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.2 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
710 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Property: Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Address: 15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449-9818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
#1 Green Hotel in Stateline
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stateline
#1 Casino Hotel in Stateline
#1 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Hotel Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing