We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different Pizza Experience”

Grimaldi's Pizzeria
Ranked #19 of 260 Restaurants in Sparks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Different Pizza Experience”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I love going to this restaurant because the pizza is amazing! They use mozzarella balls instead of grated cheese on the pizzas and you can tastes the difference. It is all New York Style, thin pizza crust. The feel of the restaurant is very welcoming and full of photos from New York. I actually went on a tour of this place with my high school students to watch them make the pizza, learn about the restaurant's beginnings, and some of the things they specialize in. It was a fun treat and everyone learned a lot. They do have a bar and serve a lot of wine. Do not show up to the restaurant around 3:30-4:30 as they are stoking the brick oven they cook the pizzas in. They offer drinks to you while you wait, but the whole process does take about an hour. It can be a little more expensive than the average pizza, and a large pizza will usually only fill up two people (that was my experience anyway) but the great taste and atmosphere is worth it. Staff are always friendly and are willing to engage in conversation or help you out in any way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belvoirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, ok service.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

As usual, we loved the pizza and appetizer. Delicious.
The service was not nearly as efficient or attentive as the other times we have been there. When we arrived there was only one other couple in the whole restaurant and they seated us on the other side of the restaurant which was great. After my daughter and I ordered we went to the restroom and when we came back they had seated another couple right next to us and when I say right next to us I mean I could have easily touched the other couple without leaning over. It was difficult and uncomfortable having a conversation with my daughter and I could here everything the other two were saying. I could understand if the restaurant was busy but there was a total of six customers in the whole place. I tried to get our servers attention without being too pushy but it didn't happen. We ended up moving one table over and when I explained why, it was obvious our server was not happy even though we didn't soil or dirty anything on the other table. Oh well, as I said above, the food was great and my daughter and I celebrated her 10th birthday together with great conversation.
This experience won't keep us from going back, the pizza is just too good. ;o)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great tasting pizza, a bit pricey”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The pizza is awesome. My favorite is Grilled chicken Pesto. The price is a bit much though, so I really only go when someone suggests it for a birthday or something.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jax3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“No other Pizza compares to this”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Reno / Sparks area is blessed to have this Pizzeria. It's like nothing else in town and in my experience, few places outside of the New York area are capable of making pizza like this. It's the real thing: thin crust baked in coal fired ovens, a little sauce, fresh mozzarella (the white stuff packed in water), a basil leaf or two, and toppings of your choice. Simple and incredible. Life in Reno got immeasurably better when this restaurant opened up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chipperxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza and excellent service”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went here for the first time in September of 2012 with my family, the pizza was excellent. I love the fact that they don't overdue it with the sauce like most places. This is real New York Style pizza!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grimaldi's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Grimaldi's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing