We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bumped up to average after being assigned new room...”
Review of Harveys Lake Tahoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harveys Lake Tahoe
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 24, 2012

After booking a stay in a premium (remodeled) room, I was informed upon checkin that the room was not available. Instead we were place in a luxury room (not remodeled in ages) on a higher floor. Found luxury room not acceptable; both unpleasant and not clean! Asked multiple times to be relocated before management agreed; moved to premium room after one mysteriously came available. The new "premium" rooms are nice, but it was all too little, too late. My room should have been available upon checkin as per the reservation.
Hotels staff was hit or miss during the two night stay; we received exceptional service from some employees, and abominable service from others (I guess that aspect sort of cancels itself out).
Hotel's common areas were nice, but not always kept clean (i.e. lobby restrooms were dirty and had no toilet paper at 8am on a Saturday).
Plenty of on-site dining, free internet, and free parking were all good positives.
Overall, I would consider staying again if I could be guaranteed a remodeled room; however, in my opinion there are far better accommodations in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a "premium" room - these are the remodeled ones, and they are "night and day...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Advisor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,223)
There are newer reviews for Harveys Lake Tahoe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,780 - 2,786 of 3,223 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife & I stayed there 19-20 April 2012. We thought it was pretty nice. All hotel personnel were helpful & courteous. We had a Lake view room with a good view. The room was quite large. It also had a very large bathroom with 3 separate areas, one for a make-up area, one for the toilet and one with a separate show/tub and sink/counter. The room had a refrigerator, large flat screen tv and coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable. We only ate at the buffet which we thought was very good. The Friday night seafood buffet was excellent. I know that they have a Hard Rock Cafe on-site and a couple of other places. Harvey's & Harrah's are connected by an underground walkway so you don't have to cross the street. We didn't have much luck gambling(slot machines & video poker only)....but hey...its gambling. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishman5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I love weekend getaways n go up to Tahoe a lot. This was the first time we stayed at Harvey's in casino central and it was such a blast! We stayed two nights in the newly renovated tower rooms. The room was gorgeous!! It was huge and all fixtures were brand new. Harvey's was like a kids playground we were running around like 5 year olds all day n night. We did a scenic trail that the concierge recommended that was stunning it was a path to the beach n took us 3 hours. We played in the arcade, we gambled, we walked around for hours. There's so much to see and do the only place we ate at in the hotel was American river cafe a classic American diner. other than that we ate at ihop Chevys one night n went over to raleys for soup and supplies.
Definitely recommend Harvey's you won't regret it. Oh and the steam room and hot tub were awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meenasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

THis spot was nice and for the price it gave me all I need. I loved the rooms, very large. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewesley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This was an enjoyable week end outing in Tahoe. The room was very nice and clean. The only complaint would be the TV has'nt been upgraded to a flat screen yet but all else is fine. The outdoor pool and hot tub are nice.The view from the room on the 12th floor of the lake and mountains is super. Check in and out was easy. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: For agreat view of the lake ask for the highest floor available
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was one of the most depressing places on this Earth. It's dark, has unforgivably low ceilings, and is threadbare in so many areas, I hate even writing this review....it brings back memories! My 18th floor 'executive' room overlooked an abandoned construction sight...dark, uninspired with old lamps and older furniture. I shuttered as I walked barefoot on the carpet...bad idea. Spent three nights in this God forsaken dump...connected by a tunnel to the other dump...Harrah's. Also dark and depressing, with restaurants closed or being remodeled. At least they had Starbucks. The 'cafe' is in the basement, their top floor restaurant at Harrah's was just awful. The 'winter' salad must have come from the beach...sand throughout. Forget the casinos...designed in the 60's!

Room Tip: Stay away...don't even think of staying at either Harveys or Harrah's ....try MontBleu or a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Traveled to South Lake Tahoe over the Easter weekend and stayed in the king-executive room on the 18th floor. The views of Lake Tahoe from our room were spectacular. I found the size of the room to be quite adequate and it was also clean. The room came equipped with a coffee maker and also a fridge. The entire bathroom/ shower/tub/ dressing/toilet area was quite large and i liked that it was all separate and roomy at the same time. The rooms at this level have been updated but not completely remodeled. Although you have new carpet and a flat screen tv the rest of the decor is reminiscent of the 90's. The bed and pillows were OK. The house keeping had refreshed our room thoroughly and everything was freshened when we came back to our room the second day.
The rest of the Hotel was your typical casino. The casino floor was very smoky, and we came back to our rooms smelling of smoke everytime we walked thru the casino. We ate at the Hard Rock cafe and also at the Straw hat pizza, both of which were pretty standard. There is also a Starbucks that serves hot breakfast sandwiches right in the lobby. Very convenient. The Hotel had free valet parking service which we used constantly. The attendants were always very prompt in bringing our car around. There is a charge of 10$ per day for internet use and also a 10$ charge to use the fitness facility and pool. So although we had found a great deal on the hotel website for our room these incremental charges quickly add up.
But the best thing about this hotel is its location. It is very close, about a block away from the Heavenly gondola ride place and all the shops on the South Lake Tahoe main drag. Very easy to walk to it all. We walked down to the shops at Heavenly village a couple of times and were back at the hotel in no time. We were very happy to explore Lake Tahoe during the day and then head back to the Hotel and not again have to step out for drinks and dinner every night, since the hotel had all of these amenities on location and if you wanted to you could use the connecting tunnel to Harrah's casino and hotel and check out the stuff there.
An enjoyable stay and worth the $$$ we spent.

Room Tip: Ask for the odd numbered rooms on the 18th floor. The placement of the bed vis a vis the view is ama...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UmaKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stateline
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
0.2 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harveys Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harveys Lake Tahoe

Address: Highway 50 at Stateline Avenue, Stateline, NV 89449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Stateline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stateline
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stateline
#2 Green Hotel in Stateline
Price Range: $90 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harveys Lake Tahoe 4*
Number of rooms: 740
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harveys Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harveys Lake Tahoe Stateline
Harveys Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Stateline, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing