We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Village Inn & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Western Village Inn & Casino
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are from NJ and attended a family members wedding. We stayed at Western Village for a week. The room was large and clean with a beautiful view of the marina with a very nice walking path around it. The help from the maid to the front desk were very helpful. A short walk across the parking lot to the casino is where the fun begins. Three great restaurants lots of bars and excellent gaming with friendly dealers. Just off rt. 80 and a couple miles from Reno. When we go back would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forrest V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV_guest_service, Guest Relations Manager at Western Village Inn & Casino, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We're happy you liked your room, restaurants and friendly staff.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    154
    68
    21
    23
See reviews for
93
166
42
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were at Western Village one night and everything was great. The staff is terrific, the food was excellent and the room was nice. Would definitely stay there anytime we are in the Reno/Sparks area. We were heading north from Phoenix to Seattle and this location was perfect for getting back on I-80 and exiting on to 395 N. Our only issue was the casino go really smoky as the night wore one but that was to be expected.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the lake side we did and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV_guest_service, Guest Relations Manager at Western Village Inn & Casino, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the food and your hotel room.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is right off the freeway and just a few miles from downtown Reno. There is a small lake at the back of the hotel with walking paths. The room was very large. The furnture looked like it may have been from the 1980s but it was in good condition, and the room was otherwise updated and very clean. Check-in is inside the casino, but it is just inside the front door. The signage was not obvious. There are fast food restaurants and gas stations within walking distance. The hallway was not vacuumed during our stay as it was dirty when we arrived and dirty when we departed. The hotel must allow pets as I saw quite a few dogs. I spent a week in Nevada and California and this hotel was by far the best value during my trip. The room was a great bargain given the low rate and nice spacious room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV_guest_service, Public Relations Manager at Western Village Inn & Casino, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Were happy you liked the convenience of our location and that you were pleased with your room being nice and spacious.

We appreciate the feedback regarding our hotel to be the best value during your trip.

Currently we are working on upgrading our rooms, I was able to take a sneak peak last week and was very impressed with the new upgrades! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We made our reservations through Booking.com. The Hotel had 8.4 rating. It was actually that good and a little better if you toss in the Marine Lake walking trail. Our room faced the Marina.
It was large , clean and comfortable . We were on the the 3rd floor. If you have pets( we do not)
this is a real find. The Casino and Restaurants are in a separate building but very close by.
All our meals were excellent from breakfast to dinner. Prices are fair and the service excellent.
If you plan on going to Reno check this Hotel out in Sparks. It's a winner , even if we weren't.
Easy to get to other Casinos and Hotels from this location.

Room Tip: Upper level facing the Marina .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV_guest_service, Guest Relations Manager at Western Village Inn & Casino, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate you staying with us while visiting Reno.

I'm happy you found our hotel to be clean & comfortable and that you enjoyed our food & service.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleonville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We'd been to the Casino here many times, a favorite for locals. Great fun! This is a casino that we've enjoyed much, much more than downtown Reno.

One night in late May, we stayed at the hotel on the property to get an early start the next a.m. for a drive down to Las Vegas. Very clean room and bathroom. We were to stay based on comp points...just didn't understand why the credit card was to be charged $50 on a temporary basis. (Need to check the statement to see if the credit promised by registration clerk went through.) That didn't seem necessary as it was strictly a comp award stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudieKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV_guest_service, Public Relations Manager at Western Village Inn & Casino, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. Were happy you enjoyed your stay on the way to Vegas with us!

In response to the $50 hold on your credit card, Room deposits are handled the same at all hotels wether it is a comped room or not. We authorize your credit card for the deposit at check in but do not hard charge this amount unless you have additional room charges or any incidentals. We process the release of your deposit upon check out. This release is sent to your credit institution on the same day. Your bank will release them back to you depending on their particular schedules. For most of the major banks this is done quickly, however, certain banks may take a few more days to release this authorization. I hope this answers your question.

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

These nice things stood out for us on our recent stay....Affordable, approx. $50.00 nightly, unheard of! What a deal! Our room was large, clean, and well appointed (smelled a tiny bit smokey)...And it was Pet friendly, which we need....And the best part was being very close to the super nice Marina/Park.....Locals and visitors were walking, biking, roller blading, etc. etc...Greatly enjoying the warm spring weather...There also is a water "dog park" on the south side of the lake...Our Yellow Lab really liked that!

The actual hotel building isn't much to look at from the outside...All pavement, sandwiched between two parking lots with virtually no landscaping...And guests had to go inside the stinky, smokey casino to check in....(We are not casino goers).....We chose not eat at any of their restaurants either because they all smelled of smoke...Went to close by "Lumberjacks" instead...We would only stay here again during mild weather, so we could take advantage of the Park...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV_guest_service, Guest Relations Manager at Western Village Inn & Casino, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Were pleased that you found our rooms to be affordable, clean and pet friendly. With the location being right next to the Sparks Marina, it really is a nice asset to our property.

We have been working on a smoke abatement system to help with the smell of the smoke. Although no system is perfect, we are working on updating the equipment to eliminate as much smoke as possible.

We hope to see you again soon.

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked 3 rooms for 8 days.. the rooms were great until the last night there. The main door to get into the hotel was broken.. after getting it open a tiny bit, my 3 year old put his finger in the door and it got stuck. after screams and lots of crying we ran to our room to get a towell and bandaids.. both my room and my mom and dads room would not allow us to get in. We had to run across the parking lot to the casino with blood everywhere. We complained about the door being broken and our keys (4 of them) not working. They told us it was because it was magnetic and that is why they didn't work. How could 4 different keys being carried by 4 different people magically not work? after explaining to them about my son and cleaning up all of the blood they told us there was nothing they could do to help us. they told us that the hotel and casino are owned by different people they could not give us anything for the horrible expierence we had. I WILL NeVEr go back to this place. because of a bad door, we were finally able to get my son to sleep after 4 hours of this mess.. Not compassionate at all for there mistakes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emeraldmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV_guest_service, Guest Relations Manager at Western Village Inn & Casino, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your son, I hope he is o.k.

The mechanical problems with the door have been fixed.

I sincerely hope that the compensation you were given was satisfactory in spite of the traumatic event.

Sincerely,
Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparks
2.6 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
4.3 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
4.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#7 of 17 in Sparks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.3 mi away
Nugget Casino Resort
Nugget Casino Resort
#2 of 17 in Sparks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Village Inn & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Village Inn & Casino

Property: Western Village Inn & Casino
Address: 815 Nichols Blvd., Sparks, NV 89434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Sparks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Village Inn & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Western Village Inn & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Village Hotel Sparks
Western Village Inn And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing