We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One stop shop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nugget Casino Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
Little Falls, MN
1 review
“One stop shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

Food, gaming, rooms and everything was excellent! I have been there several times in the past ten years and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEW929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    1,049
    756
    357
    363
See reviews for
1,240
1,111
313
583
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaside CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

My husband and I recently visited the Nugget for the second time and I have to say, it is by far the best value in Reno. We stayed in the East Tower and had a beautiful corner room - honestly, it was as good or better than any place I've ever stayed in Vegas. We basically parked the car and never left the whole time. We got snowed in on Sunday (aww shucks!) but we didn't even care. We hoped it just kept on snowing because we were having such a good time. We caught Los Lonely Boys at the Celebrity Showroom, which was an excellent, intimate venue and they were incredible!! Sure, we dropped a little cash in the casino but who doesn't?? Overall, if you're looking for a great place to "get away from it all" without breaking your wallet, the Nugget is definitely the place to do it. The staff in every part of the hotel were very attentive and professional - we only had one small glitch that was cleared up in minutes. Gabe's Pub and Deli downstairs is great for a quickie sandwich, and we thoroughly enjoyed the buffet (and I hate buffets but this one was really good). If you have kids (teenagers preferably I think), the arcade is huge and there's a movie theater right across the street, not to mention the completely awesome pool. Way worth it and will go again as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmeshan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

We had so much fun. I love the atmosphere and the staff is always so friendly. The Nugget is the only Casino we go to now in Reno. They have it all Fine dinining, great bars, great table & Slots, Movie theatre across the street, an overall great place for the family. I could go on and on about hoe much I love the Nugget

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesborders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

After having read reviews of this hotel, I decided to upgrade my discount offer for the West Tower and spend a little more on the East Tower. Our room, on the 24th floor was very nice..clean..well appointed. The only problem is that this hotel is situated near the railroad tracks, and even being as high as we were, we still had noise...not a lot..but somewhat annoying. We ate at Trader Dick's and had lovely food. Also ate at the Oyster Bar and had good, but very rich (would make a different choice next time) The cafe was just fine for breakfast. I enjoyed gambling - yes, it's smoky, but it's a CASINO - what would you expect? I was not pleased with the added "resort fee" It seems a lot of Hotels are adding this and I think it's tacky.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

The indoor pool is outstanding and the food at the steak house is great.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imacop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

This hotel, while a bit dated in its decor, has a wonderful staff and quite good restauarants. I feel it offered good value for the price paid and the staff is just great!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

my wife was scheduled for major surgery, therefore, after having the great experience in the Nugget (I wrote a Review, too) this January, I thought to please her the weekend before surgery, the first weekend in February (Super Ball weekend) with again spa and hair experience, nice diners, some gambling (she just loves it ;-), just to let her feel good despite the fear of the surgery; we took the second daughter with us, so my wife isn't alone in the spa;

this time was a more than terrible experience;
again East Tower BUT this time towards the Freeway - couldn't get any sleep;
BUT on top of that permanent Freeway noise was 24 hours loud talking from the room next door (there was connecting door); so loud and all day and night, that we had the feeling there is NO door at all;
at the reception I got told "nothing we can do... all the rooms have connecting doors ... no other rooms available ..." ;

at check-out I told the Lady to please make a note in my file "not towards the freeway but to the rail road"; she told me "can't do, but when you check in again, tell them;" - exactly what I tried, but didn't work = no other rooms available, and rooms are not guaranteed but ...."

I will give it a last try, - I just booked now online again the East Tower, for the March weekend (20th, NO Football this time);
my daughter is visiting us from Germany, and my wife is by then "kind of recovered enough" from surgery to have some fun again with spa treatment and a little bit gambling; and, my daughter never went to Reno;

I am already concerned about my own bravery to try the Nugget again; but hopefully we will have this time a room towards the rail road;

will keep you updated
Horst

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horst60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sparks hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparks
3.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
2.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Western Village Inn & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.3 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
Victorian Inn
Victorian Inn
#6 of 17 in Sparks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Casino Resort

Property: Nugget Casino Resort
Address: 1100 Nugget Avenue, Sparks, NV 89431-5750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Sparks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nugget Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nugget Casino Resort is located in the heart of Victorian Square in Sparks, Nevada, The Nugget offers hotel accommodations, casino thrills, dining, nightlife and entertainment that are nothing short of extraordinary. With a modern, full-service casino between two soaring, 28-story East and West guest towers, we are committed to making sure your stay at our Northern NV hotel is comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing. Sophistication and style, with stunning views of the sparkling Reno city skyline and Sierra Nevada Mountains, await you in each of our 1,400 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Step off our complimentary airport shuttle, breeze through the doors of our exceptional hotel in Sparks, NV, and enjoy infinite diversions that include: 24-hour casino gaming and eight restaurants, 110,000 square feet of meeting and special event space, a year-round atrium pool, a fitness center, and two live entertainment venues. Despite the impressive list of amenities to our name, it is actually our warm, friendly service - above all else - that sets our historic hotel casino apart as a truly special place in the Reno area. We look forward to welcoming you to the Nugget Casino Resort soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nugget Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Ascuaga`s Nugget Hotel Sparks
John Ascuagas Nugget Hotel
John Ascuagas Nugget Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing