We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, fun and good location”
Review of Harveys Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harveys Lake Tahoe
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights during the week for a long weekend ski trip. Not sure what type of room we had, but we were in the new tower with a nice view of the mountains. The hotel/casino is very dated, but also clean and well maintained. If you do stay here, check out the story behind the "1980 bombing of Harveys". It's a very fascinating story! But, it does seem like very little has been updated since they rebuilt. The most frustrating thing about the hotel was that it wasn't very accommodating for skiers. As far as I saw, there was no place to store your skis, except for in your room. It's a little annoying to have to wal through the hotel/casino areas with your boots on and skis on your shoulder. The casino was very dated and somewhat smoky during the busy evenings. We use the valet to park, but parking looked fairly convenient enough.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank savemyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,237)
There are newer reviews for Harveys Lake Tahoe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,633 - 2,639 of 3,237 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at Harvey's in March. The rooms are wonderful, clean, and comfortable. The service is top notch. You won't regret staying at Harvey's! We have stayed there a few times and have stayed in other hotels near- by. Harvey's is clearly the best in Tahoe!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with Lake Tahoe view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benicia94510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

So, if you are going to Tahoe to get away from all the city stuff and reunite with nature, this place is not for you, as it is in no walking distance to any nature, not to the lake, nor to the woods or trails, has pretty much solid concrete around it for at least five long blocks. Do not walk out of the hotel by foot, drive to wherever it is you are going. You'll get an "airplane" view of the lake (very pretty!) from your room if it's on the lake side.

On the other hand, if you feel like "enough with the nature, already" and want some civilization, this place is definitely worth a notice. Sparkling clean rooms, luxurious showers, comfortable beds with nice sheets and soft pillows, breathtaking views (though, no balconies), fast elevators, inspiring gym. Pack up some nice clothes to stroll in through the hotel lounge.

Do not go to the restaurant on the top floor, though, way overpriced. Come, on - 50 dollar entrees for the view? You get the same view from your room, and there are plenty of other nice restaurants around, for half the price.

...the reason I gave the service a 3, is because there were no menus for room service in the rooms, and we had to go downstairs to get a menu, and it took them for ever to give us one (and they wanted it back, too). The cleaning is five stars, though, and so is the check-in/out.

Room Tip: Our room had a great view. (We asked for a great view.)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tell-u-what-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent our honeymoon here many years ago when there was no tower. In March 2013 we paid $ 270 + dollars a night for a Sunday and Monday. The room is worn with no coffee and spectacular view of snow covered mountains. The room is a very comfortable size and I like that there is a table and two chairs in you want room service but it is crazy that there is no possibility for a cup of coffee except for paying for room service or getting dressed to go downstairs to get coffee. The charge for Internet for our two phones and two I pads is $10.95 EACH device. I called the front desk to ask if they really do charge that and the lady at the desk laughed and said YES. The hotel is too tired to get away with a $44 a day charge for Internet. We have wonderful memories of stays here at Harvey's but like other reviews it's hard to miss that the value is not here.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Kathleeenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The upgraded room at Harvey's had lots of space and a great view of the lake. Room was clean, beds comfortable. Casino staff were friendly and competent- carpet in casino needs to be replaced. Nice sportsbook, convenient Starbucks and Cinnabon on premises. Otherwise food at Hard Rock and Cabo Wabo was so-so.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lestermo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is clearly not for everyone. Being a casino, it is fair to say that certain parts of the hotel are distinctly smoky, but aside from this I would highly recommend it.

The service we received was excellent, both by the front desk staff, and the servers in the casino. Due to a slight error on my girlfriend's part, we had arrived a day after our originally booked stay, but thankfully the receptionist proved happy to alter the booking, and we were able to still stay for two nights, without paying any more. A wonderful bonus indeed.

The room was of a decent size, with my girlfriend being a particular fan of the separate bathroom and dressing room. The view across Lake Tahoe was delightful too, and despite being situated above the road, our position on a higher floor shielded us from having to listen to any traffic noise.

The casino downstairs was surprisingly empty, and a worthwhile distraction. Though I would also recommend the dinner buffet at Harrah's across the road. Plus I found considerable amusement in the downstairs arcade.

Overall, I was relatively impressed. The hotel was clearly not the best, but for the price, its location and facilities were marvellous.

Room Tip: Depending on your personal preference, you can opt for either a lake view, or mountain view. Though...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t8zzyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Found a good deal online for a two night midweek stay and booked it. Arrived on a very cold, rain/snow day, but the valet service was top notch, friendly and fast. Checked in at 3pm, greeted warmly be desk staff, but was told room wasn't ready yet. Front desk took my cell number and called me within an hour to tell me room was ready. We wound up in the Lake tower on the 14th floor with spectacular views of the mountains at Heavenly and panorama of Lake Tahoe. The room itself was clean, but definitely dated and a little tired. Tiny nicks in the furniture, worn carpet, slight tears in wallpaper all added to just a slight disappointment with the room, but nothing really worth taking up with the front desk. Our stay was enjoyable, though we all preffered the casino across the street at Harrah's. One annoyance repeated over and over while walking through the casino and getting approached by time share sharks repeatedly inticing us to engage. Not really a big pressure pitch, but just annoying after the first time. We would go back to the hotel especially for the views, but an update and some TLC are definitely needed to the rooms.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank mac1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harveys Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harveys Lake Tahoe

Address: Highway 50 at Stateline Avenue, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stateline
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stateline
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
Price Range: $91 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harveys Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 740
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harveys Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harveys Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harveys Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing