We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harrahs Lake Tahoe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Torrance, California
2 reviews
“Harrahs Lake Tahoe”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just came back from four night stay over the holidays.

Pros: Location, walking distance to shopping, Gondolas, movie theater, restaurants,, etc Rooms are large and have two bathrooms, and mostly modern (except for the worn looking carpets and poorly insulated windows).

Cons: Many, the place is crowded, run-down, can't breath in the casino, limited and expensive choice of restaurants (also crowded), no lobby or anywhere else to relax other than the smokey casino. The front desk was understaffed, disinterested, unfriendly and some downright rude, and they don't have enough valets. If you forget to turn on the do not disturb light, housekeeping will wake you up before 9 am (8:30 at our room) to do cleaning. They don't give you enough towels so we had to ask for more every day - assuming you can get housekeeping to answer the phone. If you have a problem with your room, which we did, don't expect the front desk staff to go out of their way to help you.

If you get a good price, I would recommend staying at the Embassy Suites next door, or if you can afford it, the Marriott.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeplace123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,661
    1,055
    370
    128
    114
See reviews for
880
1,436
170
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (997)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I had slightly higher expectations or at least hopes for Harrahs. The pros are its proximity to Heavenly Gondola and some parts of the old school style. Also I have to say the service is done with a smile and quite efficiently which makes a mediocre place somewhat pleasant. We checked into our non smoking executive double queen room. We had to sign a waiver about smoking (we don't) and arrived to a very smoky smelling room with ash trays and matches. I didn't feel like switching rooms so they used an ozone machine while we went out. It seemed slightly better but I'm in bed now and smelling smoke and wishing I had switched. I'm sensitive and its gross. The casino is cool in its old style but lots of drunk unsavory types. We went to the arcade which had good games but was a pig sty. Trash all over the place. Ate at pizza place in Harvey's that was also quite unkempt (trash all over the place, tables not bussed). So for me, it's kind of a turnoff. The room is large and reasonably nice. We were told they were just renovated. I'm not sure what is new--the bathrooms have some peeling plaster and wallpaper. Maybe newer carpet? Beds are fine furniture is scuffed so that's not new. We do have free coffee in the executive room and two free waters. Not sure what else I paid extra for. Room is clean but not perfectly so. Bathroom floor had some stuff on it (not cleaned entirely). In sum, for $300/nt its way overpriced. Maybe an off time for $100/ night would be a good value. The years of recession is showing in this part of Tahoe and at Harrahs for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanfran58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Harrah's features large comfortable rooms with sitting area, two bathrooms, and floor to ceiling views. Definitely a cut above the sister property, Harvey's, the hotel still offers great weekday rates, and discounts and comps with the players card (Total Rewards). The casino is great fun, staff much friendlier than Vegas. There's a good buffet with incredible views on the top floor. My only nitpick is the rooms and common areas starting to be in a need of a little touch-up; beds and pillows a little soft. Still, it's my place to stay in beautiful Tahoe.

Room Tip: Best views on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

It has an arcade. It has stores. That what makes it great. The spa was Excellent!! I loved the food.
People were friendly. I would go back again. I don't gamble, but it looks fun. The pool area excellent!!!!! The rooms were nice and clean. I would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Harrah's Lake Tahoe was once the legend on Tahoe's South Shore. It still has some great amenities. Quality entertainment in the showroom, fun lounge acts like Arty. I have to say though that when I saw the 4 diamond award on the wall in the lobby, I just kinda shook my head. Back in the day, 4 stars for Harrahs would have been a step down. Today, the hotel is losing it's luster and is really a 3 star hotel.

You can see what made the hotel great once. There are touches of the modern mountain elegance still visible. There used to be these great carved wood panels in the elevators. Those have now been replaced with cheap looking laminate and mirrors. While Friday's Station retains it's elegance and unbelievably gorgeous views, the buffet is now reminiscent of the Hometown Buffet.

The rooms are sadly not up to 4 star standards. The his and hers bathrooms are still there. The bed is fine, but nothing special. The headboard console is straight out of the 70's. There's a coffee maker in the room, but the coffee itself is a mini-bar item. The TV is an outdated picture the tv. The furnishings feel like a Hilton Garden Inn. The shower has a poorly designed and cheap looking dispenser system for the shampoo and soap. I guess this beast of a dispenser might have been considered a better looking option than the cheap soaps offered in the bath.

Bottom line, this hotel deserves to be better, but it's clear that there has not been the investment to keep it up to date and cheap shortcuts that leave the experience less than the hotel's long earned reputation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mbinsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Review of the room: Two queen executive.

Room was fabulous and clean. Really like the fact that the room had two bathrooms. One with a standin shower and the other with a tub/shower. We've stayed at Harveys and even though the room at Harveys we stayed at was remodeled, Harrahs is the place to stay. From some of the conversations I've had with the dealers at both casino/hotels, a lot more work had been done with Harrahs because that is where they bring the "whales".

You can sometimes find some great deals. I highly recommend paying the extra few bucks and staying here rather than the motels. And yes, I've stayed at the motels on the strip. Have posted reviews on them as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sm5486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Harrah's Lake Tahoe Hotel and Casino is a nice place to be if you plan to explore the South Lake Tahoe area. It is geographically located on the California and Nevada stateline, in fact just go outside the hotel door and you'll see the marker separating the two states. The hotel room and the bathrooms where we stayed was spacious with extra pull-out bed for your guest. If your plan for the Winter is to ski, the hotel is located near the ski resorts. And if your plan is to go there during the Summer time, Lake Tahoe is a nice place where you can rent a canoe or small boats to explore the Lake Tahoe from the water side. All attractions are in close proximity to Harrah's Hotel and Casino!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelersConnexion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.2 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
737 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Property: Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Address: 15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449-9818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stateline
#1 Casino Hotel in Stateline
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
#1 Spa Hotel in Stateline
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Hotel Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing