We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Mountain tower”
Review of Harveys Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harveys Lake Tahoe
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware of Mountain tower”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We pre-paid for 2 nights and thought we were would get a decent room since it was $300.00 for the 2 nights. (same weekend as Freakers Ball that was across the street) check in was fine, and the front desk was pleasant. Our room was in the mountain tower on the 4th floor. There was an unpleasant odor in the hallway, but we chalked it up to someone smoking in the non-smoking section of the tower. The room was tiny and the furniture was old and tacky. But that wasn't the worst part; The stench! OMG! Of whatever cleaning agent mixed with, cigarettes, spilled drinks, body odor and whatever else was fermenting in the rug and bed linens was wholly disgusting. We immediately called the front desk and requested a room change. The only way we could change is to upgrade (and pay) Needless to say, we had no choice. We moved immediately to the Lake Tower which was luxurious in comparison. But a $20 resort fee for use of fitness room (which was closed and u had to go to harrah's if u wanted to use their fitness room) and spotty wifi is a ripoff.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor in the mountain tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chazel134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    1,021
    481
    162
    152
See reviews for
756
1,289
173
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights, mid-week and the hotel was far from busy. If they had 25% occupancy I would be surprised. Part of that might be their pricing, which was too high for the time we visited. We booked a mid priced room and had a lovely view of the roof and their HVAC units. The price of $69.00 a night would have been reasonable for the time of year, but they add a sneaky fee of $22.60 per night, which they tout as a "resort fee." Quite a joke for the so-called ammenities you get: internet on one (1) device, trip to the gym. etc. Just be honest and say your rate is $91.00 a night. There have been some upgrades to the rooms; carpet, beds & tv, but the wood work and bathrooms are from the late 60's. That being said, everyone from the staff was very polite and helpful during our stay.

Harvey's is in an excellent location, especially for those of us that like to park our cars and see the area on foot. There is a vast amount of shopping and dining, just south of the hotel in Heavenly Village, which makes up for the hotel. While the hotel boasts a Cabo Wabo and Hard Rock, neither is up to the standards of their standalone cohearts. Be aware that when you visit this time of year (mid-October), it is in between seasons. Most of the summer activities (except biking) have stopped and the Heavenly gondola is idle for maintenance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just returned from Harvey's today and not sure why so many are complaining about the rooms. We had room 1408 in the Lake Tower and thought it was nice. Two queens, and two chairs and a table by the large windows overlooking both lake and mountains. Even with two beds the rooms still had plenty of space. Also loved the bathroom with seperate room for shower and bathtub, commode, and vanity. Check in was quick and all employees of the hotel were friendly. I agree the resort fee is a bit steep but I suppose you would pay more just for parking at many properties. We used our Rewards Card so payed only the resort fee. I expected a basement room since it was comp'd but room exceeded my expectations. The only reason for the one star deduction is the casino. Don't expect to win. Unbelievable payouts, but it all fairness, it was no different at Harrahs and MontBleu across the street. Drink service is also bad. On the occasions when someone actually comes by, you may be waiting for about 20 minutes for your drink. This is too long when the machines don't pay enough to keep you sitting at one for more than 5 minutes. Never received our drinks a few times due to the long wait and having to move on to try another machine. Ate breakfast at Cabo in the basement, kinda a weird location. It was alright, but don't expect the thick cuts of bacon than I was looking forward to with breakfast. Had a burger at Hard Rock, not great. Next time we will eat off site.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwilbourn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The room was clean but the beds were sooo uncomfortable!! The bed I was on made such a loud noise it woke me up when i moved. The other bed was so hard lumpy and uncomfortable... was at a conference so it wasn't there for the pleasure of relaxation. The staff was pleasant but the front desk clerk was missing a brain cell or two when we checked in she wanted a credit card even though room was paid for on another credit card..my co worker checked in and said he didn't need a credit card it was charged to a credit card on file. I booked both rooms the same????? When we asked her she was oblivious to what i was asking as well as why 1 covered the deposit and that credit card was in my name??? It was a bit smokey and our room was nonsmoking but definately smelled like smoke called the desk and she said are you sure you didn't smoke in there haha like i said brain cell missing .. :)

Room Tip: The foood in the hotel had a lot to be desired.... Hard Rock hamburgar was soo burnt that I almost c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton
Level Contributor
127 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The location on stateline is right on. The hotel is dated and worn. The rooms are basic at best. You get a bed, a chair and a table. They were clean. There is a hefty resort fee of $23+ for absolutely nothing. You get nothing for the fee to speak of. Wifi - whoopy. It is nothing more than a charge up. It is a Harrahs/Caesars property. If you know anything about them it is cheap and going cheaper because they are virtually going down the tubes financially. The hedge funds are trying to squeze the last dollars out of the properties before they sell them. So, expect very little and you will be happy. The Marriott across the street looked really, really nice. It may be a time share. But, you would want to go there for food and stuff.

Room Tip: There are a lot of different charge ups for the room you choose. Go cheap and you won't be as di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gonefishing85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The room was dated. Clean but very average. I worked at the hotel in the late 70's to early 80's when it was owned by Harvey Gross. He took pride in the hotel. The extra resort charge tacked on when you check in is over $20.00 a night which is a big rip off. I recommend staying somewhere else as you will not be ripped off with the resort fee.Price of room seems excessive without the tacked on fee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrd199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is like an off strip Vegas joint of unspecified vintage that had seen its best days. That said the room we were allocated was well maintained, clean and had a very comfortable King bed. The staff throughout the property were customer focussed polite and helpful. The clientèle during our midweek stay appeared to be predominately of a condition similar to that of the resort. We ate at the Hard Rock and that was fine. There was night time live music in the Cabo Wabo cantina which was entertaining but apparently not to the taste of the resorts coffin dodging customers though the morgue like temperature in the basement bar may also have been a factor. Not bad but not great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
870 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harveys Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harveys Lake Tahoe

Property: Harveys Lake Tahoe
Address: Highway 50 at Stateline Avenue, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stateline
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
#2 Green Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harveys Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 740
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harveys Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harveys Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harveys Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing