We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, awesome oyster shooters!”

John A's Oyster Bar
Ranked #7 of 260 Restaurants in Sparks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome oyster shooters!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The service was very good as was the food but the oyster shooters were great. We tried them all but my favorite was the bloody Mary shooter. My wife enjoyed the tequila shooter.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cruisnfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    60
    25
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wingfield springs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“My favorite place in Sparks!!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I wish I could come here every day, or at least once a week. I always want to try something new but I'm addicted to the pan roast. It's the best!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nocondom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“RELIABLE”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have been been eating here for the last fifteen years. Quality has not changed, you can relay on them. In this day and age that's something to say.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!! The Best!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were in Reno for 4 nights and we ate here 6 times, the pan roasts, stews, louie's were just too good, I had a combination pan roast 6 times they were so good, sfresh shrimp, oysters and crab in a large bowl with cream and other delicious ingredients, it made my day. We hit this place as soon as we got off the plane around 1 pm and I went back that evening for another, the next day we met some old friends and they bought us lunch and I had another pan roast. I have never experienced this type of food preparation other than New York, and its been a part of John Asquaga's Nugget for as long as I can remember. We are back home now and I'm ready to fly back to Reno just for a pan roast! Try this place out if you like seafood.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stormy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pan Roast To Die For”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Go to the bar and watch them make this sinful dish. Careful, you will be hooked.
My favorite is the crab.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hofler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to John A's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing