We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great for Casino fans” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Village Inn & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Western Village Inn & Casino
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
275 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good value, great for Casino fans”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

If you like Casino style decor, thins is the place for you. (I don't but we needed a hotel in Sparks to visit some friends and this one was well located for that.). I checked several other standard chain hotels (including some I had stayed in before) but all were more expensive and in less convenient locations. For us, the great advantage of this one was it's proximity to Sparks Marina which afforded a great place to walk around. (The Reno/Sparks area used to be such a desert because of its lack of recreational and cultural amenities but over the 30 years that we have been visiting it has added a number of attractions, including a wonderful river walk in Reno, the Sparks Marina, and the Reno Art Museum.). The hotels associated with casinos tend to be garish but often fairly good deals price wise. This one certainly was - a good sized room (although the bathroom was a little small) for 3 nights cost about $50 less per night that several other chain motels I checked. No free breakfast, but for $50 you can get a pretty good breakfast for two people! One reason we stayed there was that we intended to take a group to dinner at the Steak house that is part of the complex. It had been described by my Reno friends as a "local secret." Unfortunately we didn't try to make a reservation until the day we wanted to eat, and. It was already fully booked - suggesting that the locals are right.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV_guest_service, Guest Relations Manager at Western Village Inn & Casino, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you found our property to be affordable and conveniently located. I'm sorry to hear that you were unable to experience what your Reno friends talked about. I have to agree that our Steakhouse is truly a "local secret" and everyone who experiences it loves the food, staff and all the extra touches we provide.

Thank you for sharing your comments, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    154
    68
    21
    23
See reviews for
93
166
42
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montara, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I needed a hotel in Sparks and this one came up as a "Peppermill owned" property, and since we always stay at the Peppermill downtown Reno we thought this must be good.

Pictures are deceiving!!!! I could not have been more wrong. We asked for a non-smoking room, but as soon as we entered we bombarded by the smell of stale smoke. It was like someone had just smoked a pack in there and did not open any windows or turn on a fan. GROSS! You can tell they tried to mask the smell with a very strong air freshener.

Bottom line - I could not breathe! It was horrible and I could not wait to leave the next morning. Thank GOD they had a window I could open, which helped. My advice is DO NOT STAY HERE, it's cheap for a reason. Furnishings are VERY OLD, it's run down, even though they did update the beds, the rest of the hotel is old, worn and dated.

Restaurant was average, Casino is small and a little out dated as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV_guest_service, Guest Relations Manager at Western Village Inn & Casino, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Debbie S ~

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize that your room was not fresh smelling. Please don't hesitate to come back to the front desk if there's a problem.

We are in the process of installing state of the art smoke abatement technology to help with this issue. Also we are working on some refurbishing of the rooms.

We do hope that in the future you would consider giving us another try.

Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A very nice steak house: but only second best in Reno/Sparks area IMHO.
Start with the bread, 3 different types to enjoy, appetizer next: Scallops wrapped with bacon, prepared nice but not much taste in the scallops They do a Great Job servicing soup and Salad, The entire was served and the potato was just left sitting on the plate with the condiments sitting on the side, waiting for something to happen. I was disappointed.
The meat was of good quality; wish they would use a Prime grade.
Overall it is very good, I will dine there again, maybe they will read this and give the potato half the attention they give the rest of their meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Clean room with comfortable bed. Mini fridge, no microwave. Dated decor. Flat screen TV with about 35 channels. Easy parking with elevator. Casino short walk across parking lot. Lots of fast food nearby

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My experience at this hotel was very, very nice. I was there for 10 days and found the staff, from the registration desks to the cleaning staff to the restaurant servers to the casino workers to be excellent, friendly, and helpful. My room was very nice and clean with a refrigerator. I especially appreciated having a place to keep fruit and drinks. The room also had free wifi and free coffee. I mention the coffee because I did not have this in the next place I stayed. This hotel is in walking distance to local restaurants, convenience store, and bank. I will add that the bed was extremely comfortable, quite the opposite of another review of this hotel. They offer free shuttle service to downtown and the public bus stop is directly across the street from the property. Finally, the food was very good and inexpensive. Although local gamblers were coming and going at all hours, I always felt safe in this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I was offered a room with a view of the marina, so I suppose you could request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fritz6233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I went with a beautiful person and had a great time, food was great and we won some money, sometimes the experience is the best part, I would go back if I could take the same person, plus there is an awesome sporting store and the other side of the lake

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dagwood11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Front desk is near casino and the place is filled with smoke but the room was descent and I like that there was a walking trail nearby. The hotel also had a restaurant with good waitstaff and good food at a reasonable price defintiely would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparks
2.6 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
4.3 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
4.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#6 of 17 in Sparks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.3 mi away
Nugget Casino Resort
Nugget Casino Resort
#2 of 17 in Sparks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Village Inn & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Village Inn & Casino

Property: Western Village Inn & Casino
Address: 815 Nichols Blvd., Sparks, NV 89434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Sparks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Village Inn & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Western Village Inn & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Village Hotel Sparks
Western Village Inn And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing