We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Denny's”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #10 of 259 Restaurants in Sparks
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orange County
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Better than Denny's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The service was good. The food was pleantiful. It was servicable but I would not go out of my way to eat there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    49
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
309 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Better than Reno Black Bear Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Never had a problem here and the staff are always friendly and helpful. Plus it's right off the I-80 (for travelers) and the marina (for locals).

The food is, as it always is at a Black Bear, good and plentiful. Breakfast is served all day and they have a good kids menu too (which has a lot of activities on it to keep them busy).

It's rare to have a bad experience at one of these, but I have had one or two at the Reno location. Overall, it is still good, but I prefer this Sparks one.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CoyoteIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“deserves way more than the 2 stars in the AAA tourbook”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We found the BB Diner the AAA tourbook which describes the restaurant nicely. However, a two star rating does not begin to describe the enthusiastic and competent service, the large and imaginative menu, and the quality of the prepared dishes.
The house salad was so fresh you'd think the vegetable garden was behind the restaurant. The main course, bacon-wrapped stuffed chicken, was excellent and the sauteed veggies were crisp and tasty.
This is a great place to eat -- for a reasonable price

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfg981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We use-to go all the time, but we had an issue with one of the managers about a hair in the food. When I SAY ALL THE TIME - WE WENT ALL THE TIME. The food is always great - I dont' think we ever had a bad dish -breakfast, lunch, or dinner, late-night milk-shakes and a pie -- until the hair. My hair is very short and my husband does not have any, but she accused us of planting a very long hair in the French Dip -- she said, "well, it's not mine. " anyway, the last time we went (back) we didn't see her - maybe she is gone.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Good food and friendly efficient service. Really enjoyed our meal. Big servings

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sfoxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing