We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooks' Bar & Deck at Edgewood Tahoe

Brooks' Bar & Deck at Edgewood Tahoe
Reserve with OpenTable
Brooks' Bar & Deck at Edgewood Tahoe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Stateline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $42
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 50
Description: We did it. We redefined classic pub fare with an ambitious menu of our own, served it up with a side of lake views from our sun-drenched deck and topped it off with the lake's most iconic mojito. Brooks' Bar & Deck has taken its place as the premier post-play watering hole in the State of Nevada. Offering great food and an amazing atmosphere to enjoy with friends, Brooks' has become one of South Lake Tahoe's best restaurants that everyone can enjoy. Brooks' was recently selected by the editors of Golf Digest as one of the "Best Golf Pubs," joining an additional 10 other pubs worldwide in famous golfing locations including Pebble Beach, California; Pinehurst, North Carolina; St. Andrews, Scotland; and Doonberg, Ireland. With the majestic snow-capped Sierras in the distance, guests can relax on Brooks' expansive deck and take in the heavenly postcard-like views of the golf course and Lake Tahoe. Located right off Edgewood Tahoe's picturesque 18th hole, this is home to one of the greatest sunsets of the world, and it happens daily! Within, Brooks' feels very much like a sports bar designed by Frank Gehry: sweeping vaulted ceilings, walls of glass windows, a handsome wooden build. Yet the beautiful architecture belies the comfortable feel and attitude. With multiple flatscreen TVs tuned to the biggest games of the day, the bar features a number of quality local brews and a variety of signature cocktails. Casual dining fare, deluxe appetizers and entrees, and sophisticated comfort food all put Brooks' at the top of its class.
L'Ametlla del Valles, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Enjoyed a very special terrace, right by the golf course. Food is very good, fresh & well prepared. Service was friendly and efficient. After a delicious lunch we took an unforgettable stroll by the beach (very clean, sandy, sunny, and surprinsingly just for us!!) A well kept secret place!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatricioGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    74
    21
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
262 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Simple meal with a brilliant view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

It's rare to find a restaurant that has both good food and a beautiful view, so this place is a real treat. The menu is pretty simple, but decently priced for Tahoe (plus, I'd pay just for the view!) In the summer you have to sit out on the balcony. Get there in time to watch the sun set over Lake Tahoe then finish up a glass of wine next to one of their glass fire pits. This place oozes romance, but isn't a stuffy Tahoe locale. It's perfect for us "average Joes" who just want good food and picturesque views to store away in our memory.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
477 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Screwed Up Reviews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

The problem with the reviews for Brooks Bar and Grill at Edgewood is both Brooks and the Edgewood restaurant are being reviewed together on this page. They are two distinctly different restaurants in the same building and need to be reviewed separately. Unfortunately, the reviews are lumped together and no separate page exists for the Edgewood Restaurant even though the menu listed for Brooks is the Edgewood menu. Some reviewers have put the restaurant review on the Edgewood Golf Course page. Someone needs to straighten this all out!
With that all said, we ate at the "Edgewood" tonight and enjoyed our meal. The service was very good and the menus offered good options. For a "high end" restaurant I thought the food was good but definitely not excellent. The food was all well prepared but the sides that accompanied the main food item were lacking. I had corn and fruit side and the there was hardly any that accompanied the fish. The rice was very plain and the carrots very ordinary. Didn't think this was anywhere near the quality of dining experience at either Evans or The Hungry Bear (other top rated restaurants at Tahoe) we have eaten at several times. The presentation was definitely lacking in comparison. We brought our own wine to celebrate a special occasion with friends and the corking fee was $25 which was rather on the high side. The dessert was again tasty but nothing I haven't had at less expensive restaurants. We had a salad and soup that were probably the most noticeable items on the menu. Again, very good food but only average for this expensive a restaurant. The views were nice and ambiance was nice. The noise levels were on the high side when the restaurant was filled.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice light menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We had traveled the day and were looking for something light and close to Harvey's but not in a casino. Beautiful views if the lake and golf course. Food and margaritas were good.

Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, ca
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“WOW! Great place for drinks, fabulous view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our hotel recommended this place, and we're so glad we went. It's the bar at the golf course, BEAUTIFUL building, fabulous view - wonderful staff. We sat at the bar - had a few reasonably priced draft beers, which came with little carafes of mixed nuts, which were quite nice. We ordered the mezze (sp?) platter & it was wonderful - huge portions & really good. We did not look at the menu at the restaurant, but heard it's quite nice, but rather snazzy/fancy. Certainly worth going for a beer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ftlauderdalenative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooks' Bar & Deck at Edgewood Tahoe also viewed

Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Stateline, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Brooks' Bar & Deck at Edgewood Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing