We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino Hotel, un-personal and not worth it”
Review of Harveys Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harveys Lake Tahoe
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed in hotels all around Tahoe and this might be my least favorite. It's just not my cup of tea. If you like to gamble, and ski/board it is walking distance to Gondola and has a lot of casino action. In the summer they have concerts and they have good banquit facilities for corporate meetings.
The Pool is bla and the hot tub is nothing to write home about either. We have had two different rooms here, one updated and with a lake view and one... well... not. Your room can vary wildly so book early and ask.
I have stayed across the street at the Marriott for less, with better service, nicer pool and only thing missing is the casino. If you are not there to Play, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,743 - 2,749 of 3,323 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good hotel right by ski mountain. You can walk right to the Gondula.Good food and nice casino. Room was big and bathroom was nice also. Great place for the price and location. Ski rentals were easy right in the hotel........................................................................................................

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winer-diner71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I unfortunately got bad rooms - they overlooked the roof of a building with piping and smelled of cigarettes even though I had booked non-smoking and had been led to expect a lake view. After essentially being told "Tough luck" by the hotel staff - I tried to resolve my dissatisfaction by compromise - offering to pay for one upgrade of the two rooms i had booked. The staff, including the manager not only uninterested in resolving the issue, they were very rude about it - telling me they would easily sell out the hotel and make the $25 per room from someone else if i wasn't prepared to pay. Clearly this hotel is more concerned over $25 than ensuring their customers are happy. If you dont mind that the staff are rude, at least do yourself a favor and ensure you book a deluxe room - the standard rooms are sub-standard.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We always stay at Harvey's between Christmas and NYE every year and still love it. First off, you can't beat the Stateline location. Secondly, Harvey's is a stone throw to Heavenly Village where you can take the gondola up to ski/snowboard and where there are plenty of shopping and dining options to choose from. One of our favorites is Fire + Ice; check it out for sure!

While the rooms in the main tower (not mountain tower) are a bit dated with older fixtures and wallpaper, they're pretty spacious with large bathrooms and vanity areas. I especially like that the separate shower has glass a door instead of a curtain. Germaphobes can appreciate that I'm sure. The beds and bedding are nicer than average plus there are in room safes. There is also a desk, small table and flat screen TV.

We absolutely LOVE the outdoor heated pool and hot tub, especially in the winter when its snowing. There is nothing better than sitting outside in the hot tub, looking up at the falling snow and having it evaporate before it hits your face. If you prefer something warmer, Harrah's allows use of their amenities and has an indoor pool and hot tub.

If you're a Total Rewards member, the Diamond Lounge is awesome with free appetizers and adult beverages.

While Harrah's is more upscale than Harvey's, it can sometimes feel like more of a party scene. The casino is busier and there is a night club there. If that is what you're looking for, the properties are connected so you won't have to worry about walking outside in the winter and can easily shuffle back and forth between both.

Of all the years we've been coming to Harvey's, we did have a few setbacks this trip:
1. We could hardly spend any time in the casino because the cigarette smoke was so thick. We don't normally experience this here so we hope it was just a one time flaw.
2. Two of the on duty Total Rewards (Diamond) hosts was neither accommodating nor friendly. I'm sorry to say, but if we're loosing major bucks in a casino it would be nice to not be treated poorly on top of it. While our room may have been comp'd, we definitely paid for it and then some gambling.
3. The valet kid was rude and impatient. This of course translates into making a guest feel like we're taking up his valuable time. In turn, I ended up having to find a bellman to assist with our luggage. He was of course pleasant.

All in all we still love Harvey's and will be back to stay again. We would recommend it to travels visiting South Lake Tahoe.

If you're an experienced ski/snowboarder, make your way over to Kirkwood for the day! The terrain is much more fun than Heavenly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the "California side". I've always thought this was the best pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJandAdice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the looks of it, Harvey's should be a grand hotel and provide a high level "hotel experience."
Unfortunately, despite earnest well meaning employees and service, the hotel just feels like they are nickel and diming the guests for everything.
My room (queen in the old tower) was quite spacious, clean, and functional. But it feels empty. There is no desk but a rickety table that could be used for work. The internet costs $10+/day but is virtually unusable in the evening. Most hotel rooms I've been in have a safe -- this one does not and in order to get one, it requires a $30/day room upgrade.

Want to get a late checkout? You can but it will cost you $30 and allow you to stay until 1300.
It just seems so unfortunate to me -- this place could be grand at a small incremental cost to the management -- I don't understand their approach.

So if you just want a room and don't need to feel at all taken care of -- this place is reasonable.
And yes, free parking is available

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Harveys for two nights on Dec 28 and 29. We are Harrahs players club members and so we were comped for the first night but paid $199 for the second night. When we checked in we were given a room in the "Mountain Tower". I walked into the smallest hotel room I had ever seen, the toilet was running, and the view was a roof of another hotel. I asked the registration desk for a room in the other tower and after talking to the manager, we were told that the hotel was sold out and they did not have another room to offer us. One of the other clerks overheard and said that there were smoking rooms available in newer tower, so we took it. Turns out the room didn't smell too bad and although the room was outdated and needed some work, it was much better than the orginal assigned room. Harvey's and Harrah's both need new carpet in the hotel and casino because the carpets have worn places and are stained and dirty. The slot machines were really tight and we didn't see anyone win anything big. A very disappointing trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake. Don't accept a room in the Mountain Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oualumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Overall I would recommend this property . There are some things you should take into account- while it is a great location , with great views and very close to Heavenly, and it is a relatively inexpensive place to stay for the area -The rooms need updated( although the beds were comfortable with down comforters) it is also a family hotel with LOTS of children and attracts a crowd that comes there to hit the slot machines in the casino downstairs. This is the equivalent of a high rise holiday Inn on a lake with a casino. If you're looking for a big family friendly place this is for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pleilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harveys Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harveys Lake Tahoe

Address: Highway 50 at Stateline Avenue, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stateline
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stateline
Price Range: $90 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harveys Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 740
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harveys Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harveys Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harveys Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing