We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What great memories!”

American River Cafe
Ranked #21 of 56 Restaurants in Stateline
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What great memories!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stopped at the American River Cafe recently. My mother used to take my siblings and I here when we would take trips to Tahoe. Still love the trees and the decor inside. Personally recommend the Rueben Sandwich. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    75
    78
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great breakfast food.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We had breakfast and it was really good. The cinnamon French toast was to die for and not overly sweet as you would think. The service was great as well as the coffe. We all know that bas coffee would ruin a good breakfast. Prices are not bad if you take into account it is a resort.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karero99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Over-priced mediocre food. ”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I had the southwest burger. The southwest burger and fries was way overpriced at $13.75. It was supposed to be cooked medium well. It was cooked medium. The southwest burger was advertised as having green chiles on it. I'm sure there were a few green chiles on it, but not enough to really taste them. The meat was a substantial size. The fries were very crispy and wonderful. The service sucked. There's a little waterfall / river thing in the restaurant that I assume is the source of the smell of mold in the air.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overpriced Denny's Food”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Food was average. Portions were medium. Prices were on the high side - $14 for a standard ham and cheese omlet.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ejee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“skip this place”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This place has lots of potential, but they don't utilize it, so it is an over- priced coffee shop. We had breakfast for dinner...2 eggs, toast, hash browns, bacon and water for 3 people...$50.00 + tip for a server that didn't look like she enjoyed being there either...The entire casino is old and tired...but the gift shop is nice

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptowngirlnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American River Cafe also viewed

 
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to American River Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing