We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fun and Comfortable Place to Stay in Tahoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fun and Comfortable Place to Stay in Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Harrah's features large comfortable rooms with sitting area, two bathrooms, and floor to ceiling views. Definitely a cut above the sister property, Harvey's, the hotel still offers great weekday rates, and discounts and comps with the players card (Total Rewards). The casino is great fun, staff much friendlier than Vegas. There's a good buffet with incredible views on the top floor. My only nitpick is the rooms and common areas starting to be in a need of a little touch-up; beds and pillows a little soft. Still, it's my place to stay in beautiful Tahoe.

Room Tip: Best views on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    719
    257
    88
    63
See reviews for
515
953
98
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It has an arcade. It has stores. That what makes it great. The spa was Excellent!! I loved the food.
People were friendly. I would go back again. I don't gamble, but it looks fun. The pool area excellent!!!!! The rooms were nice and clean. I would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Harrah's Lake Tahoe was once the legend on Tahoe's South Shore. It still has some great amenities. Quality entertainment in the showroom, fun lounge acts like Arty. I have to say though that when I saw the 4 diamond award on the wall in the lobby, I just kinda shook my head. Back in the day, 4 stars for Harrahs would have been a step down. Today, the hotel is losing it's luster and is really a 3 star hotel.

You can see what made the hotel great once. There are touches of the modern mountain elegance still visible. There used to be these great carved wood panels in the elevators. Those have now been replaced with cheap looking laminate and mirrors. While Friday's Station retains it's elegance and unbelievably gorgeous views, the buffet is now reminiscent of the Hometown Buffet.

The rooms are sadly not up to 4 star standards. The his and hers bathrooms are still there. The bed is fine, but nothing special. The headboard console is straight out of the 70's. There's a coffee maker in the room, but the coffee itself is a mini-bar item. The TV is an outdated picture the tv. The furnishings feel like a Hilton Garden Inn. The shower has a poorly designed and cheap looking dispenser system for the shampoo and soap. I guess this beast of a dispenser might have been considered a better looking option than the cheap soaps offered in the bath.

Bottom line, this hotel deserves to be better, but it's clear that there has not been the investment to keep it up to date and cheap shortcuts that leave the experience less than the hotel's long earned reputation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mbinsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Review of the room: Two queen executive.

Room was fabulous and clean. Really like the fact that the room had two bathrooms. One with a standin shower and the other with a tub/shower. We've stayed at Harveys and even though the room at Harveys we stayed at was remodeled, Harrahs is the place to stay. From some of the conversations I've had with the dealers at both casino/hotels, a lot more work had been done with Harrahs because that is where they bring the "whales".

You can sometimes find some great deals. I highly recommend paying the extra few bucks and staying here rather than the motels. And yes, I've stayed at the motels on the strip. Have posted reviews on them as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sm5486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Harrah's Lake Tahoe Hotel and Casino is a nice place to be if you plan to explore the South Lake Tahoe area. It is geographically located on the California and Nevada stateline, in fact just go outside the hotel door and you'll see the marker separating the two states. The hotel room and the bathrooms where we stayed was spacious with extra pull-out bed for your guest. If your plan for the Winter is to ski, the hotel is located near the ski resorts. And if your plan is to go there during the Summer time, Lake Tahoe is a nice place where you can rent a canoe or small boats to explore the Lake Tahoe from the water side. All attractions are in close proximity to Harrah's Hotel and Casino!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelersConnexion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Harrahs is a great place to stay in Lake Tahoe. We were greeted by friendly staff that helped us check into our room on the 13th floor (Yes! They have a 13th floor). The Executive Room had plenty of space with modern decor (tv could use updating) and the double bathroom was a welcomed bonus. The bed was comfortable and allowed us to hibernate after gambling and dancing to the tunes of DJ Arty the Party in the casino. We had such a great time, that we plan to visit again in a few months.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed a Sunday and Monday in late October. The hotel is just off the lake and is the largest casino hotel in Stateline. We had a room on the 5th floor that was large, clean, and comfortable, but dated. The room had two bathrooms that was somewhat over kill. One bath had walk in shower. We had a Lake View room but the 5th floor is too low to get much lake view, I suggest 7 th floor or higher.

Overall I liked the hotel. Check-in and check-out were easy, fast, and accurate. The hotel was comfortable, in the middlemof everytjing in Stateline and had plentiful Blackjack tables with fair rules. I stayed using deeply discounted player's club rates so I can't speak to their rates.

We ate at the top floor steak house (Friday Station) and except for the view it was very ordinary and quite expensive.

Room Tip: Select a high floor to get a good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#15 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Lake Tahoe

Property: Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Address: 15 Highway 50, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stateline
#1 Green Hotel in Stateline
#1 Casino Hotel in Stateline
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Harrah's Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harrahs Lake Tahoe Hotel Stateline
Harrahs Hotel Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing