We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat here.”

The Timbers Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Timbers Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Kahle Drive
Transit: The local bus service stops right at our property many times throughout the day.
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't eat here.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I cannot understand all of the positive reviews for this restaurant. There are so many choices in the South Lake Tahoe area, that you really should avoid this restaurant.

To begin with, you don't feel invited to this place. The casino that is located in is rather dingy and dull. So is the restaurant.

The food was average. Some items were decent but others were pretty bad. The tuna on my salad was not a very good cut. It was seared rare but it probably should not have been. My wife's shrimp dinner tasted like it came from a microwave. The spareribs looked pretty good, and so did the sandwiches that some in our party order.

If you really want to try every restaurant in the area, then by all means go here. But, if you are limited on time, look somewhere else.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VickiMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    131
    44
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Dinner House”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Timbers Restaurant has changed. It is still good, but they don't have the Prime Rib Special or the Srimp that they used to have. Theprices are much higher and slower service. A better choice is the Latin Soul Restaurant down stairs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
173 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great food, medium service”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This restaurant is located in a downscale casino in Lake Tahoe. They serve a good breakfast and lunch, and are quite accommodating. This review, however, is for last night's dinner. The experience was highly variable:

SERVICE was slow and inconsistent. The waiter, John, was friendly, but seemed to be going through the motions. The bus boy, Jesus, kept the drinks filled, but again getting extra bread seemed to be beyond the norm and clearing dishes was done inconsistently. Nothing really wrong with either of these waitpeople, but they were not at the top of the game at this meal.

AMBIANCE was mediocre. We had a good view of the motel parking lot and over that view was a view of trees and the lake. However, since it was late afternoon/early evening, the sun was so bright it was hard to get any sense of this view.

FOOD. Wow. This chef can cook. I had pork ribs, which were good but not the best I have ever had. However, they came with corn bread (outstanding), and an apple salad (indescribable, but it really made the dish--it was sweet and tart and a perfect offset to the ribs). My meal started with an adequate green salad.

Other members of our party had a hamburger ("the best I've ever had, and there's even too much meat in it"); french onion soup ("fantastic"); and a wedge salad ("this is excellent. But why did the waiter wait so long to bring my (ordered when I ordered my salad) extra dressing?")

The disappointment was dessert. The creme brulee was a kind of lemony stuff in a small cup. Not up to par.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LagunaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cheap and quick”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Breakfast at Lakeside was okay. They have $4.99 breakfast specials that make this place a draw. I guess you get what you pay for though, as the food was only average.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank em5585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City
Level Contributor
124 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Bad tummies after”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Both of us had really bad tummies during the night after eating at The timbers. We're pretty sure it wasn't caused by anything else, since that's all we ate that evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobbNevadaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Timbers Restaurant also viewed

Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to The Timbers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing