We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, needs work, terrible blocked view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harveys Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harveys Lake Tahoe
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location, needs work, terrible blocked view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay so we could ski, and gamble. My husband chose upgraded room, but a lower floor since we wouldn't be in the room much. Lower would have been ok but they didn't say blocked view when we booked online either. The room was large, and decor was more updated than others in pictures, but the bathroom didn't match the room updates. Bathroom was in need of upgraded decor and carpet seemed worn more than decor. There were 2 sinks and lots of space with tub and shower. The room was supposed to be a mountain view, but there was a wall blocking our entire view, so I have no idea how they consider it mountain view. They were only half full on the week day we arrived but the weekend portion supposedly was almost fully sold out, so I have to assume that was the reason for no view. There were problems with the elevators and we had to be escorted to use stairs. During our last am there, pipes burst causing the lobby to flood due to extreme cold. That made getting to hotel floors difficult. We had checked out and were planning to shower in the gym. They actually charge $5 per person to shower and use their changing rooms after you check out. That was super cheesy. Casino drink service can be very slow with weak cocktails. The hot tub seemed like it was very old and the water level was low. This could be a much better place with some work. I have stayed at Marriott and I would stay there again and walk the block to the casino next time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    780
    387
    124
    134
See reviews for
524
964
123
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rocklin
Level Contributor
237 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Of course a casino will offer you discounted rooms to entice you to stay and gamble. I booked a room for my boyfriend and I, which was over $100 at the discounted price, and attempted to add an additional night. Nothing going on in the city; yet, price went higher in 20 minutes of booking.
Rooms are clean, but simple. I'm assuming this is the tower for the "discounted" rooms offered. We tried to enjoy the spa at 9:30, and shockingly they closed at 9pm. Wow....never heard of any spa closing so early, especially in Nevada. Casinos were slow, last time stating here. Stick with Monte Bleu

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I didn't realize I left my house keys and camera in my room safe until a few day's after I got home! Called Harvey's housekeeping and got the friendliest person " Esmerelda" on the phone! She found all my stuff! Soooo Happy! Thanks Esmerelda!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed in hotels all around Tahoe and this might be my least favorite. It's just not my cup of tea. If you like to gamble, and ski/board it is walking distance to Gondola and has a lot of casino action. In the summer they have concerts and they have good banquit facilities for corporate meetings.
The Pool is bla and the hot tub is nothing to write home about either. We have had two different rooms here, one updated and with a lake view and one... well... not. Your room can vary wildly so book early and ask.
I have stayed across the street at the Marriott for less, with better service, nicer pool and only thing missing is the casino. If you are not there to Play, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good hotel right by ski mountain. You can walk right to the Gondula.Good food and nice casino. Room was big and bathroom was nice also. Great place for the price and location. Ski rentals were easy right in the hotel........................................................................................................

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winer-diner71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Easy access to heavenly mountain. Great casino and connected to harrahs casino so if you want to eat at different places after youve been to all the resturants in Harvey's just go through the tunnel and you don't have to get ready to go outside in the 20 degree weather since you'll be inside the whole time. We like Harvey's casino a more the harrahs because it wasn't as crowded so it was alot easier to get a spot to play the tables. Minimum table bets on most tables were 5 to 10 dollars while we were there which was nice as well. Heavenly mountain is great but pricey great views of the lake from the mountain. We took the hour drive to north Tahoe to ski diamond peak which was a great mountain also with great views from the top and is now the best small mountain I've been to. Tahoe is now my favorite place to go to in the winter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cory s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I unfortunately got bad rooms - they overlooked the roof of a building with piping and smelled of cigarettes even though I had booked non-smoking and had been led to expect a lake view. After essentially being told "Tough luck" by the hotel staff - I tried to resolve my dissatisfaction by compromise - offering to pay for one upgrade of the two rooms i had booked. The staff, including the manager not only uninterested in resolving the issue, they were very rude about it - telling me they would easily sell out the hotel and make the $25 per room from someone else if i wasn't prepared to pay. Clearly this hotel is more concerned over $25 than ensuring their customers are happy. If you dont mind that the staff are rude, at least do yourself a favor and ensure you book a deluxe room - the standard rooms are sub-standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.1 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 2,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 72 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 8 in Stateline
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harveys Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harveys Lake Tahoe

Property: Harveys Lake Tahoe
Address: Highway 50 at Stateline Avenue, Stateline, NV 89449
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stateline
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harveys Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 740
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harveys Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harveys Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harveys Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing