We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel, bad casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel, bad casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I would rate the hotel 4.5 stars. I stayed in an executive room on the 12th floor and it has spacious, renovated and had 2 bathrooms. There were only 2 of us but I could see if a family were staying, the two bathrooms would be great for getting started in the am. The bathrooms were not renovated but each has a shower/tub in addition to sink and toilet. Great views of the lake and mountatin.

My minor tips to management would be: (i) don't charge for the water and coffee and if you do, make it very obvious there is a charge, (ii) the 32" TV is small and (iii) update the bathrooms.

Friday Station steakhouse is good. Pretty pricey but great view and service. If you have a player's card, they knock off a couple dollars from the bill. Corkage is $20 but if you buy a bottle ask and they often will waive the corkage fee. They will decant and serve wine in appropriate stemware.

Casino is substandard. There are not many tables and it can get crowded. Also, too many 6:5 backjack, no surrender and double only on 10 or 11. There are some tables wth better rules but not open in during the day. Also lots of people who don't know how to play. They do have a separate pit at night with attractive scantily clad dealers which is fun but again with the bad rules.

All in all, I would definitely stay here and eat at Friday Station but I recommend skipping the casino.

Room Tip: I think a higher floor room is worth it as the views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    761
    274
    93
    71
See reviews for
572
1,008
109
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a great stay. Suites are a perfect size. Plenty of room. Love the fact that there are two bathrooms in every room. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. EVERY staff member that we passed by smiled and said hello. They also have a wonderful weekend buffet with beautiful views!

Room Tip: Either side are great. One side faces Heavenly Valley and the other faces the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 420sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Needed one night stay before we could check into our TS condo at Heavenly. Was surprised by the scratch/beat up looking furniture and worn carpet in our room 1008. It was at one time a nice room but needs an update. It was a ADA compliant room even though we did not need one or request one. Has two separate lavatories, one with a step in shower and one with a roll-in shower. Closet, etc. was set up for that too. Large room but seemed like it was missing a love-seat or couch by the window.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TallTex_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutter, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We made reservations through Orbitz and got an incredible mid-week price for a spacious room with his and her bathrooms! We had a great view of the Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountains. I highly recommend this for a mid-week get away. We watched the Oscars in the hotel room and then purchased all the Oscar nominated movies we had not seen yet. It was very fun catching up on some great movies in the comfort a beautiful room with a view while sharing a bottle of wine with sweaty. We will definitely do this again.

Room Tip: You want rooms over 9 stories for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCountryWineTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at Harrah's while skiing. Check-in went smooth and our room was wonderful. The room had two completely separate bathrooms!! That was something my wife and I had not experienced in a hotel before and by the end of our week long stay we loved it!!! The hotel is located within walking distance to the Heavenly Resort, shopping areas and restaurants. It is also connected to Harvey's hotel across the street by an underground tunnel. They are both owned by the same company. It is almost like have two hotels for the price of one. Harrah's had a great buffet on the 18th floor that overlooked the lake. All the staff was very helpful and made you feel appreciated. We enjoyed the casino and the price of our stay was an excellent value. I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again on my next visit!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just returned from Harrah's Lake Tahoe February 19-23, 2013. We had
taken a very early flight out of Atlanta and arrived in Reno around
11:45 AM... We rented a Jeep because they were calling for heavy snow
all day the day we arrived (however not to happen) but did snow a
little over night.

When we arrive at the hotel around 2:00 PM the desk clerk who was very
nice informed us the room was not ready but took my cell number and
called in a little over hour. So we enjoyed a few cocktails at one
of the bars and played a little video poker. Roger was the bartender
and was super cool.

(Yes they have a 13th floor) Stayed in an executive room #1323 King
Room it was beautifully decorated, The living area had a lounge area
with a nice large couch with a large window with wood blinds with black
out curtains the best part we had a million dollar view of the snowy
mountains and the beautiful lake... The bed had very nice bedding and
great pillows and was comfortable. There was a beverage center "mini
bar" also had a small fridge, however the items offered in the mini
bar were very high for a cup of in the room coffee would have been
$6.00 The room also has two bathroom area's each with a toilet, one
with a shower and the other with a very small tub but they both were
very clean. Housecleaning was above average and each employee very
friendly.

Room service was very good took less than 20 minutes for food to arrive
and friendly staff. Had breakfast one morning in the cafe food was
okay but friendly staff. Made reservations for sunset at Friday's
Station Steak & Seafood Grill of the 18th floor beautiful view of Lake
Tahoe. Food was excellent I had the Seafood Broil, hubby had New York
Steak.

We enjoyed the casino even though luck was not to be. Would recommend
the hotel for all ages.
We look forward to going back maybe in June.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGeorgiaPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Perfect stay! The room is veeeery nice! Comfortable, spacious and clean. The best thing: it has 2 bathrooms and a huge closet!!!! Really amazing! The staff is friendly. Free parking at the open parking lot. CVS pharmacy right on the corner. Very cheap: just US$ 90 per night. Would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank carollauzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Property: Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Address: 15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449-9818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Stateline
#1 Green Hotel in Stateline
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
#1 Spa Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harrah's Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Hotel Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing