We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has become our all time favorite hotel/casino” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nugget Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nugget Casino Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
California
1 review
“Has become our all time favorite hotel/casino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

For many years we would only travel to Las Vegas for our relaxing/gambling outings. Since we discovered the Nugget two years ago we have become loyal visitors. If very nice rooms, great restaurants and affordable gambling with the best group of dealers in Nevada sounds good then you should visit the Nugget. Of course, you do have to give up volcanos, fountains and over-priced shops and there sure isn't any glamour in saying you stayed in Sparks, Nevada but we can cope!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldeDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    972
    684
    322
    326
See reviews for
1,104
1,044
293
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
twinkeez
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

I Loved my experience at the Nugget. It was clean, comfortable, The staff was wonderful and courteous. The slots were great too! I went to play the Bingo Blow out and it was a blast, lots of great games to play. The nugget is the place to go to have a fun relaxing vacation or mini trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

Wow...where to start. I went to the Nugget with my friend for a scrapbooking weekend. We were there for two nights. The first night we went to the buffet and were very disappointed. $25 for dried up crab, soggy fish sticks and the smallest selection I've ever seen in a buffet in the Reno area. It was unbelievably terrible. One row of food on each side, but both sides had just about the same items. How can you have a buffet with such a small selection? And this was their Seafood night, which should be top notch! The food in the cafe was so much better. We didn't go back to the buffet, instead chose to spend our money in the cafe or off the property. The room was fine, nothing special, but not bad. No coffee pot in the room, it's the little things that go a long way.

I couldn't believe they were charging $10 a night for internet. Even two star hotels offer free wifi. That was just ridiculous. Then, because we were in the conference center scrapbooking, they wanted to charge us some crazy amount for internet. Something like $300 a day and their reason was "your'e in the conference center." That was the stupidest thing I've ever heard!

I would recommend to Denise that she hold her Crop til You Drop retreat somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank htherjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sparks hotels

Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

We frequent the Nugget quite often and love the personal touch atmospher . This is a Family ran Hotel and Casino and it shows . We feel as if we are true guests there . From gaming to housekeeping the staff is amazing . Give them a try we are sure you will return .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jules21460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

We enjoyed our stay very much. Everyone was courteous, helpful, friendly. We will always stay at the Nugget when we come to Nevada. We didn't have the excellent accommodations or service when we stayed at other resorts during our trip through Nevada. The Nugget and The Courtyard are both excellent places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandianded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jnoble37
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

I was in the new renovated east tower and the rooms were great. The beds were comfy. The dealers were great to help a new guy learn the ropes. The convention center was prompt and fast. Overall no big complaints except the location for downtown Reno. Hotel has a few good local resturants and and In and Out burger within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnoble37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

Nuggest has a very big indoor swimming pool and a big hot tub and a few individual "tub" on one side of swimming pool which have jets. It is great to enjoy swimming and snow all on the same trip. West Tower is OK, East Tower is very good after the remodel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ichuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparks
3.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
2.9 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Western Village Inn & Casino
3.2 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.3 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#7 of 17 in Sparks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Casino Resort

Property: Nugget Casino Resort
Address: 1100 Nugget Avenue, Sparks, NV 89431-5750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Sparks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nugget Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nugget Casino Resort is located in the heart of Victorian Square in Sparks, Nevada, The Nugget offers hotel accommodations, casino thrills, dining, nightlife and entertainment that are nothing short of extraordinary. With a modern, full-service casino between two soaring, 28-story East and West guest towers, we are committed to making sure your stay at our Northern NV hotel is comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing. Sophistication and style, with stunning views of the sparkling Reno city skyline and Sierra Nevada Mountains, await you in each of our 1,400 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Step off our complimentary airport shuttle, breeze through the doors of our exceptional hotel in Sparks, NV, and enjoy infinite diversions that include: 24-hour casino gaming and eight restaurants, 110,000 square feet of meeting and special event space, a year-round atrium pool, a fitness center, and two live entertainment venues. Despite the impressive list of amenities to our name, it is actually our warm, friendly service - above all else - that sets our historic hotel casino apart as a truly special place in the Reno area. We look forward to welcoming you to the Nugget Casino Resort soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Nugget Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Ascuaga`s Nugget Hotel Sparks
John Ascuagas Nugget Hotel
John Ascuagas Nugget Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing