We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“For a little over $50 a night, the service was great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victorian Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
San Clemente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For a little over $50 a night, the service was great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

First of all I was absolutely stoked on how affordable this hotel was, especially during new years weekend. The room itself was a little shabby. But I was happy with the location being on the outskirts of town and very close to the airport, the commute to South Lake Tahoe was no more than an hour with dry road conditions. I was also very happy with the follow-up email asking how my stay was. The employees were very personable made me feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mspencer0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorian I, Front Office Manager at Victorian Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
It was such a pleasure meeting you! We were glad you had such a good time on your vacation, and we hope to see you again in the future. Have a very happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
15
18
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at the Victorian Inn on Dec. 23, en route to Salt Lake. We booked our reservation on the strength of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. The rooms were small, old and had been cheaply and partially renovated, the bed sagging, the furnace is loud, the parking lot is tiny and the neighborhood is a bit "seedy." The office was not staffed and we had to call on a phone outside the office in the cold for a person to come across the street to check us in. There was no breakfast served and the room rate was about the same as the casino hotels charge for non-weekend stays. In short, avoid this place if you can. The rates are affordable but not cheap for what you get. You can do far better at many of the casino hotels for about the same nightly rate. I was embarrassed to tell my wife that I had actually reserved this place for us because it was rated well on TA.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorian I, Front Office Manager at Victorian Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were saddened to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We would have been more than willing to show you some of our other rooms if you were unhappy with the one you checked into. Since we are a smaller hotel, our front desk is not open 24 hours a day. Our front desk is open from 8am to 8pm, and then we have an on-site manager who is on call for late check-ins and emergencies. We do serve a continental breakfast Thursdays through Sundays, and we are very sorry that you were not informed of that fact. If you are ever passing through Sparks again, I would love to speak with you further. We truly value the opinion of our customers, and we appreciate your input. We hope you had a safe and happy holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sparks hotels

Hawaiian Ocean View, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The staff extremely friendly. They are close enough to the events staged in Victorian Square to walk to but far enough away that you can get away from the "action" if you want to. Quiet, clean, affordable and friendly. You can't ask for more!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tammie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorian I, Front Office Manager at Victorian Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to come again anytime! You are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for Hot August Nights because of the location and were surprised by the great service. Anything we asked for was done almost immediately and with a smile. Great casual atmosphere and great location. We were on the cruise route and walking distance to all the Sparks events.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorian I, Manager at Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad you had a great time. We hope to see you again! We've also started remodeling our rooms, so you'll definitely have to check those out next year. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is my favorite place! We had our lawn chairs ice cooler and chilled watching the fireworks with the kids. The rooms are nice and Al the manager was very helpful. He told me where to sit for the best view of the fireworks. They had a nice breakfast in the morning complementary. Im coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lorrain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorian I, Front Office Manager at Victorian Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for the review! We hope to see you again this next 4th of July! It's tough to beat "front row seats" to the fireworks show! See you next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was Thursday on the 6th I was driving by and saw a motel that looked like a big Victorian house. I stopped and checked on the price for two beds. It was $51.08 Thursday and $62.43 Friday including tax's. I asked to look at a room. It was very nice. The manager Al was very helpful. This price also included Continental breakfast. This was a good deal to me! I'm coming back when I'm in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I guess it is an ok place to stay if there is nowhere else. While on my stay there I witnessed a woman who apparantely lived there walk up and break someone elses window and scream a bunch of obscenities. The same woman has a couple of small dogs who wander the parking lot looking for open doors. all of the sudden there were dogs roaming around my room, and one of them jumped up on my bed and the other one was agressively barking at me. if i could rate this place a minus 5 i would.

Room Tip: stay on the side where the office is
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparks
1.5 mi away
Western Village Inn & Casino
2.8 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Reno-Sparks
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nugget Casino Resort
Nugget Casino Resort
#2 of 17 in Sparks
3.5 of 5 stars 1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Inn

Property: Victorian Inn
Address: 1555 Victorian Ave, Sparks, NV 89431-4820
Location: United States > Nevada > Sparks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Sparks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victorian Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing