We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What it Used to Be”
Review of Harveys Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harveys Lake Tahoe
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not What it Used to Be”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked a four star hotel on Priceline and got Harvey's hotel. We have stayed at both Harrah's and Harvey's at various times and previously found both to be very nice, with Harrah's being the better of the two. This time we were relegated to a dusty room against the elevators in the oldest section of the hotel. The room was noisy with the sound of the elevator's movements constantly rising and lowering. The TV was located on an opposite wall so far away that it made viewing and hearing difficult from the bed and the remote did not work.. The room appeared to have been something else at one time with track lighting pointing toward the area that now contained only the TV. I found a hair on the bed sheet when I pulled back the cover, adding to the room's discomfort, I called and asked for a new room and was told there were none available until the next day. We did get to move to a cleaner and somewhat better furnished room for the next two nights but I would not call it a four star room either. I know that buying through discount sites sometimes leaves you with less desired rooms but I expected much better based on my previous experience with Harvey's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    1,057
    515
    178
    159
See reviews for
803
1,365
182
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Spent 2 nights at Harvey's in Jan with my 11 year old daughter. First room was old, asked to be moved, and was to updated room. Spent time in hot tub 105, pool 84, both outdoors. Enjoyed. All food at Harrah's/Harvey's is ok, skip the buffet, we didn't enjoy, again, and will be our last stop at the buffet. Value is just not there, unless you get room for free/under 150. Me-Diamond. TR. free room. Still only 3 stars.....

Arcade was fun, American River Cafe was above average

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISLANDbluefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Harveys rooms are in need of a major renovation. We had wall paper peeling off, the bathroom fans screamed so loud you wouldn't want to turn the bathroom lights on because of the noise, the refrigerator didn't work, and the carpet is worn badly. This place is not worth the money. Stay at the Marriott or Embassy Suites if you want nice accommodations.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Cant beat it for value and standard of room. Free valet parking, fast efficient check in. Close to Gondola. When checked into a smoking room by mistake were moved to non-smoking. Nice roof top bar views. Nice pool and spa. Casinos make value hard to beat, which is why they are so popular. Except for if you're like me and hate the depressing gambling environment.... but hey I still booked a room there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gampertons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Harvey's has two towers - the mountain tower and the lake tower. We stayed in a mountain tower room. The mountain tower wing is less expensive, older - small elevators and narrow hallway. The room was very basic - 1 king bed, two chairs, small table, and dresser with a t.v. on top. There is no room safe or coffee maker. Internet access was wireless - $11 per day. The room was a good size (maybe because the furnishings were so sparse) - and it was clean. The bathroom was nice - it looked more updated than the room - marble floor, granite vanity and nice tiled tub/shower - but it had a textured glass door - almost see through - a bit odd. Overall, if you need a basic clean room, then this will work. If you want something nicer, either upgrade to the lake tower or go to Harrahs.

Room Tip: The mountain towers are only 11 stories high - try to get a room as high as you can to get above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kt149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay so we could ski, and gamble. My husband chose upgraded room, but a lower floor since we wouldn't be in the room much. Lower would have been ok but they didn't say blocked view when we booked online either. The room was large, and decor was more updated than others in pictures, but the bathroom didn't match the room updates. Bathroom was in need of upgraded decor and carpet seemed worn more than decor. There were 2 sinks and lots of space with tub and shower. The room was supposed to be a mountain view, but there was a wall blocking our entire view, so I have no idea how they consider it mountain view. They were only half full on the week day we arrived but the weekend portion supposedly was almost fully sold out, so I have to assume that was the reason for no view. There were problems with the elevators and we had to be escorted to use stairs. During our last am there, pipes burst causing the lobby to flood due to extreme cold. That made getting to hotel floors difficult. We had checked out and were planning to shower in the gym. They actually charge $5 per person to shower and use their changing rooms after you check out. That was super cheesy. Casino drink service can be very slow with weak cocktails. The hot tub seemed like it was very old and the water level was low. This could be a much better place with some work. I have stayed at Marriott and I would stay there again and walk the block to the casino next time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocklin
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Of course a casino will offer you discounted rooms to entice you to stay and gamble. I booked a room for my boyfriend and I, which was over $100 at the discounted price, and attempted to add an additional night. Nothing going on in the city; yet, price went higher in 20 minutes of booking.
Rooms are clean, but simple. I'm assuming this is the tower for the "discounted" rooms offered. We tried to enjoy the spa at 9:30, and shockingly they closed at 9pm. Wow....never heard of any spa closing so early, especially in Nevada. Casinos were slow, last time stating here. Stick with Monte Bleu

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harveys Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harveys Lake Tahoe

Property: Harveys Lake Tahoe
Address: Highway 50 at Stateline Avenue, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stateline
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
#2 Green Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harveys Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 740
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harveys Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harveys Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harveys Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing